Lifting of previously suspended sanctions against Iran

(Last modification 13.08.2015)

Bern, 12.08.2015 - The Federal Council welcomes the agreement reached by the E3/EU+3 (China, Russia, USA, Germany, France and the UK) and Iran to resolve the nuclear dispute. This agreement opens up new political and economic prospects with Iran, including bilateral relations. Given this important turning point in the 12-year nuclear dispute, the Federal Council decided on 12 August to lift the sanctions against Iran that had been suspended since January 2014 and to issue a new exemption clause. The amendment to the corresponding ordinance comes into effect on 13 August. The Federal Council wishes today‚Äôs steps to be seen as a sign of its support for the implementation of the nuclear agreement and its interest in deepening bilateral relations with Iran.

At its meeting on 12 August, the Federal Council decided to lift the ban on precious metals transactions with Iranian state bodies, as well as the requirement to report trade in Iranian petrochemical products. It also lifted the requirement to report the transport of Iranian crude oil and petroleum products as well as insurance and reinsurance policies taken out in relation to such transactions. In the financial sector, threshold values for reporting and licensing obligations in relation to money transfers from and to Iranian nationals were increased ten-fold. These measures had already been suspended since 30 January 2014. In addition, a new exemption clause will be introduced which will enable moves to implement UN Security Council Resolution 2231 to be authorised. The Ordinance on Measures regarding the Islamic Republic of Iran will therefore be amended.

Today's decision by the Federal Council underlines its support for the ongoing process to implement the nuclear agreement, and its confidence in the constructive intentions of the negotiating parties. The Federal Council also wishes to signal that Switzerland's positioning with respect to Iran, which was developed and maintained over a number of years, should be used to promote a broad political and economic exchange with Iran. In recent decades, Switzerland has pursued a consistent, neutral and balanced policy with regard to Iran. In part due to its protecting power mandate for the USA, it has always been committed to dialogue and to keeping communication channels open. At the same time, Switzerland has always defended its own values and views. Today Switzerland is perceived in Iran as a reliable and credible discussion partner.

On 14 July, the E3/EU+3 and Iran adopted a Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), which provides for a comprehensive range of measures to be taken by Iran to limit and control its nuclear programme and roll back UN, EU and US sanctions against Iran. This agreement, which was confirmed on 20 July by UN Security Council Resolution 2231, lays the foundation for complete settlement of the nuclear dispute. As soon as the agreement comes into effect and Iran complies with its obligations, most of the international sanctions will be lifted on the day of implementation.

Following the agreement, the EU and the USA have decided to continue the current selective suspension of measures. The Federal Council will monitor implementation of the JCPOA and adapt Swiss measures accordingly. The vast majority of international sanctions against Iran, including all of the sanctions adopted by the UN Security Council, will remain in force for the time being. Should implementation of the agreement fail, the Federal Council reserves the right to reintroduce the lifted measures.

Coinciding with the Federal Council Decree of 12 August, the EAER amended Annex 6 of the same Ordinance; entries concerning eight persons and organisations listed in Annex 6 have been removed and two entries modified.


Address for enquiries

Antje Baertschi, Head of Communication, SECO
Tel. 031 323 52 75

FDFA Information
Tel. +41 58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-58334.html

Aufhebung bisher suspendierter Sanktionen gegenüber Iran

Bern, 12.08.2015 - Der Bundesrat begrüsst das am 14. Juli 2015 abgeschlossene Abkommen zwischen den E3/EU+3 (China, Russland, USA, Deutschland, Frankreich und Grossbritannien) und Iran zur Klärung des Nuklearstreits, das neue politische und wirtschaftliche Perspektiven auch im bilateralen Verhältnis zu Iran eröffnet. Angesichts dieses wichtigen Wendepunkts im 12-jährigen Nuklearstreit, hat er am 12. August 2015 beschlossen, diejenigen Sanktionsmassnahmen gegenüber Iran aufzuheben, die seit Januar 2014 suspendiert waren, und eine neue Ausnahmebestimmung zu erlassen. Die Verordnungsänderung tritt am 13. August 2015 in Kraft. Mit dem heutigen Schritt drückt der Bundesrat seine Unterstützung im Hinblick auf die Umsetzung des Nuklearabkommens aus. Gleichzeitig signalisiert er sein Interesse an einer Vertiefung der bilateralen Beziehungen mit Iran.

Anlässlich seiner Sitzung vom 12. August 2015 hat der Bundesrat entschieden, das Verbot für Edelmetallgeschäfte mit staatlichen iranischen Stellen sowie die Meldepflichten für den Handel mit iranischen petrochemischen Gütern aufzuheben. Ebenso wurde die Meldepflicht für den Transport von iranischem Rohöl und Erdölprodukten sowie mit solchen Geschäften zusammenhängende Versicherungen und Rückversicherungen abgeschafft. Im Finanzbereich wurden die Schwellenwerte für die Melde- und Bewilligungspflichten für Geldtransfers von und an iranische Personen auf den zehnfachen Betrag erhöht. Diese genannten Massnahmen waren bereits seit dem 30. Januar 2014 suspendiert. Zusätzlich wird eine neue Ausnahmebestimmung eingeführt, durch welche Aktivitäten zur Umsetzung der UNO-Sicherheitsratsresolution 2231 bewilligt werden können. Zu diesem Zweck wird die Verordnung über Massnahmen gegenüber der Islamischen Republik Iran angepasst.

Mit dem heutigen Entscheid bekräftigt der Bundesrat seine Unterstützung am laufenden Umsetzungsprozess des Nuklearabkommens und sein Vertrauen in die konstruktiven Absichten der Verhandlungsparteien. Der Bundesrat unterstreicht damit auch, dass die über Jahre aufgebaute und gepflegte Positionierung der Schweiz gegenüber Iran nun dazu genutzt werden soll, um einen breiten politischen und wirtschaftlichen Austausch mit Iran zu fördern. Die Schweiz hat gegenüber Iran in den letzten Jahrzehnten eine konstante, neutrale und ausgewogene Politik betrieben. Mitbedingt durch das Schutzmachtmandat der USA hat sie sich stets für den Dialog eingesetzt und Kommunikationskanäle jederzeit offengehalten. Gleichzeitig hat die Schweiz ihre eigenen Wertvorstellungen und Ansichten stets klar vertreten. Die Schweiz wird heute in Iran als verlässlicher und glaubwürdiger Gesprächspartner wahrgenommen.

Die E3/EU+3 und Iran haben am 14. Juli 2015 den Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) verabschiedet. Dieser sieht umfassende Massnahmen Irans zur Begrenzung und Kontrolle seines Nuklearprogramms und im Gegenzug einen Abbau von UNO-, EU- und US-Sanktionen gegenüber Iran vor. Das Abkommen, welches am 20. Juli 2015 vom UNO-Sicherheitsrat mit der Resolution 2231 bestätigt wurde, legt den Grundstein für die umfassende Beilegung des Nuklearstreits. Sobald das Abkommen in Kraft getreten und Iran seinen Verpflichtungen nachgekommen ist, sollen am Implementierungstag der Grossteil der internationalen Sanktionen fallen.

Im Nachgang zum Abkommen haben die EU und die USA beschlossen, die bestehende punktuelle Suspendierung von Massnahmen fortzuführen. Der Bundesrat wird die Umsetzung des JCPOA verfolgen und die Schweizer Massnahmen anpassen. Der weitaus grösste Teil der internationalen Sanktionsmassnahmen gegenüber Iran, einschliesslich aller vom UNO-Sicherheitsrat erlassenen Sanktionsbestimmungen, bleiben momentan weiter in Kraft. Sollte die Umsetzung des Abkommens scheitern, behält sich der Bundesrat vor, die aufgehobenen Massnahmen erneut einzuführen.

Gleichzeitig mit dem Bundesratsbeschluss vom 12. August 2015 hat das WBF den Anhang 6 derselben Verordnung geändert. Dabei wurden acht Personen und Organisationen aus dem Anhang 6 gelöscht und zwei Einträge geändert.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Antje Baertschi, Leiterin Kommunikation, SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75

EDA Information
Tel. +41 58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-58334.html