Switzerland welcomes nuclear deal between Iran and E3/EU+3

Bern, 14.07.2015 - Switzerland welcomes the conclusion of a comprehensive agreement between the E3/EU+3 and Iran concerning the Iranian nuclear programme and the gradual lifting of sanctions. This sends out an important signal that major international political disputes can be resolved peacefully and diplomatically.

Switzerland welcomes the fact that the protracted negotiations between Iran and the E3/EU+3 have resulted in a definitive and comprehensive agreement. Resolving the conflict surrounding Iran's nuclear programme is of historic importance and a milestone for the Middle East region and beyond.

Switzerland welcomes the fact that this has been achieved by diplomatic means and is encouraged in its commitment to the principle of peaceful conflict resolution. The negotiating parties must now begin implementing the agreement immediately and constructively.

The agreement was adopted in Vienna on July 14 2015 by the Iranian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mohammad Javad Zarif, and the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini, in the presence of the Foreign Ministers of Germany, France, the United Kingdom, China, Russia and the United States.

The agreement is based on two previous steps negotiated in Switzerland. In Geneva on 24 November 2013, the parties agreed on a joint action plan as a basis for the negotiations. The general framework of the current agreement was then established in Lausanne on 2 April 2015 in a joint statement by Iran and the European Union.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Communication
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel. Communication service: +41 58 462 31 53
Tel. Press service: +41 58 460 55 55
E-mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA


Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-58113.html

Schweiz begrüsst den Abschluss eines Nuklearabkommens zwischen Iran und den E3/EU+3 (Letzte Änderung 14.07.2015)

Bern, 14.07.2015 - Die Schweiz begrüsst den Abschluss eines umfassenden Abkommens zwischen den E3/EU+3 und Iran über das iranische Atomprogramm und die stufenweise Aufhebung der Sanktionen. Dies ist ein wichtiges Signal, dass zentrale Auseinandersetzungen der internationalen Politik auf friedlichem Weg und mit den Mitteln der Diplomatie gelöst werden können.

Die Schweiz begrüsst, dass die langen Verhandlungen zwischen Iran und den E3/EU+3 in ein definitives und umfassendes Abkommen überführt werden konnten. Die Klärung des Konflikts um das iranische Nuklearprogramm ist von historischer Bedeutung und ein Meilenstein für die Region des Mittleren Ostens und darüber hinaus.

Die Schweiz begrüsst, dass dies durch diplomatische Mittel erreicht wurde und sieht sich in ihrem Grundsatz der friedlichen Konfliktlösung bestärkt. Die Verhandlungsparteien sind nun angehalten, die Umsetzung des Abkommens unverzüglich und konstruktiv an die Hand zu nehmen.

Die Einigung wurde am 14. Juli 2015 in Wien vom iranischen Aussenminister Mohammad Javad Zarif und der Hohen Vertreterin der Europäischen Union für Aussen- und Sicherheitspolitik, Federica Mogherini, im Beisein der Aussenminister Deutschlands, Frankreichs, Grossbritanniens, Chinas, Russlands und der USA angenommen.

Das Abkommen basiert auf zwei Voretappen, die in der Schweiz verhandelt wurden: Am 24. November 2013 hatten sich die Parteien in Genf auf einen gemeinsamen Aktionsplan geeinigt, der die Grundlage für die Verhandlungen bot. Zudem wurde der allgemeine Rahmen des nun vorliegenden Abkommens am 2. April 2015 in Lausanne in einer gemeinsamen Erklärung Irans und der Europäischen Union gesetzt.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
Fax: +41 58 464 90 47
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-58113.html