Arrangement between Switzerland and the USA facilitates trade in organic products

Bern, 09.07.2015 - Switzerland and the USA have reached agreement on mutual recognition of each other’s standards for organic products. Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann signed the equivalence arrangement negotiated between the Swiss Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG) and the United States Department of Agriculture yesterday in Washington. The arrangement facilitates trade in organic products. It comes into force with immediate effect.

Mutual recognition granted by the arrangement will have a positive impact. Trade in organic products will be simplified and facilitated. The arrangement will open up the USA's fast-growing market in organic products to the Swiss organic sector and current disadvantages relative to EU competitors, who already profit from a similar arrangement with the USA, will disappear. This is of great importance for a number of companies in the Swiss food industry who have been waiting for some time for an arrangement to be concluded. The arrangement will also result in a reduction in administrative charges and costs for operators.

The equivalence arrangement applies to organic products which have been grown or produced, processed or packaged in Switzerland or the USA. Products which have been imported into the USA or Switzerland in accordance with their own legislation and are further processed or packaged there also fall within the scope of the arrangement.

By analogy to the arrangement between the USA and the EU, restrictions apply to organic animal products from Switzerland such as for example cheese or dried meat, which must come from animals which have not been treated with antibiotics. Furthermore, organic wines from the USA or Switzerland must comply with the special production and labelling rules laid down in the organic farming regulations of the country of destination. However, there is no need for separate certification for either animal products or wine. 

The equivalence arrangement consists of mutual recognition of the equivalence of each other's legislation by means of an exchange of letters between the competent authorities of the USA and Switzerland. The arrangement was signed by Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann on behalf of Switzerland. Krysta Harden, Deputy Secretary of the USDA and Darci Vetter, Chief Agricultural Negotiator at the Office of the US Trade Representative, signed on behalf of the USA.


Address for enquiries

Patrik Aebi, Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Leiter Fachbereich Qualitäts- und Absatzförderung
Tel. +41 58 462 25 92
patrick.aebi@blw.admin.ch

Priska Dittrich, Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Fachbereich Qualitäts- und Absatzförderung
Tel. + 41 58 463 02 18
priska.dittrich@blw.admin.ch

Communication Service EAER
+41 58 462 20 07
info@gs-wbf.admin.ch


Publisher

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-58078.html

Arrangement zwischen der Schweiz und den USA erleichtert Handel mit Bio-Produkten

Bern, 09.07.2015 - Die Schweiz und die USA haben sich auf die gegenseitige Anerkennung ihrer Standards für Bio-Produkte geeinigt. Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider-Ammann hat gestern in Washington das zwischen dem Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft (BLW) und dem United States Departement of Agriculture ausgehandelte Äquivalenzarrangement unterzeichnet. Das Arrangement erleichtert den Handel mit Bioprodukten. Es tritt mit sofortiger Wirkung in Kraft.

Die mit dem Äquivalenzarrangement geltende gegenseitige Anerkennung wird sich positiv auswirken. Der Handel für Bioprodukte wird stark vereinfacht und erleichtert. Dank des Arrangements steht der Schweizer Biobranche der stark wachsende Bio-Markt der USA offen und die bestehenden Benachteiligungen gegenüber Mitbewerbern in der EU, die bereits ein ähnliches Arrangement mit den USA hat, fallen weg. Das ist für verschiedene Unternehmen der Schweizer Nahrungsmittelindustrie, die seit einiger Zeit auf den Abschluss einer Übereinkunft warten, von grosser Bedeutung. Das Arrangement führt zudem zu einer Verringerung des administrativen Aufwandes und der Kosten für die Unternehmen.

Das Äquivalenzarrangement gilt für Bio-Produkte, die in der Schweiz oder in den USA erzeugt oder hergestellt, verarbeitet oder verpackt wurden. Demnach fallen auch Produkte, die im Einklang mit den jeweiligen Gesetzgebungen in die USA oder die Schweiz importiert und dort weiterverarbeitet oder verpackt werden, in den Geltungsbereich des Arrangements.

Einschränkungen gelten analog zum Arrangement zwischen den USA und der EU für tierische Bio-Produkte aus der Schweiz wie zum Beispiel Käse oder Trockenfleisch, die von Tieren stammen müssen, die nicht mit Antibiotika behandelt wurden. Zudem müssen Bio-Weine aus den USA oder aus der Schweiz jeweils die besonderen Herstellungs- und Kennzeichnungsregeln gemäss den Bio-Vorschriften des Bestimmunglandes erfüllen. Es braucht aber sowohl für tierische Produkte wie auch für Wein keine separate Zertifizierung. 

Das Äquivalenzarrangement besteht in einer gegenseitigen Anerkennung der Gleichwertigkeit der jeweiligen Gesetzgebungen mittels Briefaustausch zwischen den zuständigen Behörden der USA und der Schweiz. Das Arrangement wurde seitens der Schweiz von Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider-Ammann unterzeichnet. Seitens der USA unterzeichneten Krysta Harden, Vizeministerin des USDA und Darci Vetter, Chefunterhändlerin für Agrarfragen des US-Handelsbeauftragten.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Patrik Aebi, Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Leiter Fachbereich Qualitäts- und Absatzförderung
Tel. +41 58 462 25 92
patrick.aebi@blw.admin.ch

Priska Dittrich, Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
Fachbereich Qualitäts- und Absatzförderung
Tel. + 41 58 463 02 18
priska.dittrich@blw.admin.ch

Kommunikationsdienst WBF
Tel. 058 462 20 07
info@gs-wbf.admin.ch


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-58078.html