Situation in Ukraine: Federal Council extends measures to prevent the circumvention of sanctions

Bern, 06.03.2015 - In view of the situation in Ukraine, and following decisions taken by the EU, the Federal Council today decided to extend its measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions. It added the measures decreed by the EU last December following non-recognition of the annexation of the Crimea and Sevastopol to the ordinance on international sanctions of 27 August 2014. The Federal Council also added to Annex 3 of the ordinance the names of 28 further persons and entities who have had financial and travel restrictions imposed on them in the EU. The amended ordinance with supplemented annexes comes into effect at 6 pm today.

The Federal Council once again stressed that Swiss territory may not be misused to circumvent EU sanctions. It is continuing to pursue its current policy and today made amendments to the ordinance on the circumvention of international sanctions in relation to the situation in Ukraine. The Federal Council is thus taking measures necessary to prevent circumvention of the latest EU sanctions.

This decision by the Federal Council extends the measures introduced following Switzerland's non-recognition of Russia's annexation of the Crimea, an act which contravenes international law. All foreign investment in the Crimea and Sevastopol is now prohibited. Service bans apply in the investment and tourism branches, and in some other economic sectors. The existing ban on the export of key goods to the Crimea and Sevastopol has been extended to include further articles. In addition, the measures have been made more precise to accord with adjustments made to the EU sanctions.

Furthermore, 28 names have been added to the existing list of individuals and businesses with whom financial intermediaries may no longer enter into new business relationships. Anyone in Switzerland with an existing business dealings with any of these entities is required to report this relationship (Annex 3 of the ordinance).

The Federal Council is continuing to monitor the situation in Ukraine closely and reserves the right to introduce further measures.


Address for enquiries

Antje Baertschi, Head of Communications, SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56478.html

Situation in der Ukraine: Bundesrat ergänzt Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung von Sanktionen

Bern, 06.03.2015 - Der Bundesrat hat heute beschlossen, im Nachgang zur EU und mit Blick auf die Situation in der Ukraine die Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen zu ergänzen. Er hat die entsprechende Verordnung vom 27. August 2014 erweitert um die von der EU im Dezember 2014 erlassenen Massnahmen aufgrund der Nicht-Anerkennung der Annexion der Krim und Sewastopol. Zudem hat er 28 in der EU neu mit Finanz- und Reisebeschränkungen belegten Personen und Organisationen in den Anhang 3 der Verordnung übernommen. Die geänderte Verordnung und ihre erweiterten Anhänge treten heute um 18.00 Uhr in Kraft.

Der Bundesrat hat erneut betont, dass die Schweiz nicht als Umgehungsplatz für EU-Sanktionen missbraucht werden darf. Er führt seine bisherige Politik weiter und hat heute die Verordnung zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen im Zusammenhang mit der Situation in der Ukraine angepasst. Der Bundesrat hat damit die notwendigen Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung der jüngsten EU-Sanktionen beschlossen.

Dabei handelt es sich einerseits um eine Erweiterung der Massnahmen, die der Bundesrat als Folge der schweizerischen Nicht-Anerkennungspolitik der völkerrechtswidrigen Annexion der Krim durch Russland erlassen hat. Ausländische Investitionen auf der Krim und in Sewastopol sind neu umfassend verboten. Im Investitions- und Tourismusbereich sowie in gewissen anderen Wirtschaftssektoren gelten Dienstleistungsverbote. Das bestehende Exportverbot für Schlüsselgüter nach der Krim und nach Sewastopol wurde um weitere Güter ergänzt. Ausserdem wurden die Massnahmen mit gewissen Präzisierungen ergänzt, welche die EU in Bezug auf ihre Sanktionen erlassen hat.

Anderseits wurde die bereits bestehende Liste der Personen und Unternehmen, mit denen Finanzintermediäre keine neuen Geschäftsbeziehungen eingehen dürfen und deren bestehende Geschäftsbeziehungen einer Meldepflicht unterstehen (Anhang 3 der Verordnung), um 28 Einträge ergänzt.

Der Bundesrat verfolgt die Entwicklung der Situation in der Ukraine weiterhin aufmerksam und behält sich vor, weitere Massnahmen zu beschliessen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Antje Baertschi, Leiterin Kommunikation des SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-56478.html