Switzerland takes further step towards introduction of automatic exchange of information

Bern, 19.11.2014 - Today, the Federal Council approved a declaration on Switzerland joining the multilateral agreement on the automatic exchange of information in tax matters. This international agreement, which was developed within the framework of the OECD, forms a basis for the future introduction of the cross-border automatic exchange of information. The question regarding the countries with which Switzerland should introduce this exchange of data is not affected by the signing of the multilateral agreement; it will be presented to Parliament separately at a later stage.

Cross-border tax evasion should be prevented with the help of the new global standard for the automatic exchange of information (AEOI). On 29 October 2014, 51 states and territories signed the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement on the Automatic Exchange of Financial Account Information (MCAA) on the fringes of the plenary meeting of the Global Forum in Berlin. Switzerland, like other states that signed the MCAA in Berlin, has stated that it intends to collect data from 2017 and exchange it for the first time in 2018.

Joining the MCAA is a logical step after Switzerland declared as a matter of principle on 6 May 2014 that it would implement the global AEOI standard. The agreement is in line with the negotiation mandates adopted by the Federal Council on 8 October 2014 (EU, United States, other countries).

The MCAA forms a basis for the future introduction of the cross-border automatic exchange of information in tax matters. The basis also includes the OECD/Council of Europe Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, which the Federal Council signed in 2013, as well as an implementing act which lays the foundation in domestic law for the exchange of information with foreign countries. The Federal Council will submit all of these proposals for consultation at the start of 2015. They will then go through the standard approval process: consultation of interested parties, Federal Council dispatch to Parliament, approval by Parliament and optional referendum.

The signing of the MCAA is without prejudice to the question regarding the countries with which the automatic exchange of information should be implemented, as the bilateral activation of the AEOI with certain states will be submitted to the Federal Assembly separately for approval.

The MCAA sets out the conditions for the annual exchange of account information between the competent authorities of two countries in accordance with the OECD standard. The list of states with which information is to be exchanged automatically can be submitted at a later stage.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Head of Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-55327.html

Schweiz unternimmt weiteren Schritt zur Einführung des automatischen Informationsaustauschs

Bern, 19.11.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat heute einer Erklärung über die Teilnahme der Schweiz an der multilateralen Vereinbarung über den automatischen Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen zugestimmt. Diese internationale Vereinbarung, die im Rahmen der OECD entwickelt wurde, bildet eine der Grundlagen für die künftige Einführung des grenzüberschreitenden automatischen Informationsaustauschs. Die Frage, mit welchen Staaten die Schweiz diesen Datenaustausch einführen soll, wird durch die Unterzeichnung der multilateralen Vereinbarung nicht tangiert, sondern wird später separat dem Parlament vorgelegt werden.

Mit Hilfe des neuen globalen Standards für den automatischen Informationsaustausch (AIA) soll die grenzüberschreitende Steuerhinterziehung verhindert werden. Am 29. Oktober 2014 haben 51 Staaten und Territorien am Rande der Plenarversammlung des Global Forum in Berlin die multilaterale Vereinbarung der zuständigen Behörden über den automatischen Informationsaustausch über Finanzkonten (Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement, MCAA) unterzeichnet. Die Schweiz wie auch andere Staaten, die das MCAA bereits in Berlin unterzeichnet haben, hat angegeben, Daten ab 2017 sammeln und erstmals 2018 austauschen zu wollen.

Nachdem sich die Schweiz am 6. Mai 2014 grundsätzlich zur Umsetzung des globalen AIA-Standards bekannt hat, ist die Teilnahme an der MCAA ein folgerichtiger Schritt. Die Vereinbarung steht im Einklang mit den Verhandlungsmandaten, die der Bundesrat am 8. Oktober 2014 beschlossen hat (EU, USA, weitere Staaten).

Das MCAA ist eine der Grundlagen für die künftige Einführung des grenzüberschreitenden Informationsaustausches in Steuersachen. Weitere Grundlagen bilden das OECD-Europaratsübereinkommen über die Steueramtshilfe, die der Bundesrat 2013 unterzeichnet hat, sowie ein Umsetzungsgesetz, welches die Voraussetzungen im internen Recht für den Datenaustausch mit dem Ausland schafft. Alle diese Vorlagen wird der Bundesrat Anfang 2015 in die Vernehmlassung schicken. Sie werden danach das ordentliche Genehmigungsverfahren - Vernehmlassung der interessierten Kreise, Botschaft des Bundesrates an das Parlament, Genehmigung durch das Parlament und fakultatives Referendum - durchlaufen.

Die Frage, mit welchen Ländern der automatische Informationsaustausch umgesetzt werden soll, wird durch die Unterzeichnung des MCAA nicht präjudiziert, da die bilaterale Aktivierung des AIA mit bestimmten Staaten der Bundesversammlung separat zur Genehmigung unterbreitet wird.

Das MCAA legt die Bedingungen für den jährlichen Austausch von Kontoinformationen zwischen den zuständigen Behörden zweier Staaten gemäss OECD-Standard fest. Die Liste der Staaten, mit denen Informationen auf automatischer Basis ausgetauscht werden sollen, kann zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt eingereicht werden.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Mario Tuor, Leiter Kommunikation, Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-55327.html