Ukraine: Further measures to prevent circumvention of sanctions

Bern, 12.11.2014 - In view of the situation in Ukraine, and following decisions taken by the EU, the Federal Council today decided to adopt further measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions. It amended the relevant ordinance of 27 August 2014 to take account of the reinforced sanctions imposed by the EU in September. The revised ordinance enters into force at 6 pm today.

The Federal Council reiterated that Switzerland must not be used to circumvent EU sanctions. It is continuing to pursue its current policy and today amended the Ordinance on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions in relation to the situation in Ukraine, so as to apply the necessary measures to prevent circumvention of the latest EU sanctions.

In the field of finance, trade in new financial instruments with a maturity exceeding 30 days (previously: exceeding 90 days) issued by five Russian banks and six companies, and the granting of loans with a maturity exceeding 30 days to those five banks and six companies, are subject to authorisation. Secondary trading in newly issued financial instruments from outside Switzerland and the EU with a maturity exceeding 30 days is subject to a duty to notify. Twenty-four names have been added to the existing list of persons and companies with whom financial intermediaries are prohibited from entering into new business relationships with, and whose existing business dealings are subject to a duty to notify.

With regard to specific military goods and dual-use goods subject to licence, the provision of services or technical assistance to nine newly listed mixed companies in Russia are subject to a duty to notify. Services in connection with aerospace are exempt. Certain services necessary for deep water oil exploration and production, arctic oil exploration and production and shale oil projects in Russia are subject to a duty to notify.

The Federal Council continues to monitor the situation in Ukraine closely and reserves the right to take further measures depending on how the situation develops.


Address for enquiries

Isabel Herkommer, press spokesperson SECO, Tel. 058 465 03 49


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-55198.html

Ukraine: Weitere Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung von Sanktionen

Bern, 12.11.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat heute beschlossen, im Nachgang zur EU und mit Blick auf die Situation in der Ukraine weitere Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen zu erlassen. Er hat die entsprechende Verordnung vom 27. August 2014 ergänzt, damit auch die von der EU im September erlassenen Sanktionen erfasst sind. Die geänderte Verordnung tritt heute um 18.00 Uhr in Kraft.

Der Bundesrat hat erneut betont, dass die Schweiz nicht als Umgehungsplatz für EU-Sanktionen dienen darf. Er führt seine bisherige Politik weiter und hat heute die Verordnung zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen im Zusammenhang mit der Situation in der Ukraine angepasst und damit die notwendigen Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung der jüngsten EU-Sanktionen beschlossen.

Im Finanzbereich sind neu die Emissionen von Finanzinstrumenten mit einer Laufzeit von mehr als 30 Tagen (bisher: mehr als 90 Tage) von fünf russischen Banken und sechs Unternehmen, sowie die Gewährung von Darlehen mit einer Laufzeit von mehr als 30 Tagen an die fünf russischen Banken und sechs Unternehmen einer Bewilligungspflicht unterstellt. Der Sekundärhandel mit neu ausserhalb der Schweiz und der EU aufgelegten Finanzinstrumenten mit einer Laufzeit von mehr als 30 Tagen sind meldepflichtig. Die bereits bestehende Liste der Personen und Unternehmen, mit denen Finanzintermediäre keine neuen Geschäftsbeziehungen eingehen dürfen und deren bestehende Geschäftsbeziehungen einer Meldepflicht unterstehen, wurde um 24 Einträge ergänzt.

Im Bereich der bewilligungspflichtigen besonderen militärischen Güter und der Güter mit doppeltem Verwendungszweck (Dual-Use-Güter) sind neu die Erbringung von Dienstleistungen oder von technischer Hilfe an neun neu aufgelistete Mischkonzerne in Russland einer Meldepflicht unterstellt. Ausgenommen davon sind Geschäfte, die für die Luft- und Raumfahrt bestimmt sind. Gewisse Dienstleistungen im Bereich der Erdölexploration und -förderung in der Tiefsee, der Arktis oder in Schieferölprojekten in Russland unterliegen neu einer Meldepflicht.

Der Bundesrat verfolgt die Entwicklung der Situation in der Ukraine weiterhin aufmerksam und behält sich vor, weitere Massnahmen zu beschliessen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Isabel Herkommer, Mediensprecherin SECO Tel. 058 465 03 49



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-55198.html