The Federal Council adopts Ordinance banning the Islamic State Group and related organisations

Bern, 08.10.2014 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted the Ordinance on the Prohibition of the Islamic State Group and Related Organisations. The Ordinance will come into force tomorrow, 9 October 2014.

The Islamic State Group commits grave violations of human rights. Due to the escalation in its atrocities in the past few weeks, the Federal Council today decided to ban the group by issuing an Ordinance which not only prohibits any activities by the organisation in Switzerland and abroad, but also bans any activities that provide the organisation with support in the form of material or human resources, such as propaganda and fundraising campaigns or the recruitment of new members. Offences under the new ordinance will carry a sentence of imprisonment of up to three years or a monetary penalty, unless stricter criminal provisions apply. Where applicable, assets of the organisation will be forfeited.

In the light of these developments and of the threat to Switzerland's internal and external security, the Federal Council today adopted the Ordinance on the Prohibition of the Islamic State Group and Related Organisations. The Ordinance will come into force tomorrow, 9 October 2014, and will initially apply for six months. The DDPS has been assigned the task of submitting proposals to the Federal Council by the end of 2014 on guaranteeing the prohibition of the Islamic State Group and related organisations as well as the continuation of the ban on Al Qaeda and related organisations.

Currently there are no plans for a federal act imposing a general ban on these organisations. However, the Federal Council is prepared to discuss solutions if related proposals are submitted, for example in the course of current procedures to introduce the Intelligence Service Act.


Address for enquiries

Renato Kalbermatten
DDPS spokesman
058 464 88 75
Renato.Kalbermatten@gs-vbs.admin.ch


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports DDPS
http://www.vbs.admin.ch

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54773.html

Verordnung über das Verbot der Gruppierung «Islamischer Staat» und verwandter Organisationen vom Bundesrat verabschiedet

Bern, 08.10.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung die Verordnung über das Verbot der Gruppierung «Islamischer Staat» und verwandter Organisationen verabschiedet. Die Verordnung tritt morgen, am 9. Oktober 2014, in Kraft.

Die Gruppierung „Islamischer Staat" begeht massive Verletzungen der Menschenrechte. Aufgrund der Eskalation der vergangenen Wochen hat der Bundesrat heute entschieden, die Gruppierung durch eine Verordnung zu verbieten. Sie verbietet nicht nur sämtliche Aktivitäten der Organisation im In- und Ausland selber, sondern auch alle Aktionen, die deren materieller oder personeller Unterstützung dienen, wie beispielsweise Propaganda- oder Geldsammelaktionen oder das Anwerben neuer Mitglieder. Widerhandlungen werden mit Freiheitsstrafe bis zu drei Jahren oder mit Geldstrafe bestraft, sofern nicht strengere Strafbestimmungen zur Anwendung kommen. Gegebenenfalls können auch Vermögenswerte der Organisationen eingezogen werden.

Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Entwicklungen und der damit einhergehenden Gefährdung der inneren oder äusseren Sicherheit der Schweiz hat der Bundesrat heute die Verordnung über das Verbot der Gruppierung «Islamischer Staat» und verwandter Organisationen verabschiedet. Die Verordnung tritt morgen, am 9. Oktober 2014, in Kraft und ist auf sechs Monate befristet. Das VBS wird damit beauftragt, dem Bundesrat eine Lösung zu unterbreiten, damit ab Ende Jahr das Verbot der Gruppierung „Islamischer Staat" und verwandter Organisationen, wie auch eine Weiterführung des Verbots der Gruppierung Al Qaïda und verwandter Organisationen gewährleistet ist.

Eine Regelung auf Gesetzesstufe in Form eines allgemeinen Organisationsverbots ist zur Zeit nicht vorgesehen. Der Bundesrat ist jedoch bereit über Lösungen zu diskutieren, falls beispielsweise im Rahmen der laufenden Gesetzgebung zum Nachrichtendienstgesetz entsprechende Vorschläge eingebracht werden.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Renato Kalbermatten
Sprecher VBS
058 464 88 75
Renato.Kalbermatten@gs-vbs.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport
http://www.vbs.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54773.html