Automatic exchange of information in tax matters: Federal Council adopts negotiation mandates with partner states

Bern, 08.10.2014 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted definitive negotiation mandates for introducing the new global standard for the automatic exchange of information in tax matters with partner states. The competent parliamentary committees and the cantons were consulted on the mandates in recent months. Negotiations with partner states should commence shortly.

On 21 May 2014, the Federal Council approved the draft mandates for negotiations on introducing the automatic exchange of information with the EU, the United States and other countries. The competent Federal Assembly committees and the cantons were consulted on these drafts in recent months. The vast majority supported the draft mandates.

On 21 July 2014, the OECD published the overall package for the automatic exchange of information in tax matters. The swift introduction of the standard was reaffirmed at the meeting of the G20 finance ministers held on 20 and 21 September in Cairns, Australia.

The cornerstones of the mandates definitively adopted by the Federal Council today are as follows:

  • The introduction of the automatic exchange of information is to be negotiated with the EU.
  • Regarding implementation of the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), a Model 1 FATCA agreement should be with negotiated with the United States. With the new agreement, data would be exchanged automatically between the competent authorities on a reciprocal basis.
  • Negotiations on the automatic exchange of information will be initiated with further selected countries. In an initial phase, consideration will be given to countries with which there are close economic and political ties and which, if appropriate, provide their taxpayers with sufficient scope for regularisation.
  • The introduction of the automatic exchange of information with foreign countries will be conducted by means of agreements with partner countries. Moreover, implementing legislation will be required in national law. This is currently being prepared by the Federal Department of Finance and will be submitted to parliament together with the negotiated agreements. The existing legislative framework excludes the automatic exchange of information.

Switzerland welcomes the new international standard, to which it contributed actively. It allows for a level playing field in the competition between financial centres, as these regulations apply to all, and is an important instrument in international efforts to combat tax evasion. Domestic bank client confidentiality will not be affected by the implementation of the new global standard.

It is important for the Federal Council that the requirements which it adopted in June 2013 are contained in the new standard. There is to be only one global standard, the exchanged information should be used solely for the agreed purpose (principle of speciality), the information should be reciprocal, i.e. should flow in both directions, data protection must be ensured and the beneficial owners of trusts and other financial constructs should also be identified. Moreover, the Federal Council has stated that the issues of regularisation of the past and market access are to be addressed and solutions sought in negotiations on the automatic exchange of information with the EU and EU member states.

Swiss commitment to the automatic exchange of information at the Global Forum

Furthermore, the Federal Council has agreed to a letter from the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) to the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes. In this letter, Switzerland reaffirms its intention to introduce the statutory basis for the automatic exchange of information in a timely manner so that Swiss financial institutions could commence collecting the account data of foreign taxpayers in 2017 and the first exchange of information could take place in 2018, subject to parliament and possibly voters approving the necessary laws and agreements in good time. A first group of over 40 states, known as early adopters, have announced that they will start collecting data in 2016 and exchange it for the first time in 2017.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Head of Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF
Tel. +41 58 462 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch

FDFA Information (EU negotiations)
Tel. +41 58 462 31 53, info@eda.admin.ch


Documents


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54768.html

Automatischer Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen: Bundesrat beschliesst Verhandlungsmandate mit Partnerstaaten

Bern, 08.10.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung die definitiven Verhandlungsmandate zur Einführung des neuen globalen Standards für den automatischen Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen mit Partnerstaaten beschlossen. Die Mandate wurden in den vergangenen Monaten mit den zuständigen parlamentarischen Kommissionen und den Kantonen konsultiert. Die Verhandlungen mit den Partnerstaaten sollen demnächst beginnen.

Am 21. Mai 2014 hat der Bundesrat die Mandatsentwürfe für Verhandlungen mit der EU, den USA und weiteren Ländern zur Einführung des automatischen Informationsaustausches genehmigt. Diese Entwürfe wurden in den vergangenen Monaten bei den zuständigen Kommissionen der Eidgenössischen Räte und bei den Kantonen konsultiert. Mit grosser Mehrheit wurden die Mandatsentwürfe unterstützt.

Am 21. Juli 2014 hat die OECD das Gesamtpaket zum neuen globalen Standard für den automatischen Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen veröffentlicht. Am Treffen der G20-Finanzminister vom 20./21. September im australischen Cairns wurde die rasche Einführung des Standards bekräftigt.

Die heute vom Bundesrat definitiv beschlossenen Mandate enthalten folgende Eckpunkte:

  • Mit der EU soll über die Einführung des automatischen Informationsaustauschs verhandelt werden.
  • Mit den USA soll bezüglich der Umsetzung des Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) über ein FATCA-Abkommen nach dem Modell 1 verhandelt werden. Mit dem neuen Abkommen würden Daten zwischen den zuständigen Behörden automatisch auf gegenseitiger Basis ausgetauscht.
  • Es werden mit weiteren ausgewählten Ländern Verhandlungen zum automatischen Informationsaustausch aufgenommen. In einer ersten Phase werden Staaten in Betracht gezogen, mit denen enge wirtschaftliche und politische Beziehungen bestehen und die ihren Steuerpflichtigen, soweit angemessen, eine genügende Regularisierungsmöglichkeit bereitstellen.
  • Die Einführung des automatischen Informationsaustausches mit dem Ausland wird mittels Abkommen mit den Partnerstaaten erfolgen. Zudem wird im innerstaatlichen Recht ein Umsetzungsgesetz notwendig sein, welches zurzeit vom Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement vorbereitet wird und dem Parlament zusammen mit den ausgehandelten Abkommen vorgelegt werden wird. Die heute bestehenden Rechtsgrundlagen schliessen den automatischen Informationsaustausch aus.

Die Schweiz begrüsst den neuen internationalen Standard, an dem sie selber aktiv mitgewirkt hat. Er ermöglicht gleich lange Spiesse im Wettbewerb der Finanzplätze, da diese Regeln für alle gelten, und ist ein wichtiges Instrument in den internationalen Bemühungen gegen Steuerhinterziehung. Das inländische Bankgeheimnis wird durch die Umsetzung des neuen globalen Standards nicht tangiert.

Für den Bundesrat ist wichtig, dass die Vorgaben, die er bereits im Juni 2013 beschlossen hat, im neuen Standard enthalten sind. Es soll nur einen einzigen globalen Standard geben, die ausgetauschten Informationen sollen nur dem vereinbarten Zweck dienen (Spezialitätsprinzip), die Informationen sollen reziprok, also gegenseitig fliessen, der Datenschutz ist zu gewährleisten und auch wirtschaftlich Berechtigte von Trusts und anderen Finanzkonstrukten sollen identifiziert werden. Der Bundesrat hat zudem festgehalten, dass die Fragen der Vergangenheitsregularisierung und des Marktzutritts in den Verhandlungen zum automatischen Informationsaustausch gegenüber der EU und den EU-Mitgliedstaaten zu fordern und anzustreben sind.

Schweizer Bekenntnis zum automatischen Informationsaustausch beim Global Forum

Im Weiteren hat der Bundesrat einem Schreiben des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD) an das Global Forum für Transparenz und Informationsaustausch in Steuersachen zugestimmt. Darin bekräftigt die Schweiz die Absicht, die gesetzliche Basis für den automatischen Informationsaustausch zeitgerecht einzuführen, sodass Schweizer Finanzinstitute 2017 mit der Erhebung von Kontodaten ausländischer Steuerpflichtiger beginnen könnten und ein erster Datenaustausch 2018 stattfinden könnte. Dies unter dem Vorbehalt, dass das Parlament und allenfalls die Stimmberechtigten die nötigen Gesetze und Abkommen rechtzeitig genehmigen werden. Eine erste Gruppe von über 40 Staaten, die so genannten „early adopters", hat angekündigt, bereits 2016 mit der Erhebung von Daten zu beginnen und diese erstmals 2017 auszutauschen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Mario Tuor, Leiter Kommunikation Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
Tel. +41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch

Informationsdienst EDA (Verhandlungen mit der EU) Tel. +41 58 462 31 53, info@eda.admin.ch


Dokumente


Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54768.html