Federal Council adopts dispatch on Financial Market Infrastructure Act

Bern, 03.09.2014 - Today, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA). The act will adjust the regulation of financial market infrastructures and derivatives trading in line with market developments and international requirements. This will sustainably strengthen the stability and competitiveness of Switzerland's financial centre.

The FMIA governs the organisation and operation of financial market infrastructures. The provisions that are currently dispersed in various federal acts will be combined consistently in a single law and adjusted in line with changed market conditions and international standards. The stock exchange regulations are largely the same as those already contained in the Stock Exchange Act. In particular, the existing principle of self-regulation, which has proved its worth in this area, will be maintained.

The very vague term "institution which is similar to a stock exchange", which is outdated by international standards, will be replaced by the precisely defined and more easily distinguishable terms of "multilateral trading facility" and "organised trading facility". Multilateral trading facilities differ from stock exchanges in that, although they admit securities for trading, there is no listing. They are subject to regulations which are similar to those for stock exchanges. In contrast, organised trading facilities are not considered as independent financial market infrastructures; instead, their operation remains with banks, securities dealers, stock exchanges and multilateral trading facilities. Certain specific obligations, particularly regarding organisation and trading transparency, are imposed on the operator of an organised trading facility. The transparency requirements for multilateral and organised trading facilities also address the problem of dark pools, i.e. trading venues that have lacked transparency until now. Moreover, the FMIA will establish the basis for regulating high-frequency trading, and restricting it if necessary.

In the area of financial market infrastructures, a general licensing requirement will additionally be introduced for central counterparties, central depositaries, trade repositories and payment systems. Licensing conditions and obligations which are specifically tailored to these financial market infrastructures are also set out. Until now, FINMA could subject central counterparties, central depositaries and payment systems to the Banking Act or Stock Exchange Act in certain cases. There was no regulation at all for trade repositories.

Aside from the supervisory law requirements for financial market infrastructures, the FMIA contains all of the regulations that apply in relation to securities and derivatives trading for all market participants (market rules of conduct). These include the provisions on the disclosure of shareholdings, public offers, insider trading and market manipulation which are currently enshrined in the Stock Exchange Act, as well as the new regulations for derivatives trading, which are in line with international standards.

The vast majority of Swiss derivatives trading is currently cross-border and largely takes place with the EU. The proposed derivatives regulations are thus based primarily on EU law. Consequently, the three key obligations for derivatives trading should apply in Switzerland too in the future: clearing via a central counterparty, reporting to a trade repository and risk mitigation. Unlike in the EU, however, exceptions are to be created for smaller contracting parties in the financial sector for reasons of proportionality and with reference to the corresponding US regulations. In terms of the obligation to conduct derivatives transactions via a stock exchange or another trading facility, the bill sets out the corresponding legal basis. However, the obligation should not come into force until it has also been introduced in the partner states.

Furthermore, the FMIA will replace the administrative assistance provisions that are currently provided for in various financial market laws with a uniform set of regulations in the Financial Market Supervision Act. This is in line with international requirements in the area and, just like the regulations in the Tax Administrative Assistance Act, makes provision for the possibility of restricting the client procedure if the purpose of the administrative assistance and the effective performance of the requesting authority's tasks would be compromised by prior notification of the client. In addition, an explicit basis is established for cooperation with international organisations and bodies.


Address for enquiries

Roland Meier, Media Spokesperson FDF
Tel. +41 58 462 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54305.html

Bundesrat verabschiedet Botschaft zum Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz

Bern, 03.09.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat heute die Botschaft zum Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz (FinfraG) verabschiedet. Mit dem Gesetz wird die Regulierung der Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen und des Handels mit Derivaten an die Entwicklungen des Marktes und an internationale Vorgaben angepasst. Dadurch werden die Stabilität und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Finanzplatzes Schweiz nachhaltig gestärkt.

Das FinfraG regelt Organisation und Betrieb von Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen. Die heute auf verschiedene Bundesgesetze verstreuten Bestimmungen werden konsistent in einem Gesetz zusammengefasst und den veränderten Markverhältnissen und internationalen Standards angepasst. Die Regeln für die Börsen entsprechen dabei weitgehend den bestehenden im Börsengesetz. Insbesondere wird das geltende Prinzip der Selbstregulierung beibehalten, das sich in diesem Bereich bewährt hat.

Der sehr vage und im internationalen Vergleich nicht mehr aktuelle Begriff der börsenähnlichen Einrichtung wird durch die präziser definierten und besser abgrenzbaren Begriffe des multilateralen Handelssystems und des organisierten Handelssystems ersetzt. Multilaterale Handelssysteme unterscheiden sich von Börsen dadurch, dass sie Effekten zwar zum Handel zulassen, jedoch keine Kotierung erfolgt. Sie werden analogen Regeln unterstellt wie Börsen. Organisierte Handelssysteme werden demgegenüber nicht als eigenständige Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen erfasst, sondern ihr Betrieb bleibt den Banken, Effektenhändlern, Börsen und multilateralen Handelssystemen vorbehalten. Dem Betreiber eines organisierten Handelssystems werden dabei gewisse spezifische Pflichten insbesondere betreffend Organisation und Handelstransparenz auferlegt. Mit den Transparenzvorschriften für multilaterale und organisierte Handelssysteme wird auch die Problematik der sogenannten «Dark Pools», also bislang kaum transparenter Handelsplätze, angegangen. Zudem wird mit dem FinfraG die Grundlage geschaffen, um den Hochfrequenzhandel zu regeln und nötigenfalls einzuschränken. 

Im Bereich der Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen wird zudem neu eine generelle Bewilligungspflicht für zentrale Gegenparteien, Zentralverwahrer, Transaktionsregister und Zahlungssysteme eingeführt. Es werden spezifisch auf diese Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen zugeschnittene Bewilligungsvoraussetzungen und Pflichten formuliert. Bis anhin konnte die FINMA zentrale Gegenparteien, Zentralverwahrer und Zahlungssystem in bestimmten Fällen dem Banken- oder dem Börsengesetz unterstellen. Für Transaktionsregister bestand überhaupt keine Regelung. 

Neben den aufsichtsrechtlichen Vorgaben für Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen enthält das FinfraG sämtliche Regeln, welche im Zusammenhang mit dem Handel von Effekten und Derivaten für alle Marktteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmer gelten (sog. Marktverhaltensregeln). Dies sind einerseits die heute im Börsengesetz verankerten Bestimmungen über die Offenlegung von Beteiligungen, die öffentlichen Kaufangebote sowie den Insiderhandel und die Marktmanipulation und anderseits die neuen, den internationalen Standards entsprechenden Regeln zum Derivatehandel.

Der weitaus grösste Teil des schweizerischen Derivatehandels ist heute grenzüberschreitend und findet schwergewichtig mit der EU statt. Die vorgeschlagene Derivategulierung orientiert sich daher in erster Linie am EU-Recht. Im Ergebnis sollen auch in der Schweiz künftig die drei zentralen Pflichten des Derivatehandels gelten: Abrechnung über eine zentrale Gegenpartei, Meldung an ein Transaktionsregister und Minderung der Risiken. Anders als in der EU sollen jedoch aus Gründen der Verhältnismässigkeit und in Anlehnung an die entsprechenden Regelungen in den USA Ausnahmen für kleinere Vertragsparteien im Finanzbereich geschaffen werden. Was die Pflicht anbetrifft, Derivatgeschäfte über eine Börse oder ein anderes Handelssystem zu handeln, so enthält der Gesetzesentwurf die entsprechenden rechtlichen Grundlagen. Deren Inkraftsetzung soll aber erst erfolgen, wenn diese Pflicht auch in den Partnerstaaten eingeführt ist. 

Mit dem FinfraG werden ausserdem die heute in den verschiedenen Finanzmarktgesetzen vorgesehenen Bestimmungen zur Amtshilfe durch eine einheitliche Regelung im Finanzmarktaufsichtsgesetz ersetzt. Diese orientiert sich an internationalen Vorgaben in diesem Bereich und sieht analog zur Regelung im Steueramtshilfegesetz die Möglichkeit einer Einschränkung des Kundenverfahrens vor, wenn die vorgängige Information des Kunden den Zweck der Amtshilfe und die wirksame Erfüllung der Aufgaben der ersuchenden Behörde vereiteln würde. Zudem wird eine ausdrückliche Grundlage für die Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Organisationen und Gremien geschaffen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Roland Meier, Mediensprecher EFD
Tel. +41 58 462 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54305.html