Situation in Ukraine: Federal Council decides on further measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions

Bern, 27.08.2014 - In view of the situation in Ukraine, the Federal Council has today decided to take further measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions. It has amended the Ordinance of 2 April 2014 on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions in relation to the situation in Ukraine to include the sanctions imposed by the EU in July. The revised ordinance enters into force at 6 pm today.

During its discussions on the situation in Ukraine of 13 August 2014, the Federal Council decided to widen its current policy and to take all the measures required to ensure that the most recent sanctions imposed by the European Union cannot be circumvented via Swiss territory. Today the Federal Council decided on the necessary measures.

In the field of finance, issues of long term financial instruments by five Russian banks will be made subject to authorisation. In future, authorisation for new issues will only be granted if they are within the average financial engagement of the past three years. The subsidiaries of these Russian banks in Switzerland are exempt from the authorisation requirement as long as they are not acting on behalf of, or on the instructions of their parent companies. The EU's restrictive measures also allow a similar exemption for subsidiaries of the Russian banks in question on its territory. Secondary trading in financial instruments newly issued outside Switzerland and the EU will be subject to a duty to notify. Eleven names have been added to the existing list of natural persons and businesses with whom financial intermediaries are prohibited from entering into new business relationships and whose existing business relations are subject to a duty to notify.

With regard to specific military goods and dual-use goods subject to licence, the Federal Council decided to add a further criterion for rejecting the application for an export licence to the existing list of criteria in goods control legislation. An application may now be refused if goods are intended to be used exclusively or partially for military purposes, or if they are intended for a military end user. With regard to war material, the Federal Council decided that a ban on imports of such goods from Russia and Ukraine should apply. The Federal Council also decided to introduce a duty to notify for exports of certain goods used in the extraction of oil in deep sea, Arctic or shale gas projects in Russia.

As a result of Switzerland's decision not to recognise the annexation of Crimea by Russia constituing a breach of international law, the Federal Council has imposed a ban on imports and a ban on exports of certain key goods used in the extraction of oil and gas, as well as restrictions on investments for Crimea and Sevastopol.

The Federal Council has acknowledged the measures taken by Russia in respect of agricultural goods. It stresses that Switzerland is not engaged in any state measures to promote additional Swiss exports to Russia.

The Federal Council continues to monitor the situation in Ukraine closely and reserves the right to take further measures depending on how the situation develops


Address for enquiries

Antje Baertschi, Head of Communications, SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54221.html

Situation in der Ukraine: Bundesrat beschliesst weitere Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung von Sanktionen

Bern, 27.08.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat heute beschlossen, im Hinblick auf die Situation in der Ukraine weitere Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen zu erlassen. Er hat die Verordnung zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen im Zusammenhang mit der Situation in der Ukraine vom 2. April 2014 ergänzt, damit auch die von der EU im Juli erlassenen Sanktionen erfasst sind. Die revidierte Verordnung tritt heute um 18.00 Uhr in Kraft.

Der Bundesrat hatte anlässlich seiner Aussprache vom 13. August 2014 zur Situation in der Ukraine beschlossen, seine bisherige Politik im Hinblick auf die Situation in der Ukraine auszuweiten und alle notwendigen Massnahmen zu ergreifen, damit die jüngsten von der EU erlassenen Sanktionen nicht über das schweizerische Staatsgebiet umgangen werden können. Heute hat der Bundesrat die dafür notwendigen Massnahmen verordnet.

Im Finanzbereich werden Begebungen von langfristigen Finanzinstrumenten fünf russischer Banken einer Bewilligungspflicht unterstellt. Bewilligungen für neue Begebungen werden künftig nur erteilt, sofern sich diese im durchschnittlichen Finanzierungsrahmen der letzten drei Jahre bewegen. Die Tochtergesellschaften dieser russischen Banken in der Schweiz sind von der Bewilligungspflicht ausgenommen, solange sie nicht im Namen oder auf Anweisung ihrer Muttergesellschaften handeln. Eine entsprechende Ausnahme sehen auch die Massnahmen der EU für die in ihrem Territorium niedergelassenen Tochtergesellschaften der genannten russischen Banken vor. Der Sekundärhandel mit neu ausserhalb der Schweiz und der EU aufgelegten Finanzinstrumenten wird einer Meldepflicht unterstellt. Die bereits bestehende Liste der Personen und Unternehmen, mit welchen Finanzintermediäre keine neuen Geschäftsbeziehungen eingehen dürfen und deren bestehende Geschäftsbeziehungen einer Meldepflicht unterstehen, wurde um elf Einträge ergänzt.

Im Bereich der bewilligungspflichtigen besonderen militärischen Güter und der Güter mit doppeltem Verwendungszweck (Dual-Use-Güter) beschloss der Bundesrat, zu den bereits bestehenden Ablehnungskriterien in der Güterkontrollgesetzgebung ein zusätzliches Ablehnungskriterium für Ausfuhren zu schaffen. Dieses erlaubt es, Bewilligungen zu verweigern, wenn die Güter ganz oder teilweise für militärische Zwecke oder für einen militärischen Endverwender bestimmt sind. Betreffend Kriegsmaterial hat der Bundesrat beschlossen, dass neu auch ein Einfuhrstopp für derartige Güter aus Russland und der Ukraine gelten soll. Der Bundesrat beschloss weiter, die Ausfuhr bestimmter Güter zur Förderung von Erdöl in der Tiefsee, der Arktis oder in Schieferölprojekten in Russland einer Meldepflicht zu unterstellen.

Als Folge der schweizerischen Nicht-Anerkennungspolitik der völkerrechtswidrigen Annexion der Krim durch Russland, hat der Bundesrat ein Importverbot, ein Exportverbot für gewisse Schlüsselgüter zur Förderung von Erdöl und Gas sowie Investitionsbeschränkungen für die Krim und Sewastopol erlassen.

Der Bundesrat hat die von Russland erlassenen Massnahmen im Agrarbereich zur Kenntnis genommen. Er betont, dass die Schweiz keine staatlichen Massnahmen zur Förderung von zusätzlichen Schweizer Exporten nach Russland unternimmt.

Der Bundesrat verfolgt die Entwicklung der Situation in der Ukraine weiterhin aufmerksam und behält sich vor, weitere Massnahmen zu beschliessen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Antje Baertschi, Leiterin Kommunikation des SECO
Tel. 058 463 52 75



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54221.html