Ukraine: Federal Council widens its policy to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions

Bern, 13.08.2014 - The Federal Council today held a further discussion on the situation in Ukraine where recent developments give considerable cause for concern. It has decided to extend its current policy and undertake all necessary measures to ensure that the most recent sanctions imposed by the European Union cannot be circumvented via Swiss territory. The Federal Council also decided to widen the existing ban on exports of war material to Russia and Ukraine to specific military goods.

The Federal Council is deeply concerned by the intensification of the conflict in Ukraine and condemns the violations of national and international law. It reiterates its position that the referendum of 16 March 2014 in Crimea was illegal and that the annexation of Crimea by Russia is contrary to international law, in particular the principle of territorial integrity. At the same time Switzerland seeks to contribute to a peaceful solution in Ukraine as part of its own foreign policy, and in its capacity as chair of the OSCE. The Federal Council calls on the parties involved to exercise restraint and to engage in dialogue in order to prevent further escalation of the conflict.

Switzerland continues to closely monitor the situation in Ukraine and the Federal Council has acknowledged the new, sectoral sanctions imposed by the EU. It today took the decision to complement the measures already in place to ensure that Swiss territory cannot be misused to circumvent these sanctions. The Federal Council has tasked the EAER to draw up further specific measures to prevent the circumvention of the sanctions in place in the EU and to submit these to the cabinet at the earliest opportunity.

In terms of military and dual-use goods the Federal Council has also instructed the EAER to maintain the existing ban on exports of war material to Russia and Ukraine and to extend this to specific military goods. In compliance with national legislation the relevant authorities have not issued any licences for the export of war material to Russia and Ukraine since the beginning of the crisis in Ukraine. Furthermore, the export control authorities have also been instructed to exercise rigour when examining licence applications for dual-use goods intended for military usage in Russia and Ukraine.

Following the Russian annexation of Crimea, the Federal Council issued the Ordinance on Measures to Prevent the Circumvention of International Sanctions concerning the Situation in Ukraine (SR 946.231.176.72) on 2 April 2014. The annexes to this ordinance were amended on 1 May, 19 May and 4 August 2014 to take account of the measures imposed by the EU. By way of example, financial intermediaries based in Switzerland may no longer enter into business relationships with the private individuals named in the annexes to the ordinance.


Address for enquiries

Antje Baertschi, Head of Communications, SECO, Tel. 058 463 52 75

Marie Avet, Deputy Head of Communications, SECO, Tel. 058 462 40 20


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54069.html

Situation in der Ukraine: Bundesrat weitet seine Politik zur Vermeidung von Umgehungen aus

Bern, 13.08.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat heute eine erneute Aussprache über die Situation in der Ukraine geführt, deren Entwicklung zu grosser Sorge Anlass gibt. Er hat beschlossen, seine bisherige Politik auszuweiten und alle notwendigen Massnahmen zu erlassen, damit die jüngsten von der Europäischen Union verhängten Sanktionen nicht über das schweizerische Staatsgebiet umgangen werden können. Der Bundesrat hat weiter entschieden, den bereits bestehenden Ausfuhrstopp von Kriegsmaterial nach Russland und in die Ukraine auf besondere militärische Güter auszudehnen.

Der Bundesrat ist über die Zuspitzung des Konflikts in der Ukraine besorgt und verurteilt in diesem Zusammenhang die Verletzungen von nationalem und internationalem Recht. Er wiederholt, dass das Referendum vom 16. März 2014 auf der Krim rechtswidrig war und dass die Annexion der Krim durch Russland gegen das Völkerrecht, insbesondere gegen das Prinzip der territorialen Integrität der Staaten, verstösst. Gleichzeitig bemüht sich die Schweiz im Rahmen ihrer eigenständigen Aussenpolitik und als OSZE-Vorsitzende zu einer friedlichen Lösung in der Ukraine beizutragen. Der Bundesrat ruft die beteiligten Parteien zu Besonnenheit und gegenseitigem Dialog auf, um eine weitere Eskalation der Auseinandersetzungen zu verhindern.

Die Schweiz verfolgt die Entwicklung der Situation in der Ukraine weiterhin aufmerksam und der Bundesrat hat die neuen, sektoriellen Sanktionen der EU zur Kenntnis genommen. Er hat heute beschlossen, die Massnahmen so zu ergänzen, dass das schweizerische Staatsgebiet nicht zur Umgehung dieser Sanktionen missbraucht wird. Der Bundesrat hat dazu das WBF beauftragt, konkrete weitere Massnahmen zur Vermeidung von Umgehungsgeschäften zu erarbeiten und diese dem Bundesrat rasch zum Entscheid vorzulegen.

Im Bereich der militärischen und militärisch verwendbaren Güter hat der Bundesrat das WBF zudem angewiesen, den bereits bestehenden Bewilligungstopp für Kriegsmaterialausfuhren nach Russland und in die Ukraine weiterzuführen und auf besondere militärische Güter auszudehnen. Die zuständigen Behörden haben aufgrund der nationalen Gesetzgebung schon seit Beginn der Krise in der Ukraine keine Bewilligungen für die Ausfuhr von Kriegsmaterial nach Russland und in die Ukraine erteilt. In Bewilligungsverfahren betreffend Güter mit doppeltem Verwendungszweck, die für militärische Zwecke in Russland und der Ukraine verwendet werden sollen, wurden die Exportkontrollbehörden zudem angewiesen, die Einzelfälle restriktiv zu handhaben.

In Folge der russischen Annexion der Krim hat der Bundesrat am 2. April 2014 die Verordnung über Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen im Zusammenhang mit der Situation in der Ukraine (SR 946.231.176.72) erlassen. Die Anhänge dieser Verordnung wurden danach in Anlehnung an die jeweiligen Massnahmen der EU am 1. Mai, 19. Mai und 4. August 2014 erweitert. U.a. dürfen in der Schweiz niedergelassene Finanzintermediäre mit den in den Anhängen der Verordnung genannten natürlichen Personen keine Geschäftsbeziehungen mehr eingehen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Antje Baertschi, Leiterin Kommunikation SECO,
Tel. 058 463 52 75

Marie Avet, stellvertretende Leiterin Kommunikation SECO,
Tel. 058 462 40 20


Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-54069.html