President of the Swiss Confederation Didier Burkhalter launches the Democracy Without Borders initiative at the Locarno International Film Festival

Bern, 04.08.2014 - The President of the Swiss Confederation, Didier Burkhalter, will launch the FDFA's Democracy Without Borders initiative as part of the Open Doors section of the Locarno International Film Festival on 10 August. Swiss personalities, who are well-known nationally or internationally, act as ambassadors for Swiss development cooperation projects, increasing their impact on democracy, peace and human rights. The initiative will kick off with an opening speech by President Burkhalter and the screening of the Ethiopian film "Difret", followed by a panel discussion on the issue of impunity for violence against women and girls.

The Federal Department of Foreign Affairs aims to strengthen democracy, peace and human rights with this initiative by raising awareness in partner countries as well as among the Swiss public about the challenges faced in countries where they carry out projects, and increasing the impact of such projects.

Project ambassadors are currently involved in three projects in FDFA partner countries:
In Honduras, a high-quality vocational training project for young people from disadvantaged regions aims to help them escape the vicious cycle of poverty and violence. Exchanges between specialists from Honduras and Switzerland are intended to bring added value to the project.
In Tunisia, project ambassadors are working to strengthen the role of women in politics and to improve the quality and independence of the media. Technical expertise should also help promote reform of the judicial and security sectors where possible.
Other project ambassadors are active in the psychosocial programme of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), which provides medical, psychosocial and legal aid to victims of (sexual) gender-based violence in the Great Lakes region, as well as helping them to reintegrate into society. 

The issue of sexual violence concerns women and girls around the world. As shown in the film "Difret", it can arise from a conflict between tradition and modernity, or it can stem from war or other violent confrontations. This kind of violence mainly – though not exclusively – affects women and girls.
Sexual violence is one of the most destructive weapons of war and constitutes a serious violation of human rights and international law.

The event in Locarno and the Democracy Without Borders initiative fall within Switzerland's long-standing commitment to combating sexual violence.
At the Global Summit to End Sexual Violence in Conflict in London last June, Switzerland signed the international protocol on the documentation and investigation of sexual violence in conflict; last November, Switzerland had already elaborated the third modification to its National Action Plan (NAP 1325) based on the 1325 UN Security Council Resolution on Women, Peace and Security, which obliges Switzerland to take account of the particular needs and concerns of women in all its activities in fragile and conflict-affected states.
Switzerland also supports civil society organisations such as the NGO Geneva Call, which negotiates specific agreements prohibiting sexual violence with armed non-state actors. In addition to its general contribution to UN Women, the SDC has provided around CHF 4.9 million to the UN Trust Fund to End Violence against Women for the 2013-15 period.
Furthermore, Switzerland is committed to preventing the granting of amnesties to perpetrators of sexual violence and to ensuring that victims of such crimes are granted rapid and unhindered access to medical, psychosocial and legal aid. The SDC's psychosocial programme in the Great Lakes region, which forms part of the Democracy Without Borders initiative, is making a significant contribution in this area.

Following on from the film screening there will be a panel discussion on the issue of impunity for (sexual) violence against women and girls with the following speakers: Navi Pillay – UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Venantie Bisimwa Nabintu – Executive Secretary of the Congolese NGO “Réseau des Femmes pour la défense des Droits et la Paix”, Danaé van der Straten Ponthoz – Legal Adviser with the NGO TRIAL, Giancarlo De Picciotto – Head of the Swiss Cooperation Office for the Great Lakes Region, Zerezenay Berhane Mehari – the film's director, Mehret Mandefro – and the film's producer.

Journalists who wish to attend the event are requested to contact press@pardo.ch.

Information:

Sonja Isella
Spokesperson FDFA Information
+41 (0)58 462 54 88
sonja.isella@eda.admin.ch

FDFA Information
+41 (0)58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-53927.html

Bundespräsident Didier Burkhalter lanciert die Initiative “Demokratie ohne Grenzen” am Filmfestival in Locarno

Bern, 04.08.2014 - Bundespräsident Didier Burkhalter lanciert am 10. August im Rahmen der Sektion Open Doors des Filmfestivals von Locarno die Initiative „Demokratie ohne Grenzen“ des EDA: National und international bekannte schweizerische Persönlichkeiten agieren als Botschafterin bzw. Botschafter für Projekte der Schweizer Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Durch diese Interaktionen soll die Reichweite ausgewählter Projekte in den Bereichen Demokratie, Frieden und Menschenrechte erhöht werden. Die Initiative startet mit einer Lancierungsrede von Bundespräsident Burkhalter und mit der Vorführung des äthiopischen Films „Difret“ und anschliessender Podiumsdiskussion zur Problematik der Straflosigkeit von Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen.

Die Initiative des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) hat die Stärkung der Demokratie, des Friedens und der Menschenrechte zum Ziel. Durch die Initiative sollen sowohl die Bevölkerung der Partnerländer als auch die schweizerische Öffentlichkeit für die Herausforderungen in den Projektländern sensibilisiert und die Reichweite der Projekte erhöht werden.

Die Projektbotschafterinnen und -botschafter engagieren sich momentan für drei Projekte in verschiedenen Partnerländern:
In Honduras sollen Jugendliche aus benachteiligten Regionen dank einer qualitativ hochstehenden Berufsbildung der Negativspirale von Gewalt und Armut entkommen. Durch den Austausch zwischen Expertinnen und Experten aus Honduras und der Schweiz soll ein Mehrwert für das Projekt generiert werden.
In Tunesien werden sich die Projektbotschafterinnen und -botschafter für die Stärkung von tunesischen Frauen in der Politik wie auch für unabhängige und qualitativ hochstehende Medienberichterstattung einsetzen. Des Weiteren soll, wo möglich, mit technischer Expertise die Reform des Justiz- und Sicherheitssektors vorangetrieben werden.
Weitere Projektbotschafterinnen und -botschafter engagieren sich für das psychosoziale Programm der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA), welches sich in der Region der Grossen Seen um die Opfer von (sexueller) geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt kümmert, indem medizinische, psychosoziale und juristische Hilfe geleistet sowie die Reintegration der Opfer in der Gemeinschaft angestrebt wird. 

Die Problematik der sexuellen Gewalt betrifft Frauen und Mädchen rund um den Globus. Diese kann, wie im Film „Difret“ aus einem Konflikt zwischen Moderne und Tradition entstehen, oder auch durch Krieg und gewalttätigen Auseinandersetzungen. Zumeist, aber nicht ausschliesslich, sind Frauen und Mädchen von dieser Gewalt betroffen.
Sexuelle Gewalt ist eine der destruktivsten Kriegswaffen und stellt eine schwere Verletzung der Menschenrechte und des internationalen Rechts dar.

Die Veranstaltung in Locarno und die Initiative „Demokratie ohne Grenzen“ fügen sich in das langjährige Engagement der Schweiz im Bereich der sexuellen Gewalt ein.

So hat die Schweiz diesen Juni in London am internationalen Gipfel gegen sexuelle Gewalt in Konflikten das internationale Protokoll zur Dokumentierung und Untersuchung von sexueller Gewalt in Konflikten unterzeichnet.
Bereits letzten November hatte die Schweiz ausgehend von der UNO-Sicherheitsratsresolution 1325 für Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit die dritte Anpassung des nationalen Aktionsplan (NAP 1325) erarbeitet, der die Schweiz verpflichtet, die speziellen Bedürfnisse und Anliegen der Frauen bei sämtlichen Aktivitäten in fragilen und konfliktbetroffenen Staaten zu berücksichtigen.
Unter anderem unterstützt die Schweiz zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen wie etwa die NGO Geneva Call, welche mit bewaffneten, nicht-staatlichen Akteuren spezifische Vereinbarungen zur Abschaffung von sexueller Gewalt aushandelt. Des Weiteren unterstützt die DEZA neben allgemeinen Beiträgen an UN Women auch den UN Trust Fund to End Violence against Women mit rund 4,9 Millionen Schweizer Franken für den Zeitraum von 2013-2015.  
Zudem setzt sich die Schweiz dafür ein, dass für sexuelle Gewaltverbrechen keine Amnestie gilt und dass die Opfer solcher Verbrechen schnell und unbürokratisch Zugang zu medizinischer, psychosozialer und rechtlicher Hilfe erhalten. Einen wichtigen Beitrag dazu leistet das psychosoziale Programm der DEZA in der Region der Grossen Seen, welches auch Teil der Initiative „Demokratie ohne Grenzen“ ist.

Anschliessend an die Vorführung des Films „Difret“ findet eine Podiumsdiskussion zur Problematik der Straflosigkeit von (sexueller) Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen statt. Auf dem Podium vertreten sind: Navi Pillay – UN Hochkommissarin für Menschenrechte, Venantie Bisimwa Nabintu – Exekutivsekretärin der kongolesischen NGO “Réseau des Femmes pour la défense des Droits et la Paix”, Danaé van der Straten Ponthoz – Legal Adviser bei der NGO TRIAL, Giancarlo De Picciotto – Leiter des Schweizer Kooperationsbüros in der Region der Grossen Seen, Zerezenay Berhane Mehari – Regisseur des Films und Mehret Mandefro – Produzentin des Films.

Medienschaffende, die an einer Teilnahme an dieser Veranstaltung interessiert sind, wenden sich bitte an: press@pardo.ch.

Weitere Informationen:

Sonja Isella
Pressesprecherin Information EDA
+41 (0)58 462 54 88
sonja.isella@eda.admin.ch

Information EDA
+41 (0)58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch


Adresse für Rückfragen

Kommunikation EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-53927.html