The Federal Council adopts the dispatch to Parliament concerning a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of foreign politically exposed persons

Bern, 21.05.2014 - Today, the Federal Council has adopted the dispatch to Parliament concerning a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of foreign politically exposed persons (PEPs). The draft law takes over existing legislation and practice and reworks them into a single body of law. In parallel to the legislative work, the Federal Council has stepped up its efforts to establish a more efficient framework for international cooperation on the restitution of illicitly acquired assets of PEPs.

In connection with the events of the Arab Spring, the Federal Council issued several freezing orders against PEPs directly based on the Federal Constitution at the beginning of 2011. In March 2011, the Federal Parliament adopted a motion obliging the Federal Council to create a formal legislative basis on the freezing of such assets. The Federal Council then instructed the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs to draw up a draft law to this effect. In May 2013, the consultation procedure was launched on the first draft of a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of PEPs.

The draft law comprehensively governs the freezing, confiscation and restitution of illicit assets of PEPs, thus reflecting Switzerland's current practice in this area. It is designed to be applied in cases where leading figures enrich themselves through corruption or other criminal means and deposit these illicitly acquired assets in offshore financial centres. It contains provisions on preventive freezing for the purpose of temporarily securing PEPs assets, and it lays down the conditions under which such illicit assets can be confiscated by a court within the framework of an administrative procedure as well as the principles on which confiscated assets can be returned to the country of origin. Lastly, the draft law provides for the possibility of taking targeted measures to support the country of origin in its efforts to recover illicitly acquired assets. In addition, it establishes two further developments on matters of practice to take concrete experiences into account. The draft law has also been considerably reworked on several points to take account of the comments and issues raised during the consultation procedure. These concern in particular implementation of the duty to report with regard to frozen assets (creation of a single point of contact with the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland) and the exchange of information with foreign authorities.

With the new federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets, the Federal Council will have a formal legal basis to deal with cases of illicitly acquired assets of foreign PEPs. The new law strengthens the democratic legitimacy of the Federal Council's policy in this field. It enumerates the conditions that must be fulfilled to order the freezing of assets, thus meeting the requirements demanded by Parliament and other circles. It enhances legal certainty and the transparency of the actions of the state. Following the prolongation in January 2014 of the constitutionally based freeze on the assets of members of the entourage of ousted presidents Ben Ali (Tunisia) and Mubarak (Egypt), the Federal Council is legally obliged to submit the dispatch concerning a federal act on the freezing and restitution of illicitly acquired assets of foreign PEPs to the Federal Parliament before the summer recess.

Parallel to the legislative work, the Federal Council has stepped up its efforts to improve international coordination in cases of illicitly acquired assets of PEPs. Switzerland has gained much experience in this area over the last 25 years. It would like to use this experience to participate in setting future standards of cooperation among financial centres in the field of the restitution of the illicit assets of PEPs and to structure this work more efficiently. It bases its work on two UN mandates dating from 2013 which are largely based on Switzerland's proposals. The first set of guidelines was developed within the framework of an expert seminar that Switzerland organised together with its partners, the International Centre for Asset Recovery and the Stolen Asset Recovery Initiative of the World Bank, in Lausanne from 26 to 28 January 2014.

In addition to the federal act, the Federal Council has also approved a strategy on the freezing, confiscation and restitution of assets of foreign PEPs (asset recovery). It is designed for use by those units of the federal administration that deal with the illicit assets of PEPs and serves to optimise coordination among Swiss authorities.


Address for enquiries

INFO DFAE
phone +41 (0)58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-53048.html

Der Bundesrat verabschiedet die Botschaft zu einem Bundesgesetz über die Sperrung und Rückerstattung unrechtmässig erworbener Vermögenswerte ausländischer politisch exponierter Personen

Bern, 21.05.2014 - Der Bundesrat hat heute die Botschaft zu einem Bundesgesetz über die Sperrung und Rückerstattung unrechtmässig erworbener Vermögenswerte ausländischer politisch exponierter Personen (SRVG) verabschiedet. Der Gesetzesentwurf übernimmt bereits bestehende gesetzliche Grundlagen sowie die bisherige Praxis und regelt sie in einem einzigen Erlass. Parallel zu den Gesetzgebungsarbeiten hat der Bundesrat seine Bemühungen intensiviert, die internationale Zusammenarbeit zur Rückführung von Potentatengeldern effizienter zu gestalten.

Im Zusammenhang mit den Ereignissen des Arabischen Frühlings erliess der Bundesrat Anfang 2011 mehrere direkt auf die Bundesverfassung gestützte Vermögenssperren gegen politisch exponierte Personen. Im März 2011 nahmen die Eidgenössischen Räte eine Motion an, die den Bundesrat verpflichtet, für derartige Vermögenssperren eine formelle gesetzliche Grundlage zu schaffen. Der Bundesrat erteilte daraufhin dem EDA den Auftrag zur Erarbeitung einer entsprechenden Vorlage. Im Mai 2013 wurde die Vernehmlassung zum Vorentwurf zu einem Bundesgesetz über die Sperrung und Rückerstattung unrechtmässig erworbener Vermögenswerte politisch exponierter Personen (SRVG) eröffnet.

Der Gesetzesentwurf regelt die Sperrung, Einziehung und Rückerstattung von Potentatengeldern umfassend und bildet damit die bisherige Praxis der Schweiz in diesem Bereich ab. Er findet Anwendung in Fällen, in denen sich führende Persönlichkeiten unrechtmässig bereichern, indem sie sich durch Korruption oder andere Verbrechen Vermögenswerte aneignen und auf ausländischen Finanzplätzen beiseite schaffen. Der Entwurf enthält Bestimmungen zur vorsorglichen Sperrung von Vermögenswerten von politisch exponierten Personen zu Sicherungszwecken. Er hält fest, unter welchen Voraussetzungen Potentatengelder im Rahmen eines verwaltungsrechtlichen Verfahrens gerichtlich eingezogen werden können, und nach welchen Grundsätzen eingezogene Vermögenswerte an die Herkunftsstaaten zurückgeführt werden. Schliesslich sieht der Entwurf auch die Möglichkeit gezielter Massnahmen vor, um den Herkunftsstaat in seinen Bemühungen um Rückerstattung unrechtmässig erworbener Vermögenswerte zu unterstützen. Zudem verankert der Entwurf zwei Weiterentwicklungen der Praxis, um konkreten Erfahrungen Rechnung zu tragen. Der Gesetzesentwurf wurde in verschiedenen Punkten erheblich überarbeitet, um den Rückmeldungen aus der Vernehmlassung Rechnung zu tragen. Dies betrifft insbesondere die Umsetzung der Meldepflicht betreffend gesperrte Vermögenswerte (Schaffung eines sogenannten „Guichet Unique“ bei der Meldestelle für die Geldwäscherei MROS) sowie die Informationsweitergabe ans Ausland.

Mit dem SRVG wird neu eine formell-gesetzliche Grundlage für den Umgang des Bundesrats mit Potentatengelderfällen geschaffen. Das Gesetz stärkt die demokratische Legitimation der Politik des Bundesrats auf diesem Gebiet. Der neue Erlass zählt auf, welche Voraussetzungen für die Anordnung einer Vermögenssperrung erfüllt sein müssen, und kommt damit Forderungen aus dem Parlament und von weiteren Kreisen nach. Das Gesetz erhöht die Rechtssicherheit und die Transparenz des staatlichen Handelns. Nachdem die auf die Verfassung gestützten Vermögenssperrungen gegen Personen aus dem Umfeld der gestürzten Präsidenten Ben Ali (Tunesien) und Mubarak (Ägypten) im Januar 2014 verlängert wurden, ist der Bundesrat gemäss geltendem Recht verpflichtet, die Botschaft zum SRVG noch vor der Sommerpause an die Eidgenössischen Räte zu überweisen.

Parallel zu den Gesetzgebungsarbeiten hat der Bundesrat seine Bemühungen zugunsten einer verbesserten internationalen Koordination in Potentatengelderfällen intensiviert. Die Schweiz hat auf diesem Gebiet im Verlauf der vergangenen 25 Jahre viel Erfahrung gesammelt. Diesen Vorteil will sie nutzen, um künftige Standards der Zusammenarbeit unter Finanzplätzen auf dem Gebiet der Rückgabe von Potentatengeldern mitzugestalten und die Arbeit effizienter zu gestalten. Sie stützt sich dabei auf zwei UNO-Mandate aus dem Jahr 2013, die massgeblich auf ihre Anregung zurückgehen. Erste Leitlinien wurden im Rahmen eines internationalen Expertenseminars entwickelt, das die Schweiz zusammen mit ihren Partnern des International Centre for Asset Recovery (ICAR) sowie der Stolen Asset Recovery (StAR) Initiative der Weltbank vom 26. – 28. Januar 2014 in Lausanne durchgeführt hat.
 
Der Bundesrat hat neben dem Gesetz auch eine Strategie der Schweiz zur Sperrung, Einziehung und Rückführung von Potentatengeldern („Asset Recovery“) gutgeheissen. Sie richtet sich an die mit Potentatengeldern befassten Verwaltungsstellen und dient der optimalen Koordination der Schweizer Behörden.


Adresse für Rückfragen

EDA-INFO
Tel. +41 (0) 58 462 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-53048.html