Ukraine: List of persons extended

Bern, 02.05.2014 - On 1 May 2014 the Federal Department of Economic Affairs EAER added a further 15 individuals to the list of persons annexed to the ordinance on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions connected with the situation in Ukraine. The measures come into force at 6 pm on 2 May 2014.

Following developments in Ukraine, the European Union (EU) decided on 28 April 2014 to add the names of a further 15 individuals to the list of persons subject to targeted sanctions. The EAER has acknowledged this decision and subsequently added the same individuals to its own list of persons subject to sanctions, which is annexed to the ordinance of 2 April 2014 on measures to prevent the circumvention of international sanctions connected with the situation in Ukraine. This brings the total number of individuals named on the list annexed to the ordinance to 48.

Financial intermediaries based in Switzerland may no longer enter into new business relationships with the individuals named in the annex to the ordinance. This is intended to ensure that the named individuals do not transfer assets to Switzerland. Existing business relationships involving the named individuals are not subject to this ban. However, the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO must be notified of such business relationships. By invoking an obligation to notify the Federal Council aims to gain an overview of the business relationships that the persons concerned have in Switzerland and of the assets they hold here, so as to be able to decide on further measures if necessary.

The travel restrictions imposed by the EU on these 48 private individuals also have an effect on Switzerland via the Schengen Association Agreement. Consequently, no special measures are needed to prevent the circumvention of these sanctions.

In its statement of 26 March 2014 on the situation in Ukraine, the Federal Council acknowledged the sanctions imposed by certain members of the international community. It decided that Switzerland would take the measures required to ensure that its national territory cannot be misused to circumvent the sanctions imposed by the international community.


Address for enquiries

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern
Tel. +41 58 462 56 56
Fax +41 58 462 56 00



Publisher

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52856.html

Ukraine: Anpassung der Personenliste

Bern, 02.05.2014 - Das Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung WBF hat am 1. Mai 2014 die Personenliste der Verordnung über Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen im Zusammenhang mit der Situation in der Ukraine um 15 natürliche Personen erweitert. Die Massnahmen treten am 2. Mai 2014 um 18:00 Uhr in Kraft.

Die Europäische Union (EU) hatte am 28. April 2014 aufgrund der Entwicklungen in der Ukraine beschlossen, weitere 15 natürliche Personen in die Liste der sanktionierten Personen aufzunehmen. Das WBF hat diesen Beschluss zur Kenntnis genommen und die Personenliste im Anhang der Verordnung vom 2. April 2014 über Massnahmen zur Vermeidung der Umgehung internationaler Sanktionen im Zusammenhang mit der Situation in der Ukraine um dieselben Personen erweitert. Im Anhang dieser Verordnung figurieren damit nunmehr 48 natürliche Personen.

In der Schweiz niedergelassene Finanzintermediäre dürfen keine neuen Geschäftsbeziehungen mit den im Anhang der Verordnung genannten natürlichen Personen eingehen. Damit soll verhindert werden, dass diese Personen Vermögenswerte in die Schweiz transferieren. Allenfalls bereits bestehende Geschäftsbeziehungen der genannten Personen  fallen nicht unter dieses Verbot. Solche Geschäftsbeziehungen unterstehen jedoch einer Meldepflicht an das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO. Mit dieser Meldepflicht will sich der Bundesrat einen Überblick über die von den betroffenen Personen in der Schweiz gehaltenen Geschäftsbeziehungen bzw. Vermögenswerte verschaffen, um gegebenenfalls weitergehende Massnahmen beschliessen zu können.

Die Reisebeschränkungen, welche die EU gegenüber den nunmehr 48 natürlichen Personen erlassen hat, wirken sich via das Schengen-Assoziierungsabkommen auch auf die Schweiz aus. Es sind somit keine speziellen Massnahmen zur Verhinderung der Umgehung dieser Sanktionen notwendig.

Der Bundesrat hatte anlässlich seiner Aussprache vom 26. März 2014 zur Situation in der Ukraine von den Sanktionsmassnahmen Kenntnis genommen, die ein Teil der internationalen Gemeinschaft verhängt hatte. Er beschloss, dass die Schweiz die notwendigen Massnahmen ergreifen werde, damit ihr Staatsgebiet nicht zur Umgehung der Sanktionen der internationalen Gemeinschaft missbraucht werden könne.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO
Holzikofenweg 36
CH-3003 Bern
Tel. +41 58 462 56 56
Fax +41 58 462 56 00



Herausgeber

Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft
http://www.seco.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52856.html