Interim solution for Erasmus+ in 2014

Bern, 16.04.2014 - Following the suspension of negotiations on Switzerland’s association to Erasmus+, the Federal Council tasked the EAER with drawing up an interim solution for 2014. This was approved at today’s Federal Council meeting. The interim solution gives priority to mobility activities and is based on the principle that Switzerland wishes to regain full associate country status.

The interim solution contains the following main aspects:

  • Costs will be met by the budget originally earmarked for Switzerland's programme contributions to the European Commission in 2014 as an associate country in Erasmus+ (CHF22.7m).
  • The solution, in particular with regard to mobility activities, adheres as far as possible to the Erasmus+ requirements applicable for all European countries, with a view to renewing association to the programme.
  • The Federal Council sets out a number of priorities, and also states the activities which will not receive funding for the time being. In this it ensures that demand both at national level and among foreign institutions can be met as far as possible. Mobility will be given priority, with 89% of the available funding going to this area, including to meet the costs of incoming mobility.
  • The portion of the budget dedicated to project activities is considerably smaller than the amount set for full association to Erasmus+. Switzerland will also sets its own criteria regarding the projects to be funded. The Federal Council awards funding only to excellent projects which meet the education policy objectives set by the Confederation and the cantons.

The interim solution for 2014 presented today has its limitations and does not provide the full range of opportunities offered by Erasmus+. However, it creates the framework necessary to implement planned learning mobility projects. It ensures that Swiss participants enjoy as much continuity as possible until such time as Switzerland can again become an associate country in Erasmus+, which continues to be the Federal Council's intention. The ch Foundation is responsible for implementing the interim solution.

It is also Switzerland's aim to re-establish its association to the Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme. The Federal Council will draw up an interim solution on this issue at a later stage, as soon as the situation with the EU is clear.


Address for enquiries

Rudolf Christen,
Head of Communications EAER,
Tel. 031 322 39 60 / 079 317 24 09


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 05.01.2016

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52695.html

Übergangslösung für Erasmus+ im Jahr 2014

Bern, 16.04.2014 - Als Folge der Sistierung der Verhandlungen zur Assoziierung der Schweiz an Erasmus+ hat der Bundesrat das WBF mit der Erarbeitung einer Übergangslösung für 2014 beauftragt. Diese wurde an der heutigen Bundesratssitzung verabschiedet. Die Übergangslösung priorisiert die Mobilität und basiert auf dem Grundsatz, dass weiterhin eine Assoziierung an Erasmus+ angestrebt wird.

Die Übergangslösung trägt folgenden Grundsätzen Rechnung:

  • Die Kosten sind aus den ursprünglich mit Blick auf die Assoziierung der Schweiz an Erasmus+ vorgesehenen Programmbeiträgen an die EU-Kommission für das Jahr 2014 (22,7 Mio CHF) zu decken.
  • Die Umsetzung insbesondere der Mobilitätsaktivitäten orientiert sich im Hinblick auf eine erneute Assoziierung möglichst an den europaweit geltenden Vorgaben für Erasmus+.
  • Der Bundesrat legt inhaltliche Prioritäten fest. Er legt auch fest, auf welche Aktivitäten vorübergehend verzichtet wird und berücksichtigt dabei, dass die Nachfrage auf nationaler Ebene, aber auch seitens ausländischer Institutionen, soweit möglich befriedigt werden kann. Die Mobilität wird prioritär behandelt. Gut 89% der zur Verfügung stehenden Mittel werden für diesen Bereich eingesetzt, wobei auch die Kosten für die Incoming-Mobilitäten übernommen werden.
  • Der Budgetanteil bei den Projektaktivitäten wird gegenüber den Vorgaben im Rahmen einer Assoziierung deutlich reduziert. Es werden zudem eigene Kriterien definiert, nach welchen Projekte finanziert werden sollen. Der Bundesrat beschränkt sich auf exzellente Projekte, die den von Bund und Kantonen festgelegten Bildungszielen entsprechen.

Die heute präsentierte Übergangslösung für das Jahr 2014 ist mit Einschränkungen verbunden und bietet nicht die gleiche Vielfalt an Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten wie Erasmus+. Mit ihr wird aber die Voraussetzung geschaffen, um die Durchführung der beantragten und geplanten Lernmobilität zu gewährleisten. Sie sichert Schweizer Programmteilnehmern die grösstmögliche Kontinuität für eine spätere Assoziierung an Erasmus+, wie sie weiterhin das Ziel des Bundesrates ist. Zuständig für die Umsetzung der Übergangslösung ist die ch Stiftung.

Das Ziel der Assoziierung gilt im Übrigen auch für das Horizon 2020-Paket im Bereich der Forschung und Innovation. Mit der Ausarbeitung einer Übergangslösung wird sich der Bundesrat später beschäftigten, sobald die Ausgangslage mit der EU geklärt ist.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Rudolf Christen,
Kommunikationschef WBF,
Tel. 031 322 39 60 / 079 317 24 09



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 24.01.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52695.html