"1914-2014": The President of the Swiss Confederation, Mr Didier Burkhalter, launches competition for young people

Bern, 31.03.2014 - Young people are at the heart of the presidency of the Confederation in 2014. The First World War began 100 years ago and destroyed the future of millions of young people in the years after 1914. To mark this anniversary year, the President of the Swiss Confederation, Mr Didier Burkhalter, is inviting young people to take part in a competition that offers an opportunity for constructive dialogue. Post-compulsory-school classes are invited to submit projects about the First World War in a format of their choice. The class with the best project from each of Switzerland's linguistic regions will win a three-day trip to Ypres in Belgium. The registration deadline for the competition is 31 May 2014.

One hundred years after the outbreak of the First World War, the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) is launching a competition for post-compulsory schools (e.g. upper-secondary vocational schools, cantonal schools/Matura schools, upper-secondary specialised schools) in order to engage in a dialogue with school students about conflict prevention, peacebuilding, disarmament and respect for international humanitarian law.
Young people are one of the priorities of President Burkhalter, the head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs, in 2014.

Goal and themes of the competition
The goal of the competition is to raise awareness and stimulate reflection among young people and to encourage them to engage in a fruitful exchange of ideas. The school projects can focus on concrete aspects that shed light on this critical period in modern world history. The students are free to choose both the format and theme of their project. Possible formats include text, blogs, film, audio recordings and painting. The projects may deal with themes such as a specific event, a speech, an image, a literary work, a piece of music, a newspaper article, a plan, the personal story of a family member, etc. For example:

• Food supply for the population. What was on the menu?
• What was the status of the law of war and international humanitarian law?
• What role do educational institutions and youth organisations play in indoctrinating young men and whipping up enthusiasm for war among them?
• What social consequences did the war have on everyday life?

The prize
A jury of experts will judge the projects submitted by the deadline under exclusion of the public. In each of Switzerland's linguistic regions, the class that submits the best project will win a three-day trip to Ypres in Belgium.  The city of Ypres in neutral Belgium was drawn into the conflict against its will and became one of the most important theatres of the First World War. Much of the city was destroyed and half a million people lost their lives. Chemical weapons were first used in Ypres. The trip will take place from 13 to 15 November 2014. On 14 November, the winning classes will have an opportunity to exchange views about the First World War with the President of the Swiss Confederation and a group of experts.
In addition to the main prize, lots will be drawn to select up to ten classes – irrespective of the project they submitted – to take part in a visit to international Geneva (Palais des Nations, International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum). During this visit, which will probably take place at the beginning of September, the students will meet the President of the Swiss Confederation and talk with FDFA and UN employees about issues related to war and peace, conflict prevention and humanitarian responsibility.
Participating schools undertake to ensure that their classes will take part in the trips in the event that they win one of the prizes. A further condition is that each school class may submit only one project. The results will be communicated directly to the schools and published at www.unesco.ch.

Registration and information
Participating school classes may register for the competition by 31 May 2014 and submit their projects with an accompanying letter by 10 October 2014. The letter may not be more than 10 pages long and should provide information about the approach chosen for the project, how it was carried out, and the lessons learned. Numerous information resources are available on the internet for teachers supervising participating school classes. Further information about the competition is available at www.unesco.ch .


Contact information to teachers and registration:
Lukas Schifferle
Email: info@unesco.ch
Tel.: +41 31 32 31236


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52492.html

"1914-2014": Bundespräsident Didier Burkhalter lanciert Wettbewerb für Jugendliche

Bern, 31.03.2014 - Die Jugend steht 2014 im Zentrum des Präsidialjahres der Eidgenossenschaft. Vor 100 Jahren begann der Erste Weltkrieg, der in den Folgejahren die Zukunft von Millionen von Jugendlichen zerstörte. Anlässlich dieses Gedenkjahres, lädt Bundespräsident Didier Burkhalter Jugendliche im Rahmen eines Wettbewerbs zu einem konstruktiven Dialog ein. Nachobligatorische Schulen können klassenweise Arbeiten in frei wählbarem Format zum Thema Erster Weltkrieg einreichen. Pro Sprachregion wird eine Klasse mit der jeweils besten Arbeit an einer dreitägigen Reise nach Ypern in Belgien teilnehmen. Anmeldefrist für den Wettbewerb ist der 31. Mai 2014.

Hundert Jahre nach dem Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges lanciert das Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) einen Wettbewerb für nachobligatorische Schulen (beispielsweise Berufsschulen, Kantonsschulen/Gymnasien, Fachmittelschulen), um mit Schülerinnen und Schüler in einen Dialog zu Themen wie Konfliktprävention, Friedensaufbau, Abrüstung und Achtung des humanitären Völkerrechts zu treten.
Die Jugend ist eine der Prioritäten des Präsidialjahrs von Bundespräsident Didier Burkhalter, Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten.

Ziel und Thematik des Wettbewerbs
Ziel des Wettbewerbs ist es, die Jugend zu sensibilisieren, zum Nachdenken anzuregen und für einen fruchtbaren Austausch zu gewinnen. Anhand konkreter Aspekte können die Schulklassen in ihren Arbeiten diese entscheidenden Jahre der modernen Welt fassbar machen. Sowohl das Format als auch das Thema der Arbeit sind frei wählbar. Zu möglichen Formaten gehören etwa Text, Blog, Film, Tonaufnahmen und Gemälde. Mögliche Themen, mit denen sich die Klassen auseinandersetzten können, sind etwa ein bestimmtes Ereignis, eine Rede, ein Bild, ein literarisches Werk, ein Musikstück, ein Zeitungsartikel, ein Plan, die persönliche Geschichte eines Familienmitglieds usw. Zum Beispiel:

• Versorgung der Bevölkerung mit Nahrungsmitteln. Was stand auf dem Menuplan?
• Auf welchem Stand waren das Kriegsrecht und das humanitäre Völkerrecht?
• Welche Rolle spielten Ausbildungseinrichtungen und Jugendorganisationen bei der Indoktrinierung junger Männer und deren Kriegsbegeisterung?
• Welche gesellschaftlichen Folgen hatte der Krieg im Alltag?

Der Preis
Eine Fachjury wird die fristgerecht eingereichten Arbeiten unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit prüfen. Pro Sprachregion gewinnt eine Klasse mit der jeweils besten Arbeit eine dreitägige Reise in die Stadt Ypern in Belgien.  Die Stadt Ypern im neutralen Belgien wurde gegen ihren Willen in den Konflikt hineingezogen und gehörte zu den wichtigsten Schauplätzen des Ersten Weltkriegs. Die Stadt wurde weitgehend zerstört, eine halbe Million Menschen starben rund um Ypern. Hier kamen auch erstmals chemische Waffen zum Einsatz. Die Reise findet vom 13. bis 15. November 2014 statt. Am 14. November haben die Gewinnerklassen die Gelegenheit, sich mit dem Bundespräsidenten und Experten über den Ersten Weltkrieg auszutauschen.
Neben dem Hauptgewinn werden zusätzlich, unabhängig der eingereichten Arbeiten, bis zu zehn Schulklassen ausgelost, welche voraussichtlich Anfangs September an einem Besuch der internationalen Schweiz in Genf teilnehmen (Palais des Nations, Internationales Rotkreuzmuseum). Während dieses Besuchs werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler den Bundespräsidenten treffen und sich mit Mitarbeitenden des EDA und der UNO zu Fragen von Krieg und Frieden, Konfliktprävention und humanitäre Verantwortung unterhalten können.
Die teilnehmenden Schulen verpflichten sich, im Falle eines Gewinnes, dass ihre Klassen die  jeweiligen Reisen antreten können. Weitere Bedingung ist ausserdem das Einreichen einer einzigen Arbeit pro Klasse. Die Ergebnisse werden den Schulen direkt mitgeteilt und unter www.unesco.ch veröffentlicht.

Anmeldung und Informationen
Teilnehmende Schulklassen können sich bis zum 31. Mai 2014 für den Wettbewerb anmelden und die Arbeiten inklusive Begleitschreiben bis zum 10. Oktober 2014  einreichen. Das Begleitschreiben darf nicht mehr als zehn Seiten umfassen und soll über den gewählten Ansatz, das Ergebnis der Überlegungen und die Durchführung der Arbeit informieren. Lehrpersonen, welche die Arbeiten leiten, finden zahlreiche Informationsquellen auf dem Internet. Weitere Informationen zum Wettbewerb finden sich auf der Website www.unesco.ch.


Kontakt für Lehrpersonen und Anmeldung:
Lukas Schifferle
E-Mail: info@unesco.ch
Telefon: +41 (0)31 32 31236


Adresse für Rückfragen

Kommunikation EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-52492.html