Federal Council plans to boost biomedical research and technology

Bern, 18.12.2013 - The Federal Council intends to create an optimum environment for biomedical research and technology and continue to support this field by introducing a range of measures in the areas of research, market access, reimbursements and intellectual property. In a comprehensive masterplan it sets out which strategies are to be pursued, which measures have already been taken and those being planned. The masterplan has been drawn up in response to three parliamentary requests.

Biomedical research and technology are drivers of economic growth throughout the world. Switzerland enjoys a strong position in this field as a centre of research and technology. Political stability, an attractive fiscal system, flexible labour laws, an efficient system of education and research and a high degree of innovation all contribute to this success. However, the Federal Council believes that international competition will become tougher over the coming ten to fifteen years.

As part of its strategic objectives in the 2011-2015 legislature planning, the Federal Council therefore intends to introduce a series of measures to boost biomedical research and technology. The focus will be on improving the framework for research, market access, reimbursements and intellectual property.

The Federal Council proposes improving the price setting system for medicines by 2015 and setting up a Health Technology Assessment Agency (HTA) by 2017 to evaluate the performance of existing medical services and assess new innovative treatment methods. It also plans to improve methods to protect against counterfeit and illegal medicines by 2016. The Human Research Act, which will come into force at the beginning of 2014, sets a new framework for research on humans and establishes clearer, simplified procedures for approving and conducting research projects. The new law also makes it easier to conduct clinical studies over several locations.

The Federal Council's masterplan to boost biomedical research and technology has been drawn up in response to three requests from the Federal Assembly: "Secure jobs by making Switzerland a global leader in research, development and production of medical products" (11.3923 Mo.), "Revitalise Switzerland as a research and pharmaceuticals centre" (11.3844 Mo.) and "Strengthen Switzerland as a research and pharmaceuticals centre" (11.3910 Mo.).


Address for enquiries

Communication, Federal Office of Public Health: 031 322 95 05 or media@bag.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Office of Public Health
http://www.bag.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51455.html

Bundesrat will biomedizinische Forschung und Technologie stärken

Bern, 18.12.2013 - Der Bundesrat will für die biomedizinische Forschung und Technologie möglichst gute Rahmenbedingungen erhalten und weiter stärken; dies mit einer Reihe von Massnahmen in den Bereichen Forschung, Marktzugang, Vergütung und geistiges Eigentum. In einem umfassenden Masterplan zeigt der Bundesrat auf, welche Strategie er dabei verfolgt, welche Massnahmen bereits ergriffen wurden und welche geplant sind. Mit dem Masterplan erfüllt der Bundesrat drei parlamentarische Vorstösse.

Weltweit gehört die biomedizinische Forschung und Technologie zu den Treibern des Wirtschaftswachstums. Die Schweiz steht als Standort dieser Forschung und Technologie international sehr gut da. Zu den Erfolgsfaktoren gehören die politische Stabilität, ein attraktives Steuersystem, ein flexibles Arbeitsrecht, ein leistungsfähiges Bildungs- und Forschungswesen und eine hohe Innovationskraft. Der Bundesrat geht indes von einer Verschärfung des internationalen Wettbewerbs in den kommenden zehn bis fünfzehn Jahren aus.

Im Rahmen seiner strategischen Ziele der Legislaturplanung 2011-2015 will der Bundesrat deshalb die biomedizinische Forschung und Technologie mit einer Reihe von Massnahmen stärken. Das Schwergewicht liegt dabei in den Bereichen Rahmenbedingungen für die Forschung, Marktzugang, Vergütung und geistiges Eigentum.

So sieht der Bundesrat unter anderem vor, bis 2015 das Preisfestsetzungssystem für Medikamente weiter zu optimieren und bis 2017 eine Health Technology Assessment Agentur (HTA) einzurichten, die bestehende medizinische Leistungen überprüft und neue innovative Behandlungsangebote beurteilt. Zudem will er bis 2016 den Schutz vor gefälschten und illegalen Heilmitteln verbessern und mit dem Humanforschungsgesetz, das auf Anfang 2014 in Kraft tritt, die Forschung am Menschen neu regeln und einfachere, klarere Abläufe für die Bewilligung und Durchführung von Forschungsprojekten schaffen. Vereinfachungen ergeben sich durch das neue Gesetz auch für klinische Studien, die an mehreren Standorten gleichzeitig durchgeführt werden können.  

Mit dem Masterplan „Massnahmen des Bundes zur Stärkung der biomedizinischen Forschung und Technologie" erfüllt der Bundesrat drei Vorstösse der Eidgenössischen Räte:  „Arbeitsplätze sichern dank weltweit führendem Forschungs-, Entwicklungs- und Produktionsstandort für medizinische Produkte" (11.3923 Mo.), „Revitalisierung der Schweiz als Forschungs- und Pharmastandort" (11.3844 Mo.) und „Stärkung der Schweiz als Forschungszentrum und Pharmastandort" (11.3910 Mo.).


Adresse für Rückfragen

Kommunikation, Bundesamt für Gesundheit: 031 322 95 05 oder media@bag.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Bundesamt für Gesundheit
http://www.bag.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51455.html