EAER launches new series of National Centres of Competence in Research

Bern, 17.12.2013 - During a press conference in Bern today Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann announced the creation of eight new National Centres of Competence in Research (NCCR). They will be set up with the long term support of the respective university management at the universities of Basel, Bern (2), Fribourg, Geneva and Neuchâtel, as well as at the EPF Lausanne and the ETH Zurich. In addition, the University of Geneva and the ETH Zurich (3) will be involved in four of the new NCCRs as Co-Leading Houses. Between 2014 and 2017 the Confederation is investing around CHF 30 million a year in the National Centres of Competence in Research.

The creation of the new National Centres of Competence in Research is the result of the call for proposals by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) started in 2011, which received a total of 60 applications. Following a scientific assessment of the applications by the SNSF, the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research EAER decided to create eight new NCCRs. In addition to scientific quality, they also fulfil the extremely important criterion of long term support in the development plans of the applicant higher education institutions.

The new National Centres of Competence in Research are as follows:

  • NCCR PlanetS
    Prof. Willy Benz, University of Bern (Co-Leading House: University of Geneva)
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 17.6 million^
  • NCCR On the Move: The Migration-Mobility Nexus
    Prof. Gianni D'Amato, University of Neuchâtel
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 17.2 million
  • NCCR Digital Fabrication - Advanced Building Processes in Architecture
    Prof. Matthias Daniel Kohler, ETH Zurich
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 13.4 million
  • NCCR Materials' Revolution: Computational Design and Discovery of Novel Materials (MARVEL)
    Prof. Nicola Marzari, ETH Lausanne
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 18 million
  • NCCR Molecular Systems Engineering
    Prof. Wolfgang Meier, University of Basel (Co-Leading House: ETH Zurich)
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 16.9 million
  • NCCR RNA & Disease: Understanding the Role of RNA Biology in
    Disease Mechanisms
    Prof. Oliver Mühlemann, University of Bern (Co-Leading House: ETH Zurich)
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 16.6 million
  • NCCR The Mathematics of Physics - SwissMAP
    Prof. Stanislav Smirnov, University of Geneva (Co-Leading House: ETH Zurich)
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 11.2 million
  • NCCR Centre for Bio-Inspired Stimuli-Responsive Materials
    Prof. Christoph Weder, University of Fribourg
    Federal funding 2014 - 2017: CHF 12 million

Through the National Centres of Competence in Research, the Confederation has been supporting research networks of the highest quality, with particular emphasis on interdisciplinary and new innovative approaches within disciplines since 2001. With the new NCCRs there will be a total 21 National Centres of Competence in Research as of 2014. They will benefit from a significant level of federal funding over a period of up to twelve years.

Under the established procedure the Swiss National Science Foundation, together with foreign experts, regularly monitors the progress of the individual NCCRs. The resulting picture is extremely positive: National Centres of Competence in Research produce gains in terms of scientific findings and sustainable renewal of research structures in higher education institutions. Furthermore, they improve the division of labour and coordination among national research institutions, enhance equal opportunities and drive knowledge and technology transfer.


Address for enquiries

Gregor Haefliger, State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation SERI,
Head, National Research Division, Tel. +41 (0)31 322 96 76



Publisher

Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51452.html

WBF lanciert neue Serie Nationaler Forschungsschwerpunkte

Bern, 17.12.2013 - Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider-Ammann hat heute in Bern im Rahmen einer Medienkonferenz die Lancierung von acht neuen Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkten (NFS) bekannt gegeben. Diese werden mit langfristiger Unterstützung der jeweiligen Hochschulleitungen an den Universitäten Basel, Bern (2), Freiburg, Genf, Neuenburg sowie der ETH Lausanne und der ETH Zürich eingerichtet. Die Universität Genf und die ETH Zürich (3) engagieren sich zudem bei vier der neuen NFS als Co-Leading House. Der Bund investiert 2014 bis 2017 Mittel in der Höhe von jährlich rund 30 Millionen Franken in die neuen Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkte.

Die Lancierung der neuen Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkte ist das Ergebnis einer 2011 gestarteten Ausschreibung durch den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF), auf welche insgesamt gut 60 Gesuche eingegangen waren. Nach der wissenschaftlichen Prüfung durch den SNF hat das Eidgenössische Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung WBF die Lancierung von acht neuen NFS beschlossen. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Qualität erfüllen diese zusätzlich in hohem Masse auch das besonders wichtige Kriterium einer langfristigen Abstützung in den Entwicklungsplanungen der sich bewerbenden Hochschulen.

Lanciert wurden folgende Nationale Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • NFS PlanetS
    Prof. Willy Benz, Universität Bern (Co-Leading House: Universität Genf)
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 17,6 Mio. CHF
  • NFS On the Move: The Migration-Mobility Nexus
    Prof. Gianni D'Amato, Universität Neuenburg
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 17,2 Mio. CHF
  • NFS Digital Fabrication - Advanced Building Processes in Architecture
    Prof. Matthias Daniel Kohler, ETH Zürich
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 13,4 Mio. CHF
  • NFS Materials' Revolution: Computational Design and Discovery of Novel Materials (MARVEL)
    Prof. Nicola Marzari, ETH Lausanne
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 18 Mio. CHF
  • NFS Molecular Systems Engineering
    Prof. Wolfgang Meier, Universität Basel (Co-Leading House: ETH Zürich)
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 16,9 Mio. CHF
  • NFS RNA & Disease: Understanding the Role of RNA Biology in
    Disease Mechanisms
    Prof. Oliver Mühlemann, Universität Bern (Co-Leading House: ETH Zürich)
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 16,6 Mio. CHF
  • NFS The Mathematics of Physics - SwissMAP
    Prof. Stanislav Smirnov, Universität Genf (Co-Leading House: ETH Zürich)
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 11,2 Mio. CHF
  • NFS Center for Bio-Inspired Stimuli-Responsive Materials
    Prof. Christoph Weder, Universität Freiburg
    Bundesmittel 2014 bis 2017: 12 Mio. CHF

Mit den Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkten fördert der Bund seit dem Jahr 2001 Forschungsnetzwerke von höchster Qualität, mit besonderer Gewichtung interdisziplinärer Ansätze, aber auch neuer, innovativer Fragestellungen innerhalb einzelner Disziplinen. Mit den neuen NFS sind ab 2014 insgesamt 21 Nationale Forschungsschwerpunkte installiert. Sie erhalten über eine Laufzeit von maximal zwölf Jahren bedeutende Bundesmittel.

Gemäss etabliertem Verfahren prüft der Schweizerische Nationalfonds unter Beizug von ausländischen Expertinnen und Experten regelmässig den Fortschritt der einzelnen NFS. Hierbei ergibt sich ein sehr positives Bild: Nationale Forschungsschwerpunkte führen zur Gewinnung neuer Erkenntnisse und zur nachhaltigen Erneuerung der Forschungsstrukturen an den Hochschulen. Weiter verbessern sie die Arbeitsteilung und Koordination unter den nationalen Forschungsinstitutionen, begünstigen Gleichstellungsanliegen und treiben den Wissens- und Technologietransfer voran.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Gregor Haefliger, Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation SBFI,
Leiter Abteilung Nationale Forschung, Tel. +41 (0)31 322 96 76


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung
http://www.wbf.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 15.09.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51452.html