Upcoming OSCE chairmanship: Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter to represent Switzerland at the OSCE Ministerial Council in Kiev

Bern, 04.12.2013 - Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter will take part in the Ministerial Council of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) in Kiev on 5 and 6 December. The two-day conference of the foreign ministers of the 57 OSCE member states is the culmination of the Ukrainian chairmanship of the OSCE and marks the transition to Switzerland's chairmanship, which will begin on 1 January 2014. With its chairmanship of the OSCE in 2014, Switzerland will strengthen its commitment to stability in Europe, its neighbouring regions and the rest of the world.

As every year, in 2013 the Ministerial Council – the central decision-making management body of the OSCE – is taking place in the country that currently holds the chairmanship.  Accordingly, on 5 and 6 December 2013 the foreign ministers of the 57 member states of the OSCE will meet in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine.

From Switzerland's perspective, the conference in Kiev is especially significant, as it is the last major official event of the Ukrainian OSCE chairmanship before Switzerland takes over the chairmanship of the organisation on 1 January 2014. Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter, head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), will therefore participate in Kiev in two capacities: as Switzerland's foreign minister, he will represent Switzerland, and at the same time he will participate in the Ministerial Council as the next chairman-in-office of the OSCE. In this capacity, on Friday 6 December he will deliver the statement of the incoming chair at the final meeting this year of the Ministerial Council, and will also explain the priorities of the Swiss chairmanship.

Under the leitmotif of "a security community for the benefit of everyone", Switzerland will set three priorities for its chairmanship of the OSCE:

  • Promote security and stability: Through dialogue and confidence-building efforts, Switzerland wants to contribute to solving conflicts, particularly in the Western Balkans and the South Caucasus. In addition, Switzerland supports agreements to facilitate transparency and reforms in the security forces.
  • Improve people's living conditions: Switzerland wants to contribute to ensuring that all OSCE states fulfil their obligations to protect and respect human rights (key words: prevention of torture, human rights in counter-terrorism, free and democratic elections, protection of human rights defenders and respect for the rights of persons belonging to minorities). It wants to help ensure more efficient natural disaster prevention and management in the region.
  • Strengthen the OSCE's capacity to act: Switzerland supports the current reform process to enable the OSCE to respond more rapidly and efficiently to future crises, among other things through the further development of mediation capacities. Another important objective of Switzerland's chairmanship will be to regularly involve civil society and young people in the OSCE's activities.


2014 Ministerial Council in Basel

As part of the OSCE chairmanship next year, Switzerland will host the Ministerial Council in Basel at the beginning of December, 2014. Switzerland first held the chairmanship in 1996 and is the only country to chair the organisation twice. By assuming the chairmanship, Switzerland is stepping up its commitment to stability in Europe, its neighbouring regions and the world, and is thereby implementing one of the strategic priorities of its foreign policy. A new development is the joint work programme Switzerland has elaborated with Serbia, which will take over the chairmanship of the OSCE in 2015. This consecutive and coordinated chairmanship format will strengthen the continuity of the OSCE’s work. Nevertheless, Switzerland will carry out its chairmanship under its own responsibility in 2014, as will Serbia in 2015.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Communication
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51233.html

Vor der Übernahme des OSZE-Vorsitzes: Bundesrat Didier Burkhalter vertritt die Schweiz beim OSZE-Ministerrat in Kiew

Bern, 04.12.2013 - Bundesrat Didier Burkhalter wird am 5. und 6. Dezember am Ministerrat der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit (OSZE) in Kiew teilnehmen. Die zweitägige Konferenz der Aussenminister der 57 OSZE-Teilnehmerstaaten bildet den Höhepunkt der ukrainischen Präsidentschaft der Organisation und leitet zugleich den Übergang zum OSZE-Vorsitz der Schweiz ein, der am 1. Januar 2014 beginnt. Mit der OSZE-Präsidentschaft 2014 verstärkt die Schweiz ihr Engagement für die Stabilität in Europa, in seinen Nachbarregionen und in der Welt.

Wie jedes Jahr findet auch 2013 der Ministerrat, das zentrale Beschluss- und Leitungsgremium der OSZE, im Land der amtierenden Präsidentschaft statt: Am 5. und 6. Dezember 2013 treffen sich deshalb die Aussenministerinnen und Aussenminister der 57 Teilnehmerstaaten der OSZE in Kiew, der Hauptstadt der Ukraine.

Aus Schweizer Sicht hat die Konferenz in Kiew eine besondere Bedeutung: Sie bildet das letzte grosse offizielle Ereignis der ukrainischen OSZE-Präsidentschaft, bevor am 1. Januar 2014 die Schweiz den Vorsitz der Organisation übernehmen wird. Bundesrat Didier Burkhalter, der Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten EDA wird in Kiew deshalb zwei Funktionen einnehmen: Er wird als Aussenminister die Schweiz im Ministerrat vertreten, zugleich wird er als nächster Vorsitzender der OSZE in Erscheinung treten. In dieser Funktion wird er zum Beispiel am Freitag bei der Abschlusssitzung des diesjährigen Ministerrats das Statement des „Incoming Chair“ halten, bei der er auch die Prioritäten der Schweizer Präsidentschaft erläutern wird.

Während ihrer OSZE-Präsidentschaft setzt die Schweiz unter dem Leitmotiv „Eine Sicherheitsgemeinschaft im Dienste der Menschen schaffen“ drei Schwerpunkte:

  • Sicherheit und Stabilität fördern: Durch Dialog und Vertrauensbildung will die Schweiz einen Beitrag zur Lösung von Konflikten leisten, namentlich auf dem Westbalkan und im Südkaukasus. Darüber hinaus unterstützt sie Vereinbarungen für mehr Transparenz und Reformen bei den Sicherheitskräften.
  • Lebensbedingungen der Menschen verbessern: Die Schweiz will dazu beitragen, dass alle OSZE-Staaten ihre Verpflichtungen zu Schutz und Achtung der Menschenrechte umsetzen (Stichworte: Folterprävention, Menschenrechte in der Terrorismusbekämpfung, freie und demokratische Wahlen, Schutz von Menschenrechtsverteidigern und die Einhaltung der Rechte von Personen, die nationalen Minderheiten angehören). Sie will dazu beitragen, dass in der Region effizienter zur Prävention und an der Bewältigung von Naturkatastrophen gearbeitet werden kann.
  • Handlungsfähigkeit der OSZE stärken: Die Schweiz unterstützt den laufenden Reformprozess, damit die OSZE künftig rascher und effizienter auf Krisen reagieren kann, unter anderem durch den weiteren Aufbau von Mediationskapazitäten. Der Schweiz ist es auch ein Anliegen, während ihrer Präsidentschaft die Zivilgesellschaft und die Jugend einzubeziehen.


Ministerrat 2014 in Basel

Als Teil der OSZE-Präsidentschaft der Schweiz, die als erstes Land überhaupt den Vorsitz der Organisation zum zweiten Mal innehaben wird (nach 1996), wird der Ministerrat 2014 anfangs Dezember in Basel stattfinden. Mit der Übernahme des Vorsitzes verstärkt die Schweiz ihr Engagement für die Stabilität in Europa, in seinen Nachbarregionen und in der Welt und setzt somit eine der strategischen Prioritäten ihrer Aussenpolitik um. Eine Neuerung ist dabei, dass die Schweiz mit Serbien, das 2015 den Vorsitz der OSZE führen wird, ein gemeinsames Arbeitsprogramm ausgearbeitet hat. Durch dieses konsekutive und koordinierte Vorsitzformat wird die Kontinuität der Arbeit im Rahmen der OSZE verstärkt. Die Schweiz und Serbien werden aber ihre Präsidentschaft 2014 bzw. 2015 ihre jeweils in eigener Verantwortung ausführen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-51233.html