Switzerland sends emergency aid to the Philippines

Bern, 11.11.2013 - Following the devastation of vast swathes of the Philippines caused by typhoon Haiyan, Switzerland is sending a first consignment of emergency aid comprising medical supplies and water treatment materials to the disaster area. Members of the FDFA's disaster response pool are providing support to the Swiss embassy in Manila, helping to establish contact with Swiss nationals in the area.

Operations management of Swiss Humanitarian Aid have decided to send a consignment of emergency aid to the disaster area. The eight-tonne shipment will leave Switzerland on 11 November, and will mainly comprise materials for water treatment and distribution, including several large tanks for drinking water, equipment for disinfection and distribution systems.

The shipment will also include material to cover basic medical care for 10,000 people for three months, which will be provided to existing medical structures (e.g. a hospital affected by the destruction).

Already at the weekend Swiss Humanitarian Aid deployed a team of experts of the Swiss Humanitarian Aid Unit to the disaster area in order to assess the needs of the population affected by the typhoon, with the support of the Swiss embassy in Manila, and initiate Swiss emergency aid in close coordination with national and international partners. The deployment of another five corps members - two water experts and three logisticians - is scheduled for the 12th November.

The Swiss embassy in Manila is also being supported by two members of the FDFA's disaster response pool, who are especially trained in crisis management. They are helping the embassy to assess the situation and the support requirements for Swiss nationals in the disaster area.

Typhoon Haiyan struck on 8 November 2013, taking thousands of lives and affecting millions more. President of the Swiss Confederation Ueli Maurer and head of the FDFA Didier Burkhalter have sent their condolences to the people and government of the Philippines.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50907.html

Schweiz sendet Hilfsgüter in die Philippinen

Bern, 11.11.2013 - Nach der Verwüstung grosser Teile der Philippinen durch den Wirbelsturm Haiyan sendet die Schweiz eine erste Hilfslieferung mit medizischen Gütern und Material zur Wasseraufbereitung ins Katastrophengebiet. Ausserdem erhält die Schweizer Botschaft in Manila Unterstützung durch Mitglieder des Kriseneinsatzpools des EDA. Sie sollen bei der Kontaktnahme mit Schweizer Staatsangehörigen helfen.

Die Einsatzleitung der Humanitären Hilfe der Schweiz hat beschlossen, eine Hilfslieferung ins Katastrophengebiet zu senden. Die Lieferung im Umfang von acht Tonnen wird noch am 11. November die Schweiz verlassen. Der Grossteil besteht aus Material zur Wasseraufbereitung und –verteilung. Dazu gehören mehrere grosse Trinkwassertanks, Vorrichtungen zur Desinfektion und Verteilsysteme.

Die Lieferung enthält zudem Material zur medizinischen Grundversorgung von 10’000 Personen während drei Monaten. Dieses Material soll bestehenden medizinischen Infrastrukturen (z.B. einem von der Zerstörung betroffenen Spital) zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Bereits am Wochenende hat die Humanitäre Hilfe des Bundes mehrere Experten des Schweizerischen Korps für humanitäre Hilfe (SKH) ins Katastrophengebiet entsandt, um mit Unterstützung des Schweizer Botschafters in Manila die Bedürfnisse der vom Taifun heimgesuchten Bevölkerung abzuklären und die Nothilfe der Schweiz in enger Koordination mit den nationalen und internationalen Akteuren einzuleiten. Die Entsendung von weiteren fünf Korpsangehörigen – zwei Wasserspezialisten und drei Logistikern – ist für den 12. November vorgesehen.

Ausserdem erhält die Schweizer Botschaft in Manila Unterstützung durch Mitglieder des Kriseneinsatzpools (KEP) des EDA. Es handelt sich um zwei speziell für den Kriseneinsatz geschulte Mitarbeitende des EDA. Diese helfen der Botschaft, die Situation und allfällige Unterstützungsbedürfnisse der Schweizer Staatsbürger im Krisengebiet abzuklären.

Der Wirbelsturm Haiyan hat am 8. November 2013 Tausende von Menschenleben gefordert und weitere Millionen Menschen in Mitleidenschaft gezogen. Bundespräsident Ueli Maurer und EDA-Vorsteher Didier Burkhalter haben der philippinischen Regierung und dem philippinischen Volk kondoliert.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50907.html