The FDFA and the European External Action Service institutionalise their ministerial-level dialogue

Bern, 17.10.2013 - On 17 October 2013, Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter received Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the European Commission, on an official working visit to Switzerland. Mr Burkhalter and Lady Ashton agreed to institutionalise the ministerial-level dialogue between the European External Action Service (EEAS) and the FDFA.

Lady Ashton’s official working visit followed the Iran conference in Geneva which took place at the beginning of the week. Mr Burkhalter and Lady Ashton discussed the outcomes of the conference. Both Switzerland and the EU are in favour of a diplomatic solution to the nuclear dispute.

The meeting in Neuchâtel provided the opportunity for an exchange on current international and security policy issues, Switzerland's 2014 chairmanship of the OSCE, the major dossiers concerning bilateral relations between Switzerland and the EU, and cooperation at the multilateral level on development and human rights policy, as well as International Geneva.

Switzerland has long advocated a political solution to the Syrian crisis and therefore supports the Geneva Declaration of 30 June 2012, which is still the only proposal for a negotiated peaceful resolution of this conflict. Mr Burkhalter also spoke to Lady Ashton about the most recent developments with regard to the conference on Syria which is scheduled to take place in November in Geneva. The aim of the conference is to seek a long-term solution to enable political transition that responds to the legitimate aspirations of all sections of Syrian society.

The discussion also touched upon development in Egypt. Switzerland advocates the launch of a dialogue between all of Egypt's political and social groups.  This dialogue must take place on a democratic basis.

Furthermore, Mr Burkhalter informed Lady Ashton of Switzerland's priorities for its chairmanship of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) in 2014. These include promoting security and stability, improving people's living conditions and strengthening the OSCE's capacity to act. The overall theme of Switzerland's chairmanship is "Creating a Security Community for the Benefit of Everyone".

Mr Burkhalter and Lady Ashton also discussed the status of the dossier concerning institutional issues between Switzerland and the EU. The ongoing consultation on the draft mandate for negotiations was also mentioned, as was the medium-term strategy, which encompasses all of the current dossiers concerning Switzerland's European policy. In light of progress in all of these negotiations, the Federal Council will decide on a possible renewal of the enlargement contribution to the reduction of economic and social disparities within the EU.


For further details:

Jean-Marc Crevoisier
FDFA Information
079 / 763 84 10
jean-marc.crevoisier@eda.admin.ch


Address for enquiries

FDFA Communication
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA


Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50627.html

Das EDA und der Europäische Auswärtige Dienst institutionalisieren ihren Dialog auf Ministerebene

Bern, 17.10.2013 - Am 17. Oktober 2013 hat Bundesrat Didier Burkhalter die Hohe Vertreterin der Europäischen Union für Aussen- und Sicherheitspolitik und Vizepräsidentin der Europäischen Kommission, Catherine Ashton, zu einem offiziellen Arbeitsbesuch empfangen. Bundesrat Burkhalter und die EU-Aussenbeauftragte Ashton haben sich darauf geeinigt, den Dialog zwischen dem Europäischen Auswärtigen Dienst (EAD) und dem EDA auf Ministerebene zu institutionalisieren.

Der offizielle Arbeitsbesuch von Lady Ashton erfolgte im Anschluss an die Iran-Konferenz in Genf von Anfang dieser Woche. Der Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) Didier Burkhalter und Catherine Ashton diskutierten die Ergebnisse. Sowohl die Schweiz wie die EU unterstützen eine diplomatische Lösung im Nuklearstreit.

Das Treffen in Neuenburg erlaubte ausserdem einen Austausch über aktuelle internationale und sicherheitspolitische Themen, die Schweizer OSZE-Präsidentschaft 2014, die wichtigsten Dossiers in den bilateralen Beziehungen Schweiz – EU sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit der EU auf multilateraler Ebene in den Bereichen Entwicklungs- und Menschenrechtspolitik sowie Internationales Genf.

Im Syrien-Konflikt setzt sich die Schweiz für eine politische Lösung ein und unterstützt deshalb die Genfer Erklärung vom 30. Juni 2012, die nach wie vor der einzige Vorschlag für eine friedliche Verhandlungslösung zur Beilegung des Konflikts darstellt. Bundesrat Burkhalter besprach mit Catherine Ashton die letzten Entwicklungen im Hinblick auf die Konferenz zu Syrien, die im November in Genf geplant ist. Sie soll auf eine dauerhafte Lösung hinzielen, welche eine politische Transition ermöglicht, die dem legitimen Streben aller Gemeinschaften des syrischen Volks Rechnung trägt.

Weiteres angesprochenes Thema war die Entwicklung  in Ägypten. Die Schweiz setzt sich dafür ein, dass in Ägypten ein Dialog unter allen politischen, aber auch sozialen Bewegungen des Landes stattfindet. Dieser muss auf demokratischer Basis begründet sein.

Darüber hinaus orientierte Bundesrat Burkhalter seine Gesprächspartnerin über die Schwerpunkte der Schweizer Präsidentschaft der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa (OSZE) 2014. Die Schwerpunkte betreffen die Förderung der Sicherheit und Stabilität, die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der Menschen wie auch der Handlungsfähigkeit der OSZE. Die Schweiz führt ihren Vorsitz unter dem Motto „Eine Sicherheitsgemeinschaft im Dienste der Menschen schaffen“.

Bundesrat Burkhalter und die EU-Aussenbeauftragte Ashton sprachen auch über den Stand des Dossiers der institutionellen Fragen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU. Die laufende Konsultation zum Entwurf des Verhandlungsmandats war ebenso ein Thema, wie die mittelfristige Strategie, welche die Gesamtheit der aktuellen europapolitischen Dossiers umfasst. Im Licht der Fortschritte all dieser Verhandlungen wird der Bundesrat über eine allfällige Erneuerung des Erweiterungsbeitrags zur Reduzierung der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Ungleichheiten in der erweiterten EU entscheiden.


Für Rückfragen:

Jean-Marc Crevoisier
Informationsdienst EDA
079 / 763 84 10
jean-marc.crevoisier@eda.admin.ch


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: info@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50627.html