FDFA strategy 2013-2016 on the universal abolition of the death penalty

Bern, 10.10.2013 - The Federal Council was presented with the strategy of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) on the universal abolition of the death penalty during its meeting of 9 October 2013. This action plan targets the global abolition of capital punishment by the year 2025. Some 58 states and territories have still not removed this sentence from their legislation.

Switzerland is opposed to the death sentence in all circumstances. This punishment is incompatible with respect for human rights as it constitutes a violation of the right to life. The majority of states are opposed to capital punishment and the global tendency confirms this trend. The circumstances surrounding the death penalty violate human dignity and the right of every human being not to be subjected to torture or other cruel, inhuman or degrading punishment or treatment. In short, capital punishment constitutes the definitive and irreversible negation of all rights.

Often a reflection of discrimination, the death penalty can also strike the innocent. Moreover, it has no more of a dissuasive effect than do other heavy sentences. It does not provide any improvement in security, nor does it serve the cause of justice or provide redress for the families of the victims.

Four subsidiary objectives

The primary goal of the FDFA strategy is the worldwide abolition of the death penalty by the year 2025. To this end, it envisages four subsidiary objectives adapted to a variety of concrete situations that currently exist in the world. First, the states and territories that still apply capital punishment are encouraged to establish a moratorium de jure – or as an initial step de facto – with a view to complete abolition. Second, Switzerland intends to undertake initiatives for retentionist states and territories to reduce to a minimum the number of offences punishable by the death sentence or, in a general manner, the number of death sentences pronounced. Third, Switzerland will encourage these countries to respect the minimum norms with respect to human rights in applying the death penalty. Finally, the strategy seeks to strengthen the existing regulatory framework by working at the multilateral level to encourage the states to ratify the relevant international instruments applicable.

To reach these objectives, Switzerland plans to step up its involvement at the multilateral level (UN General Assembly, Human Rights Council, OSCE, and Council of Europe). It also intends to enhance its bilateral action by establishing a policy for launching diplomatic initiatives related to the death penalty on a more regular basis. Finally, it plans to step up its efforts to support civil society in its campaign to raise public awareness through specific projects, and to capitalise to the maximum on the potential synergies existing between the different stakeholders engaged in the fight for abolition, i.e., NGOs, parliamentary networks, and other intergovernmental partners such as the International Commission against the Death Penalty, whose Secretariat is in Geneva and whose members include former Federal Councillor Ruth Dreifuss.

Joint appeal

The publication of this strategy 2013-2016 coincides with the 11th World Day against the Death Penalty, celebrated on 10 October 2013. As in 2012, Switzerland and its five neighbouring countries met once again this year to formulate a joint appeal published in several newspapers in Switzerland and abroad. This year’s appeal differs from that launched last year in that it brings together 42 co-signatory ministers of foreign affairs representing states members of the Council of Europe that have ratified Protocol 13 of the European Convention on Human Rights, namely the Protocol concerning the abolition of the death penalty in all circumstances. In the future, Switzerland intends to continue and enlarge the geographic scope of these 10 October joint appeals so as to involve even more countries and individuals in the campaign against the death penalty until it has been fully abolished all over the world.


Address for enquiries

Information FDFA
+41 (0)31 322 31 53



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50548.html

EDA-Strategie für die weltweite Abschaffung der Todesstrafe 2013–2016

Bern, 10.10.2013 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 9. Oktober 2013 die Strategie des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) für die weltweite Abschaffung der Todesstrafe zur Kenntnis genommen. Mit diesem Aktionsplan soll die Todesstrafe bis 2025 weltweit abgeschafft werden. Zur Erinnerung: 58 Staaten und Territorien haben diese Strafe noch nicht abgeschafft.

Die Schweiz ist gegen die Todesstrafe und zwar unter allen Umständen. Diese Strafe ist unvereinbar mit der Achtung der Menschenrechte, denn sie stellt eine Verletzung des Rechts auf Leben dar. Die Mehrheit der Staaten lehnt die Todesstrafe ab, und der weltweite Trend geht in diese Richtung. Die Umstände, die mit der Anwendung der Todesstrafe verbunden sind, verletzen die menschliche Würde und das Recht jedes Menschen auf Freiheit vor Folter und vor anderer grausamer, unmenschlicher oder erniedrigender Behandlung oder Strafe. Schliesslich stellt die Todesstrafe eine definitive und irreversible Negierung jeglichen Rechts dar.

Die Todesstrafe ist häufig Ausdruck von Diskriminierung und kann auch Unschuldige treffen. Sie hat keine abschreckendere Wirkung als andere schwere Strafen. Sie trägt nicht zu mehr Sicherheit bei, und für die Familien der Opfer bringt sie weder Gerechtigkeit noch Wiedergutmachung.

Vier Unterziele

Das Hauptziel der EDA-Strategie ist die weltweite Abschaffung der Todesstrafe bis 2025.. Vier Unterziele markieren den Weg dahin: Erstens sollen die Staaten und Territorien, die die Todesstrafe noch anwenden, ermutigt werden, im Hinblick auf eine vollständige Abschaffung ein De-jure-Moratorium – oder in einem ersten Schritt ein De-facto-Moratorium – zu erlassen. Zweitens will sich die Schweiz dafür einsetzen, dass die Staaten und Territorien mit Todesstrafe die Anzahl der Kapitalverbrechen soweit als möglich reduzieren oder dass ganz allgemein die Zahl der ausgesprochenen Todesurteile zurückgeht. Drittens wird die Schweiz alles unternehmen, damit diese Länder bei der Anwendung der Todesstrafe die Mindestnormen im Bereich der Menschenrechte einhalten. Schliesslich soll mit der Strategie des EDA der bestehende normative Rahmen verstärkt werden, namentlich durch ein Engagement in den multilateralen Organisationen. Zusätzlich sollen die Staaten angehalten werden, die einschlägigen, internationalen Übereinkommen zu ratifizieren.

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, wird sich die Schweiz noch stärker in den multilateralen Organisationen (UNO-Generalversammlung, Menschenrechtsrat, OSZE, Europarat) einbringen. Gleichzeitig wird sie ihre bilateralen Aktivitäten ausbauen und regelmässig Demarchen im Bereich der Todesstrafe unternehmen. Schliesslich wird sie auch ihre Unterstützung zugunsten der Zivilgesellschaft verdoppeln. Die Öffentlichkeit soll mit Hilfe gezielter Projekte sensibilisiert werden, und es sollen mögliche Synergien unter den verschiedenen Akteuren, die sich für die Abschaffung einsetzen, genutzt werden. Dazu gehören NGO, parlamentarische Netzwerke und zwischenstaatliche Partner wie die Internationale Kommission gegen die Todesstrafe. Das Sekretariat dieser Kommission, zu deren Mitgliedern u.a. alt Bundesrätin Ruth Dreifuss gehört, befindet sich in Genf.

Gemeinsamer Aufruf

Die Veröffentlichung dieser Strategie 2013-2016 fällt mit dem 11. Internationalen Tag gegen die Todesstrafe zusammen, der jeweils am 10. Oktober begangen wird. Wie bereits 2012 haben sich die Schweiz und ihre fünf Nachbarländer zusammengeschlossen, um gemeinsam einen Aufruf zu verfassen, der in verschiedenen Zeitungen im In- und Ausland veröffentlicht wird. Der Aufruf 2013 unterscheidet sich jedoch vom letztjährigen Appell: Dieses Mal wird er von 42 Aussenministern mitunterzeichnet. Sie vertreten die Mitgliedstaaten des Europarats, die das Protokoll 13 der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention (Protokoll bezüglich der Abschaffung der Todesstrafe unter allen Umständen) ratifiziert haben. Die Schweiz will diese gemeinsamen Aufrufe vom 10. Oktober auch in Zukunft fortsetzen und ausbauen mit dem Ziel, immer mehr Länder und Einzelpersonen für den Kampf gegen die Todesstrafe zu gewinnen – und dies bis zu ihrer vollständigen Abschaffung auf der ganzen Welt.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
+41 (0)31 322 31 53



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-50548.html