Europe: Federal Council submits draft institutional terms of reference for consultation

Bern, 21.08.2013 - Last June the Federal Council instructed the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) to draw up draft terms of reference for negotiations with the European Union on institutional matters. Today the Federal Council adopted the draft and sent it to the Foreign Affairs Committees and the cantons. The social partners are being informed.

The bilateral approach remains the best instrument of European policy Switzerland has at its disposal to defend its interests with respect to the EU, which continues to be Switzerland's most important trading partner by far. Based on a matrix of around 20 or so main bilateral agreements and about 100 other sectoral agreements, it ensures access for Swiss business to the single European market. On a number of occasions the Federal Council has reaffirmed the validity of this approach as best suited to defending Switzerland's interests. The bilateral approach has also regularly enjoyed the support of the Swiss electorate and the cantons, often winning a majority in referendums.

In order to preserve what Switzerland has gained, the bilateral approach must be renewed, taking care to safeguard Swiss independence and prosperity, as well as ensuring access to the market. Discussions at the national level and with our European partners have enabled this country to outline a number of technical and legal solutions. Based on one of those options, in June last year the Federal Council instructed the FDFA to draw up draft terms of reference for negotiations. Today the Federal Council confirmed its decision from last June and is submitting the draft terms of reference to the Foreign Affairs Committees and the cantons. The social partners are being informed.

Institutional issues
The solution chosen by the Federal Council does not entail setting up any new supranational institution. It ensures the homogeneity of applicable law while preserving Switzerland's autonomy as a non-EU Member State. Each party will monitor implementation of the agreement by its authorities on its own territory, while the joint committee will provide general supervision of the agreement's implementation. Questions of interpreting EU law cited in a bilateral agreement may if required be brought before the Court of Justice of the European Union, either by Switzerland or the EU. Based on the Court’s interpretation, it would then be up to the joint committee to find a mutually acceptable solution. If none can be found, proportionate compensatory measures might be taken, up to and including the suspension of all or part of the agreement concerned.

Likewise, the solution chosen does not entail automatic adoption of the acquis communautaire. Incorporation of any new acquis in a bilateral agreement must be decided by Switzerland in full accordance with its domestic procedures. Finally, any future institutional agreement may not alter the nature or scope of existing agreements between Switzerland and the EU. Thus, for example, as regards the agreement on the free movement of persons, there would be no adoption of the EU's citizenship directive. It is ensured that Switzerland can maintain the accompanying measures within the framework of the free movement of persons.

Next steps
The draft terms of reference – which contain the objectives and directives for negotiations to which the Swiss delegation must adhere – have been submitted for consultation to the Foreign Affairs Committees and the cantons. The social partners are being informed. The results of the consultation will be submitted to the Federal Council for the adoption of definitive terms of reference. If negotiations go ahead and are successful, Parliament and the Swiss people will have an opportunity to express their views.

 


Address for enquiries

Jean-Marc Crevoisier
FDFA Information
+41 79 763 84 10
jean-marc.crevoisier@eda.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-49947.html

Europa: Bundesrat schickt Entwurf für ein Verhandlungsmandat über institutionelle Fragen in die Konsultation

Bern, 21.08.2013 - Im Juni beauftragte der Bundesrat das Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), einen Entwurf für ein Verhandlungsmandat mit der Europäischen Union im institutionellen Bereich zu erarbeiten. Der Bundesrat hat heute den Mandatsentwurf verabschiedet und schickt ihn in die Konsultation bei den Aussenpolitischen Kommissionen und den Kantonen. Die Sozialpartner werden informiert.

Der bilaterale Weg bleibt vorderhand das europapolitische Instrument, das es der Schweiz am besten ermöglicht, ihre Interessen gegenüber der EU wahrzunehmen, ihrem mit Abstand wichtigsten Handelspartner. Auf der Basis  von rund 20 Hauptabkommen und 100 sektoriellen Abkommen sichert der bilaterale Weg den schweizerischen Wirtschaftakteuren den Zugang zum europäischen Binnenmarkt. Der Bundesrat hat wiederholt bestätigt, dass er an diesem Weg festhalten will, weil er überzeugt ist, dass die Schweiz ihre Interessen auch künftig am besten auf diesem Weg verteidigen  kann. Der bilaterale Weg wird zudem regelmässig von der Schweizer Bevölkerung und den Kantonen unterstützt und fand bei Abstimmungen wiederholt eine Mehrheit.

Wenn die Schweiz ihre bisherigen Errungenschaften schützen will, braucht es eine Erneuerung  des bilateralen Wegs, unter Bewahrung der  Unabhängigkeit und des Wohlstands der Schweiz sowie der Sicherung des Marktzugangs. Im Rahmen von Gesprächen auf schweizerischer und europäischer Ebene konnten verschiedene aus technischer und juristischer Sicht mögliche Lösungswege skizziert werden. Auf der Basis einer dieser Optionen beauftragte der Bundesrat im vergangenen Juni das Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), einen Entwurf für ein Verhandlungsmandat auszuarbeiten. Der Bundesrat hat heute seinen Entscheid vom Juni bekräftigt und schickt nun den Mandatsentwurf in die Konsultation bei den Aussenpolitischen Kommissionen und   den Kantonen. Die Sozialpartner werden informiert

Institutionelle Fragen
Die vom Bundesrat gewählte Lösung verzichtet auf die Schaffung  neuer supranationaler Institutionen. Sie gewährleistet gleichzeitig sowohl eine einheitliche Anwendung des geltenden Rechts als auch die Unabhängigkeit der Schweiz als Nicht-EU-Mitglied. Jede Partei überwacht auf ihrem Staatsgebiet mit ihren Behörden die Umsetzung der Abkommen, der Gemischte Ausschuss übernimmt die allgemeine Aufsicht über die Anwendung der Abkommen. Fragen zur Auslegung von EU-Recht, das Teil eines bilateralen Abkommens ist, können bei Bedarf von der Schweiz oder von der EU dem Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union (EuGH) vorgelegt werden. Auf Grundlage der Auslegung des EuGH sucht der Gemischte Ausschuss dann nach einer für beide Parteien annehmbaren Lösung. Falls dies nicht gelingt, könnten angemessene Ausgleichsmassnahmen bis hin zur teilweisen oder vollständigen Suspendierung des entsprechenden Abkommens ergriffen werden.

Die gewählte Lösung beinhaltet auch keine automatische Übernahme von EU-Recht.
Die Schweiz muss die Möglichkeit haben, unter Einhaltung sämtlicher nationaler Verfahren (zum Beispiel ein Referendum) darüber zu entscheiden, ob sie neues EU-Recht in ein bilaterales Abkommen übernehmen will. Schliesslich darf ein künftiges institutionelles Abkommen weder die Art noch den Anwendungsbereich der Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU verändern. Zum Beispiel wird es beim Abkommen über den freien Personenverkehr keine Übernahme der europäischen Richtlinie zur Unionsbürgerschaft geben. Es wird sichergestellt, dass die Schweiz die flankierenden Massnahmen in Rahmen der Personenfreizügigkeit beibehalten kann 

Weiteres Vorgehen
Der Mandatsentwurf – mit den Zielsetzungen und den Verhandlungsleitlinien, an die sich die Schweizer Delegation halten muss – geht heute in die Konsultation bei den Aussenpolitischen Kommissionen und den Kantonen. Die Sozialpartner werden informiert.. Die Ergebnisse der Konsultation werden dem Bundesrat im Hinblick auf die definitive Verabschiedung eines Mandats unterbreitet. Falls entsprechende Verhandlungen aufgenommen und abgeschlossen werden, können sich Parlament und Volk später dazu äussern.

 


Adresse für Rückfragen

Jean-Marc Crevoisier
Information EDA
079 / 763 84 10
Jean-marc.crevoisier@eda.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home/recent/media.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-49947.html