Further development of the financial market strategy

Bern, 14.06.2013 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council took due note of an initial report of the group of experts for the further development of the financial market strategy. The Federal Council is prepared to cooperate actively, within the scope of the OECD, on the development of a global standard for the automatic exchange of information to ensure the tax compliance of foreign asset management clients that satisfies the exacting requirements for compliance with the principle of speciality and data protection, guarantees reciprocity and incorporates reliable rules for determining the beneficial owners of entities of all legal forms, including trusts and domiciliary companies.

Switzerland's financial centre has been confronted with a challenging international environment for quite some time now. The framework conditions for the Swiss cross-border asset management business have been changing ever more rapidly in recent years. This concerns primarily the issue of how to ensure foreign clients are tax-compliant. Moreover, market access, particularly to EU markets, could be increasingly jeopardised by various regulatory initiatives. This is why over the past few years Switzerland has been striving, with its financial market strategy, to develop strategies to overcome these specific challenges.

Back in December 2012, it became apparent that the challenges at the international level would become more pronounced. Consequently, the Head of the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) instructed an independent group of experts, led by Professor Aymo Brunetti, to prepare the basis for the further development of the Federal Council's financial market strategy.

There are specific challenges regarding the framework conditions for the cross-border asset management business. The group of experts thus focused on this topic during the first stage. This report analyses the situation, discusses various options and makes recommendations as to how the strategy could be further developed in this area.

Based on its analyses, the group of experts has suggested how the financial market strategy could be further developed in the area of the framework conditions for the international asset management business.

Stance of the Federal Council

The observation made in the Federal Council's report on Switzerland's financial market policy of 19 December 2012, whereby the automatic exchange of information (AEI) in order to combat abuses – as opposed to withholding tax – has its weaknesses, remains true. The automatic exchange of information interferes with the privacy of clients and has flaws with respect to efficiency. The AEI can only partially address the objective of taxing all taxpayers. This does nothing to alter the fact that the OECD is working on a new standard based on the AEI. Consequently, the Federal Council stated at its meeting today that it is prepared to contribute actively, within the scope of the OECD, to the development of a global standard for the automatic exchange of information to ensure tax compliance that satisfies exacting requirements for compliance with the principle of speciality and data protection, guarantees reciprocity and incorporates reliable rules for determining the beneficial owners of entities of all legal forms, including trusts and domiciliary companies.

If such a standard materialises and if it is recognised and introduced by the G20 countries, OECD member countries and all major financial centres worldwide, the Federal Council will propose incorporating it into Swiss law in order to ensure that asset management clients whose tax domicile is abroad are tax-compliant.

Wherever possible, standardised withholding tax agreements with the exchange of information upon request should continue to be concluded with interested states that do not introduce the global standard.

Before the automatic exchange of information is introduced, an agreement is to be reached with each partner state for settling the past as regards existing untaxed assets, and market access is to be secured or improved for Swiss financial institutions.

For future work concerning the further development Switzerland's financial market strategy, the Federal Council will appoint a broad-based group of experts. The FDF has been instructed to submit to the Federal Council a draft mandate and a proposal for the composition of the group of experts.

 


Address for enquiries

Brigitte Hauser-Süess, GS-FDF Communications
+41 31 322 63 01
brigitte.hauser-sueess@gs-efd.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-49287.html

Weiterentwicklung der Finanzmarktstrategie (Letzte Änderung 14.06.2013)

Bern, 14.06.2013 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung einen ersten Bericht der Expertengruppe für die Weiterentwicklung der Finanzmarktstrategie zur Kenntnis genommen. Der Bundesrat ist bereit, im Rahmen der OECD aktiv an der Entwicklung eines globalen Standards für den automatischen Informationsaustausch zur Sicherung der Steuerkonformität ausländischer Vermögensverwaltungskunden mitzuarbeiten, der hohen Ansprüchen an die Einhaltung des Spezialitätsprinzips und des Datenschutzes genügt, Reziprozität garantiert und zuverlässige Regeln zur Feststellung der wirtschaftlich Berechtigten bei allen Rechtsformen einschliesslich Trusts und Sitzgesellschaften miterfasst.

Seit einiger Zeit sieht sich der Schweizer Finanzplatz mit einem herausfordernden internationalen Umfeld konfrontiert. Die Rahmenbedingungen für das grenzüberschreitende Schweizer Vermögensverwaltungsgeschäft sind in den letzten Jahren zunehmend raschen Änderungen unterworfen. Dies betrifft in erster Linie die Frage, wie die Steuerkonformität ausländischer Kunden gesichert werden kann. Aber auch der Marktzutritt, insbesondere auf den EU-Märkten, könnte durch verschiedene Regulierungsinitiativen zunehmend gefährdet sein. Die Schweiz hat mit ihrer Finanzmarktpolitik deshalb in den letzten Jahren Anstrengungen unternommen und Strategien entwickelt, um diese spezifischen Herausforderungen zu meistern.

Bereits im Dezember 2012 zeichnete sich ab, dass sich die Herausforderungen auf internationaler Ebene weiter akzentuieren werden. Aus diesem Grund beauftragte die Vorsteherin des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements (EFD) eine unabhängige Expertengruppe, unter der Leitung von Prof. Aymo Brunetti, die Grundlagen zur Weiterentwicklung der Finanzmarktstrategie des Bundesrates zu erarbeiten.

Bei den Rahmenbedingungen des grenzüberschreitenden Vermögensverwaltungsgeschäfts bestehen besondere Herausforderungen. Die Expertengruppe hat sich deshalb in einer ersten Phase auf dieses Thema fokussiert. Der vorliegende Bericht analysiert die Situation, diskutiert verschiedene Optionen und leitet Empfehlungen ab, in welche Richtung die Strategie in diesem Bereich weiterentwickelt werden könnte.

Die Expertengruppe unterbreitet auf Basis ihrer Analysen einen Vorschlag, wie die Finanzmarktstrategie im Bereich der Rahmenbedingungen für das internationale Vermögensverwaltungsgeschäft weiterentwickelt werden könnte.

Die Haltung des Bundesrates

Die im Bericht des Bundesrates zur Finanzmarktpolitik des Bundes vom 19. Dezember 2012 gemachten Feststellungen, wonach zur Missbrauchsbekämpfung der automatische Informationsaustausch (AIA) - im Gegensatz zur abgeltenden Quellensteuer - seine Schwächen hat, ist weiterhin zutreffend. Der AIA beeinträchtigt die Privatsphäre der Kunden und hat Mängel bezüglich der Effizienz. Das Ziel einer Besteuerung aller Steuerpflichtigen kann mit dem AIA nur lückenhaft erreicht werden. Das ändert nichts an der Tatsache, dass die OECD an einem neuen Standard basierend auf dem AIA arbeitet. Daher hat der Bundesrat an seiner heutigen Sitzung festgehalten, dass er bereit ist, im Rahmen der OECD aktiv an der Entwicklung eines globalen Standards für den AIA zur Sicherung der Steuerkonformität mitzuwirken, der hohen Ansprüchen an die Einhaltung des Spezialitätsprinzips und des Datenschutzes genügt, Reziprozität garantiert und zuverlässige Regeln zur Feststellung der wirtschaftlich Berechtigten bei allen Rechtsformen einschliesslich Trusts und Sitzgesellschaften miterfasst.

Kommt ein solcher Standard zustande und wird er von den G20-Staaten, den OECD- Mitgliedern und allen wichtigen Finanzplätzen der Welt anerkannt und eingeführt, wird der Bundesrat vorschlagen, diesen zwecks Sicherung der Steuerkonformität von Vermögensverwaltungskunden mit Steuersitz im Ausland in das schweizerische Recht aufzunehmen.

Mit interessierten Staaten, die den globalen Standard nicht einführen, sollen nach Möglichkeit weiterhin standardisierte Quellensteuerabkommen mit Informationsaustausch auf Anfrage abgeschlossen werden.

Vor Einführung des AIA ist mit dem jeweiligen Partnerstaat eine Vereinbarung zur Vergangenheitsregelung für die bestehenden unversteuerten Vermögen zu finden und der Marktzugang für Schweizer Finanzinstitute sicherzustellen bzw. zu verbessern.

Für die weiteren Arbeiten betreffend die Weiterentwicklung der Finanzmarktstrategie des Bundes setzt der Bundesrat eine breit abgestützte Expertengruppe ein. Das EFD wurde beauftragt, dem Bundesrat einen Mandatsentwurf und einen Vorschlag für die Zusammensetzung der Expertengruppe zu unterbreiten.

 

 


Adresse für Rückfragen

Brigitte Hauser-Süess, Kommunikation GS-EFD
+41 31 322 63 01
brigitte.hauser-sueess@gs-efd.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-49287.html