Federal Council adopts FATCA dispatch

Bern, 10.04.2013 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted the FATCA dispatch for the attention of parliament. The agreement will help Swiss financial institutions by means of simplifications in the implementation of the US tax legislation.

Both the FATCA agreement between Switzerland and the United States that was signed on 14 February 2013 and its legal implementation were widely accepted during the consultation procedure. While the extraterritorial US tax legislation was generally criticised, it was nevertheless acknowledged that, with the agreement, Switzerland had achieved simplifications in the implementation of the legislation for Swiss financial institutions.

With the enactment of FATCA, the United States wishes to ensure that all income earned worldwide by US taxpayers on accounts held abroad can be taxed by the United States. FATCA essentially requires foreign financial institutions to register with the US tax authorities (Internal Revenue Service, IRS) and report on identified US accounts or else to deduct and transfer a withholding tax.

The FATCA agreement enables Swiss financial institutions to exchange information with the IRS and provides for simplifications in implementing FATCA. The Final Regulations published by the US Treasury and the IRS on 17 January 2013 are applicable to Swiss financial institutions to the extent that the agreement and its annexes do not expressly make provision for derogations from the rules.

The agreement ensures that the accounts held by US persons with Swiss financial institutions are disclosed to the US tax authorities either with the consent of the account holder or through normal administrative assistance channels. Consequently, information will not be transferred automatically in the absence of consent, and instead will be exchanged only on the basis of the administrative assistance clause in the double taxation agreement.

As the United States will phase in FATCA from 1 January 2014, Swiss financial institutions will be forced to implement FATCA from this date, irrespective of an agreement between Switzerland and the United States, if they do not want to be excluded from the US capital market. The agreed simplifications will not apply if there is no agreement.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, SIF Communications
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-48430.html

Bundesrat verabschiedet FATCA-Botschaft

Bern, 10.04.2013 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung die Botschaft zum FATCA-Abkommen zuhanden der Eidgenössischen Räte verabschiedet. Das Abkommen verhilft den schweizerischen Finanzinstituten zu Erleichterungen bei der Umsetzung der amerikanischen Steuergesetzgebung.

In der Vernehmlassung stiessen das am 14. Februar 2013 unterzeichnete FATCA-Abkommen Schweiz-USA sowie dessen gesetzliche Umsetzung mehrheitlich auf Zustimmung. Zwar wurde grundsätzlich Kritik an der extraterritorialen US-Steuergesetzgebung geübt, jedoch wurde gewürdigt, dass die Schweiz mit dem Abkommen Erleichterungen bei der Umsetzung für schweizerische Finanzinstitute erreicht habe.

Mit FATCA wollen die USA erreichen, dass weltweit sämtliche Einkünfte von in den USA steuerpflichtigen Personen über im Ausland gehaltene Konten der Besteuerung in den USA zugeführt werden können. FATCA verlangt von ausländischen Finanzinstituten grundsätzlich, sich bei der US-Steuerbehörde (Internal Revenue Service, IRS) zu registrieren und Meldungen über identifizierte US-Konten vorzunehmen, beziehungsweise eine Quellensteuer abzuziehen und zu überweisen.

Das FATCA-Abkommen ermöglicht schweizerischen Finanzinstituten, mit dem IRS Informationen auszutauschen und sichert den Finanzinstituten Vereinfachungen bei der Umsetzung zu. Die vom US-Treasury und IRS am 17. Januar 2013 publizierten definitiven Ausführungsbestimmungen (Final Regulations) sind für Schweizer Finanzinstitute insoweit anwendbar, als das Abkommen und seine Anhänge keine ausdrücklich abweichenden Regelungen vorsehen.

Das Abkommen stellt sicher, dass von US-Personen bei schweizerischen Finanzinstituten gehaltene Konten entweder mit Zustimmung des Kontoinhabers oder auf dem ordentlichen Amtshilfeweg an die US-Steuerbehörden gemeldet werden. Falls keine Zustimmung vorliegt, werden Informationen somit nicht automatisch, sondern nur auf der Grundlage der Amtshilfebestimmung des Doppelbesteuerungsabkommens ausgetauscht.

Da FATCA in den USA ab 1. Januar 2014 schrittweise eingeführt wird, sind schweizerische Finanzinstitute unabhängig von einem Abkommen Schweiz-USA gezwungen, FATCA ab diesem Datum umzusetzen, sofern sie nicht vom US-Kapitalmarkt ausgeschlossen werden wollen. Ohne Abkommen entfallen die vereinbarten Erleichterungen.

 


Adresse für Rückfragen

Mario Tuor, Kommunikation SIF
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-48430.html