Switzerland consolidates airborne collaboration with Solar Impulse

Bern, 13.02.2013 - The Federal Council put its support of the pioneering Solar Impulse project on a formal footing at its meeting of 13 February 2013. Partnership contracts to support the solar-powered airplane are to be concluded under the auspices of Presence Switzerland, in close collaboration with the various federal departments and offices concerned, to establish the exact nature and modalities of the government’s support. The support and services the Confederation already provides to the Solar Impulse project will continue to the end of 2015. For its part, Solar Impulse will enhance the visibility of Switzerland in its communication activities.

The Confederation has been on board the project since the beginning in 2003, providing Solar Impulse with technical, administrative, logistical, as well as financial support. The Federal Council has now decided to continue this support in the 2013-15 period with a further input of CHF 1.53 million. Specifically this covers the cost of the hangars both at the Dübendorf aerodrome where the final touches to the second prototype are now being made and at Payerne where it is to be tested in flight, in the amount of CHF 1.1 million and CHF 354,000 respectively. 

Switzerland will thus enjoy the public relations benefit of being an official partner of this project. The partnership will be duly recognised in all future Solar Impulse publicity campaigns, notably on the occasion of the unveiling of the second Solar Impulse aircraft in 2014 and the round-the-world solar-powered flight planned for 2015. The campaign slogan, “An idea born in Switzerland”, will appear on all Solar Impulse publicity material.

A highlight of the project and the collaboration between the Confederation and Solar Impulse will be this year’s flight from the West Coast of the United States to the East Coast in several stages. For this Presence Switzerland plans to enter into a service contract of up to CHF 1 million to ensure that Solar Impulse systematically mentions the Swiss origin of the project in all communications, while the pilots’ uniforms will be emblazoned with the insignia of Switzerland. Presence Switzerland will itself mount a publicity campaign across the United States in 2013 in collaboration with all of the local Swiss representations to give Switzerland maximum visibility.

Solar Impulse will give new life to the image of the Confederation around the world as living proof of the Swiss innovative spirit. It will embody the international communication strategy and objectives which the Federal Council laid down in June 2012. The government is thus assured of a major media impact, spotlighting Switzerland as a leader in innovation, science and education. Presence Switzerland, working in close cooperation with the other federal departments concerned (DDPS, FDF, DETEC, and FDHA), has been commissioned by the Federal Council to put in place the pertinent contractual relations with Solar Impulse.

 

 

Further questions:
  
Ambassador Nicolas Bideau
Head of Presence Switzerland
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA)
Tel. 079 / 667 69 15


Address for enquiries

Information FDFA
+41(31) 322 31 53


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports DDPS
http://www.vbs.admin.ch

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47752.html

Bund verstärkt die Zusammenarbeit mit Solar Impulse

Bern, 13.02.2013 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom Mittwoch, 13. Februar 2013 beschlossen, dem Engagement der Schweiz für das Projekt Solar Impulse eine verbindliche Form zu geben. Unter der Federführung von Präsenz Schweiz wird der Bund in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen betroffenen Departementen und Ämtern Partnerschaftsverträge abschliessen, welche die Einzelheiten der Unterstützung durch die Bundesbehörden regeln. Die bisherigen Leistungen des Bundes kann Solar Impulse bis Ende 2015 weiter in Anspruch nehmen. Im Gegenzug wird Solar Impulse der Schweiz in ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit einen höheren Stellenwert einräumen.

Der Bund begleitet Solar Impulse seit Beginn des Projekts 2003 auf verschiedenen Ebenen mit technischen, administrativen, logistischen und finanziellen Leistungen. Der Bundesrat hat entschieden, diese Leistungen in Höhe von rund CHF 1,53 Mio. im Zeitraum 2013-2015 weiterhin zu erbringen. Dazu gehört insbesondere die Bereitstellung der Hangars auf den Flugplätzen Dübendorf (wo der zweite Prototyp vor der Vollendung steht) im Wert von CHF 1,1 Mio. und in Payerne (wo die Testflüge stattfinden) im Wert von CHF 354'000. 

Als Gegenleistung anerkennt Solar Impulse die Schweiz als institutionelle Projektpartnerin für das Marketing. Solar Impulse will dazu die Schweizer Besonderheiten des Projekts im Rahmen der eigenen Öffentlichkeitsarbeit noch aktiver einbeziehen, unter anderem im Zusammenhang mit den zwei Meilensteinen, die 2014 mit der Enthüllung des zweiten Flugzeugs und 2015 mit der geplanten Weltumrundung bevorstehen. Konkret soll der Slogan «An idea born in Switzerland» im gesamten internationalen Kommunikations- und Marketingmaterial von Solar Impulse erscheinen.

Auch die etappenweise Überquerung der USA von der West- zur Ostküste 2013 soll zu einem Höhepunkt in der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Bund und Solar Impulse werden. Aus diesem Anlass will Präsenz Schweiz mit Solar Impulse einen Servicevertrag über maximal CHF 1 Mio. abschliessen. Solar Impulse wird dafür in ihrer Kommunikation systematisch auf die Schweizer Wurzeln des Projekts hinweisen und auf den Jacken der Piloten das Schweizer Wappen anbringen. Für eine bessere Sichtbarkeit der Schweiz in den USA wird Präsenz Schweiz 2013 parallel eine Kommunikationskampagne in Zusammenarbeit mit allen Schweizer Vertretungen organisieren.

Die Leistungen von Solar Impulse sollen zur Stärkung der Landeskommunikation der Schweiz beitragen. Als Botschafter für Schweizer Innovation in der ganzen Welt steht das Projekt in Einklang mit den Hauptzielen, die der Bundesrat im Juni 2012 für die Landeskommunikation verabschiedet hat. Mit dieser Zusammenarbeit wird der Bund die internationale Medienpräsenz des Projekts nutzen, um die Stärken der Schweiz in den Bereichen Innovation, Wissenschaft und Bildung hervorzuheben. Der Bundesrat hat Präsenz Schweiz beauftragt, den Vertrag mit Solar Impulse in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den übrigen betroffenen Departementen (VBS, EFD, UVEK, EDI) zu erarbeiten.

 

 


Für Rückfragen:
  
Botschafter Nicolas Bideau
Chef Präsenz Schweiz
Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
Tel. 079 / 667 69 15

 


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
+41(31) 322 31 53


Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport
http://www.vbs.admin.ch

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47752.html