International expert meeting on the theme of “the Arab Spring and Asset Recovery”

Bern, 29.01.2013 - Responding to an invitation from Switzerland, some 80 international legal experts met in Lausanne on 28 and 29 January 2013 to discuss practical questions concerning the repatriation of illegal assets held by politically exposed persons in connection with the events of the so-called Arab Spring.

Two years after the beginning of the political upheavals in the Arab world, the question of repatriating illegal assets still has a high priority for the countries concerned as well as for Switzerland and other financial centres. In responding to an invitation issued by the Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), some 80 specialists from the three countries most affected, Tunisia, Egypt and Libya, as well as from over a dozen world-wide financial centres and organisations met in Lausanne. Discussions focused on a joint analysis of the efforts deployed so far in this domain and the possible future developments. At the same time, contacts were intensified between the players involved. The declared aim of all the participants remained that of having the illegal money repatriated as quickly as possible.

Switzerland was the first country which, back at the start of 2011, froze assets that had been held by the former regimes in Tunisia, Egypt and Libya. That was done with the intention of supporting the procedures for returning illegal assets to the countries of origin. Since then, Switzerland has already managed to achieve very appreciable results; no other country has so far made similar progress in its repatriation endeavours. Nevertheless, concrete challenges have also emerged in working together with the countries of origin.

This event was the seventh in the series of “Lausanne Seminars” launched by the FDFA in 2001 to deal with asset recovery. The central focus of these seminars is on strengthening the dialogue between the countries affected by corruption and the countries receiving the assets acquired illegally. The repatriation of such assets is one of the central instruments that Switzerland is using to protect its financial centre and to combat international economic crime. In this field Switzerland is playing a pioneering role. Up until today, it has paid approximately CHF 1.8 billion back to the countries of origin, more than any other financial centre.

 


Address for enquiries

FDFA Communication
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel. Communication service: +41 58 462 31 53
Tel. Press service: +41 58 460 55 55
E-mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @SwissMFA



Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47591.html

Internationales Expertentreffen zum Thema „Arabischer Frühling und die Rückerstattung unrechtmässig erworbener Vermögenswerte“

Bern, 29.01.2013 - Auf Einladung der Schweiz haben am 28. und 29. Januar 2013 knapp 80 internationale Rechtsexperten in Lausanne praktische Fragen rund um die Rückerstattung von illegalen Vermögenswerten politisch exponierter Personen im Zusammenhang mit den Ereignissen des sogenannten Arabischen Frühlings diskutiert.

Zwei Jahre nach dem Beginn der politischen Umwälzungen in der arabischen Welt nimmt die Frage der Rückerstattung von illegalen Vermögenswerten nach wie vor eine hohe Priorität ein, sowohl bei den betroffenen Staaten als auch bei der Schweiz und weiteren Finanzplätzen. Auf Einladung des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) kamen deshalb rund 80 Fachleute aus den drei Schwerpunktländern Tunesien, Ägypten und Libyen sowie aus gut einem Dutzend weltweit tätiger Finanzplätze und Organisationen in Lausanne zusammen. Gegenstand der Diskussionen war die gemeinsame Analyse der bisherigen Bemühungen und der möglichen künftigen Entwicklungen. Gleichzeitig wurden die Kontakte zwischen den involvierten Akteuren gestärkt. Erklärtes Ziel aller Beteiligten bleibt eine möglichst rasche Rückerstattung der illegalen Gelder.

Die Schweiz war das erste Land, das Anfang 2011 Vermögenswerte der ehemaligen Regimes Tunesiens, Ägyptens und Libyens blockierte. Dies geschah in der Absicht, die Verfahren zur Rückerstattung illegaler Gelder an die Herkunftsländer zu unterstützen. Seither konnte die Schweiz bereits beachtliche Ergebnisse erzielen: Kein anderes Land ist heute in seinen Restitutionsbemühungen ähnlich weit fortgeschritten. Gleichwohl stellen sich in der Zusammenarbeit mit den Herkunftsländern auch konkrete Herausforderungen.

Diese Tagung ist die siebte Auflage der vom EDA 2001 lancierten „Lausanner Seminare“ zum Thema Rückerstattung illegaler Vermögenswerte (Asset Recovery). Im Zentrum dieser Seminare steht die Stärkung des Dialogs zwischen den von Korruption betroffenen Ländern und den Empfängerländern von unrechtmässig erworbenen Vermögenswerten. Die Rückgabe illegaler Vermögenswerte ist eines der zentralen Instrumente, die die Schweiz zum Schutz ihres Finanzplatzes und zur Bekämpfung der internationalen Wirtschaftskriminalität einsetzt. Die Schweiz spielt in diesem Bereich eine Pionierrolle. Bis heute hat sie rund 1,8 Milliarden Franken an die Herkunftsländer zurückerstattet, mehr als jeder andere Finanzplatz.

 


Adresse für Rückfragen

Kommunikation EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE



Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47591.html