Withholding tax agreements with the United Kingdom and Austria enter into force

Bern, 31.12.2012 - On 1 January 2013, the withholding tax agreements between Switzerland and the United Kingdom and Austria enter into force. All British and Austrian taxpayers with a bank account or securities deposit in Switzerland are affected. The agreements solve the problem of untaxed funds. Clients either pay a withholding tax, which is deducted directly from their account and transferred anonymously to their country of domicile, or they must disclose their account details.

Banks must inform their affected clients about the new regulation by the end of February 2013. Clients will have until the end of May at the latest to announce whether the withholding tax is to be deducted from their account or whether they wish to disclose their account details. Already in the course of January 2013, the United Kingdom will receive an upfront payment of CHF 500 million from the banks in accordance with the terms of the agreement. This sum will be reimbursed to the banks in stages with anonymous retrospective taxation payments received from mid-year. No such upfront payment was agreed with Austria.

The actual implementation of the tax agreements will be governed by the Federal Act on International Withholding Tax (IWTA), which was brought into force by the Federal Council on 20 December 2012. The IWTA contains provisions on organisation, procedure, judicial channels, criminal law provisions and domestic procedural rules for the upfront payment.

Negotiations on similar agreements are under way with Greece and Italy. Other countries both within and outside Europe have also shown an interest. The signed agreement with Germany was not ratified by the German parliament in December 2012. The withholding tax model is part of the Federal Council's new financial market policy, the aim of which is to ensure that no untaxed foreign funds can be hidden in Switzerland.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters SIF, +41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch


Publisher

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47354.html

Quellensteuerabkommen mit Grossbritannien und Österreich treten in Kraft

Bern, 31.12.2012 - Am 1. Januar 2013 treten die beiden Quellensteuerabkommen der Schweiz mit Grossbritannien und mit Österreich in Kraft. Betroffen sind alle britischen und österreichischen Steuerpflichtigen mit einem Bankkonto oder Wertschriftendepot in der Schweiz. Die Abkommen lösen das Problem unversteuerter Gelder. Die Kunden bezahlen entweder eine Quellensteuer, die ihnen direkt vom Konto abgezogen und anonym an ihren Wohnsitzstaat übermittelt wird oder sie müssen ihre Kontodaten offen legen.

Bis spätestens Ende Februar 2013 müssen die Banken ihre betroffenen Kunden über die neue Regelung informieren. Die Kunden haben bis spätestens Ende Mai mitzuteilen, ob ihnen die Quellensteuer abgezogen werden soll oder ob sie ihre Kontodaten offenlegen wollen. Bereits im Laufe des Januars 2013 erhält Grossbritannien eine Vorauszahlung von 500 Millionen Franken, welche die Banken vertragsgemäss leisten. Diese Summe wird mit den ab Mitte Jahr eingehenden Zahlungen der anonymen Nachbesteuerung schrittweise an die Banken zurückerstattet. Mit Österreich wurde keine solche Vorauszahlung vereinbart.

Die konkrete Umsetzung der Steuerabkommen wird durch das Bundesgesetz über die internationale Quellenbesteuerung (IQG) geregelt, das der Bundesrat am 20. Dezember 2012 in Kraft gesetzt hat. Dieses enthält Bestimmungen über die Organisation, das Verfahren, die Rechtswege, die Strafbestimmungen und die internen Verfahrensvorschriften der Vorauszahlung.

Verhandlungen mit Griechenland und Italien über ähnliche Abkommen sind im Gang. Weitere Länder inner- und ausserhalb Europas sind interessiert. Das unterzeichnete Abkommen mit Deutschland wurde im Dezember 2012 vom deutschen Parlament nicht ratifiziert. Das Quellensteuermodell ist Teil der neuen Finanzmarktpolitik des Bundesrates. Diese zielt darauf ab, dass in der Schweiz keine unversteuerten ausländischen Gelder versteckt werden können.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Mario Tuor, Kommunikation Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF, +41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-47354.html