Report by Switzerland on the implementation of the UN Convention on the elimination of all forms of racial discrimination

Bern, 30.11.2012 - In its meeting of 30 November 2012, the Federal Council approved the combined 7th to 9th follow-up reports by Switzerland on the implementation of the 1965 UN Convention on the elimination of all forms of racial discrimination. The report describes the measures Switzerland has taken to combat all forms of racial discrimination. The report will now be submitted to the body that monitors the implementation of the Convention.

The international convention of 1965 on the Elimination of all forms of racial discrimination enshrines the principle of the prohibition of racial discrimination. It also requires states to combat racial discrimination and to take action to prevent it. Switzerland adhered to this convention on 29 November 1994 after making an amendment to its legal system enabling the criminal prosecution of racist acts (Articles 261to StGB/Swiss Crimina Code).  On November 1 2012, 175 states were contracting parties to this convention.

As a contracting party to the convention, Switzerland is obliged to regularly provide state reports on the implementation of the Convention to the UN body responsible for monitoring compliance, which is the Committee on the Elimination of all forms of racial discrimination.

Switzerland's first report was approved by the Federal Council in December 1996 and was reviewed by the Committee in March 1998.The 7th to 9th report that has now been published contains information about legal and political developments since the presentation of the last report in August 2008.

Switzerland attaches great importance to the implementation of the Convention and  has implemented major recommendations of the Committee since the presentation of the last report. Measures for dealing with the offence of racial discrimination have been tightened up and at the state level numerous measures have been introduced to prohibit all forms of discrimination on the grounds of race, skin colour, origin and national or ethnic background. These measures include the consistent implementation of protection against discrimination as part of integration measures at the national, cantonal and local levels. The increased level of counselling for discrimination victims and the prevention of structural discrimination are notable developments in this area. Numerous awareness-raising courses for administrative bodies have been held. The authorities at all levels work together closely with civil society organisations.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
+41 (0)31 322 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46931.html

Bericht der Schweiz über die Umsetzung des UNO-Übereinkommens zur Beseitigung jeder Form von Rassendiskriminierung

Bern, 30.11.2012 - In seiner Sitzung vom 30. November 2012 hat der Bundesrat den kombinierten 7. bis 9. Folgebericht der Schweiz über die Umsetzung des UNO-Übereinkommens von 1965 zur Beseitigung jeder Form von Rassendiskriminierung genehmigt. Der Bericht schildert die Massnahmen, welche die Schweiz getroffen hat, um jede Form von Rassendiskriminierung zu bekämpfen. Der Bericht wird nun dem Überwachungsorgan des Übereinkommens zugestellt.

Das Internationale Übereinkommen von 1965 zur Beseitigung jeder Form von Rassendiskriminierung verankert das Verbot der Rassendiskriminierung. Weiter verpflichtet es die Staaten dazu, Rassendiskriminierung zu bekämpfen und ihr vorzubeugen. Die Schweiz ist dem Übereinkommen am 29. November 1994 beigetreten, nachdem sie mit einer Änderung ihrer Rechtsordnung die strafrechtliche Verfolgung rassistischer Akte ermöglicht hatte (Artikel 261bis StGB). Am 1. November 2012 waren 175 Staaten Vertragsparteien des Übereinkommens.

Als Vertragspartei des Übereinkommens ist die Schweiz verpflichtet, dem zuständigen Überwachungsorgan der UNO, dem Ausschuss zur Beseitigung jeder Form von Rassendiskriminierung, regelmässig Staatenberichte zur Umsetzung des Übereinkommens zu unterbreiten.

Der erste Bericht der Schweiz wurde bereits im Dezember 1996 vom Bundesrat genehmigt und vom Ausschuss im März 1998 überprüft. Der nun vorliegende 7.-9. Bericht enthält Ausführungen zu den rechtlichen und politischen Entwicklungen seit der Präsentation des letzten Berichts im August 2008.

Die Schweiz misst der Umsetzung des Übereinkommens grosse Bedeutung zu. Seit der Präsentation des letzten Berichts hat sie wichtige Empfehlungen des Ausschusses realisiert. So hat sich die Praxis bei der Handhabung des Straftatbestandes der Rassendiskriminierung gefestigt und eine Vielzahl an Massnahmen auf allen staatlichen Stufen wurde ergriffen, um jede Form von Diskriminierung aus Gründen der Rasse, Hautfarbe, Abstammung sowie nationaler oder ethnischer Herkunft zu unterbinden. Dazu zählt die konsequente Umsetzung des Diskriminierungsschutzes im Rahmen der Integrationsmassnahmen auf Ebene von Bund, Kantonen und Gemeinden. In diesem Bereich sind insbesondere der Ausbau der Beratung von Diskriminierungsopfern und die Prävention von struktureller Diskriminierung hervorzuheben. So sind zahlreiche Sensibilisierungslehrgänge für Verwaltungsbehörden durchgeführt worden. Die Behörden aller Stufen arbeiten dabei eng mit den Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft zusammen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information EDA
+41 (0)31 322 31 53
info@eda.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46931.html