The use of cluster munitions in Syria - FDFA Statement

Bern, 24.10.2012 - Switzerland condemns the use of cluster munitions by Syrian government forces in the strongest possible terms.

According to the latest reports by Human Rights Watch, the most recent of which was published on 23 October 2012, Syrian governmental forces have been using cluster bombs against a number of towns and villages in five governorates in the country for several weeks. Switzerland condemns in the strongest possible terms the use of these weapons which are having serious and long-lasting humanitarian consequences for the civilian population in the current crisis. Switzerland calls on the Syrian authorities to stop the use of cluster munitions immediately.
 
Switzerland is extremely concerned about the many allegations of serious violations of international humanitarian law (IHL), and appeals to all parties in the conflict to ensure full compliance with their obligations. It is a matter of urgency that acts of violence and violations of IHL cease, and that humanitarian actors can gain access to the civilian population, which is exposed to the full impact of this prolonged armed conflict.
 
Switzerland has been committed to efforts to restrict or ban the use of weapons with serious humanitarian effects for several years. On 17 July 2012, the Federal Council ratified the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) which establishes as a principle the complete ban on the use of cluster munitions.


Address for enquiries

FDFA Information
Federal Palace West Wing
CH-3003 Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
Fax: +41 58 464 90 47
E-mail: info@eda.admin.ch


Publisher

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/recent/media.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46447.html

Einsatz von Streumunition in Syrien – Stellungnahme des EDA

Bern, 24.10.2012 - Die Schweiz verurteilt den Einsatz von Streumunition durch die syrischen Regierungskräfte in aller Schärfe.

Gemäss den jüngsten Berichten von Human Rights Watch (der letzte wurde am 23. Oktober 2012 veröffentlicht) setzen die syrischen Regierungskräfte seit mehreren Wochen Streumunition ein. Verschiedene Städte und Dörfer in fünf Provinzen des Landes wurden von Streubomben getroffen. Die Schweiz verurteilt in aller Schärfe den Einsatz dieser Bomben im Rahmen der syrischen Krise, da sie schwerwiegende und dauerhafte humanitäre Folgen für die Zivilbevölkerung haben. Die Schweiz appelliert an die syrischen Behörden, unverzüglich auf den Einsatz von Streumunition zu verzichten.

Die Schweiz ist äusserst besorgt über die zahlreichen Berichte über schwere Verstösse gegen das humanitäre Völkerrecht und ruft alle Konfliktparteien dazu auf, ihre Verpflichtungen vollumfänglich einzuhalten. Die Gewalt und die Verstösse müssen unbedingt eingestellt werden, und die humanitären Akteure müssen Zugang zur Zivilbevölkerung erhalten, die von den Folgen dieses anhaltenden Konflikts direkt betroffen ist.

Die Schweiz setzt sich seit mehreren Jahren für eine Beschränkung bzw. ein Verbot von Waffen mit schweren humanitären Konsequenzen ein. Unter anderem hat der Bundesrat am 17. Juli 2012 das Übereinkommen über Streumunition (Convention on Cluster Munitions, CCM) ratifiziert, das den Grundsatz eines vollständigen Verbots von Streumunition enthält.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Kommunikation EDA
Bundeshaus West
CH-3003 Bern
Tel.: +41 58 462 31 53
E-Mail: kommunikation@eda.admin.ch
Twitter: @EDA_DFAE


Herausgeber

Eidgenössisches Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten
https://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46447.html