Federal Council presents report on compatibility of QIA with banking secrecy

Bern, 10.10.2012 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council adopted a report on the compatibility of the so-called Qualified Intermediary Agreement (QIA) with Swiss bank client confidentiality. The Federal Council stated that banking secrecy would not be violated by the Swiss banks' agreement with the United States. With this report, the Federal Council fulfils a mandate from the Control Committees of the National Council and Council of States from 2010.

On 30 May 2010, in their report on the disclosure of UBS client data, the Control Committees of the National Council and Council of States instructed the Federal Council to clarify questions on the application of Article 271 of the Criminal Code (SCC) and on the compatibility of the QIA with Swiss banking secrecy.

This request from the Control Committees of the National Council and Council of States was prompted by the general authorisation in accordance with Article 271 para. 1 of the Swiss Criminal Code issued in 2000 by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) for those persons dealing with the enforcement of the QIA concluded between the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and Swiss banks or securities dealers. The FDF authorisation allowed those persons dealing with the application of the QIA, i.e. employees of banks and securities dealers, to carry out withholding tax deductions, in particular, based on US law.

According to the current qualified intermediary system, non-US persons do not have to disclose their identity to the IRS, whereas since 1 January 2001, US persons have been allowed to hold US securities only if they were prepared to sign a so-called W-9 form. The information on the form allows the qualified intermediary (QI) to disclose income earned on the securities to the IRS and thereby disclose the identity of the US person. The QI had to obtain the approval of clients to disclose their identity or obtain their consent that no US securities were being held for them. Due to the options that exist, the Federal Council concluded that the QIA does not violate banking secrecy.  

With regard to the authorisation granted in 2000 in accordance with Article 271 para. 1 of the Swiss Criminal Code, the Federal Council is of the opinion that, as things currently stand, authorisations of such political relevance as this case come under its authority and a generally abstract ruling on an individual authorisation with an undefined target group would have been preferable.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters (SIF), tel.
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46272.html

Bundesrat legt Bericht vor zu Kompatibilität von QIA und Bankgeheimnis

Bern, 10.10.2012 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung einen Bericht über die Kompatibilität des sogenannten Qualified Intermediary Agreement (QIA) mit dem schweizerischen Bankgeheimnis verabschiedet. Das Bankgeheimnis, so der Bundesrat, werde durch das Agreement der Schweizer Banken mit den USA nicht verletzt. Mit diesem Bericht erfüllt der Bundesrat einen Auftrag der Geschäftsprüfungskommissionen von National- und Ständerat aus dem Jahr 2010.

Die Geschäftsprüfungskommissionen (GPK) des National- und des Ständerates hatten am 30. Mai 2010 in ihrem Bericht zur Herausgabe von UBS-Kundendaten den Bundesrat beauftragt, Fragen zur Anwendung von Art. 271 des Strafgesetzbuchs (StGB) sowie zur Kompatibilität des QIA mit dem schweizerischen Bankgeheimnis abzuklären.

Anlass für den Auftrag der GPK war eine vom Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) im Jahr 2000 erteilte generelle Bewilligung gemäss Art. 271 Ziff. 1 StGB für diejenigen Personen, welche mit dem Vollzug der zwischen der amerikanischen Bundessteuerbehörde IRS und schweizerischen Banken oder Effektenhändlern abgeschlossenen QIA befasst sind. Die Bewilligung des EFD erlaubte den mit der Anwendung der QIA befassten Personen - namentlich Mitarbeitenden von Banken und Effektenhändlern - insbesondere, Quellensteu­er­abzüge nach amerikanischem Recht vorzunehmen.

Nach dem geltenden Qualified-Intermediary-System müssen „non-US persons" ihre Identität gegenüber dem IRS nicht offenlegen, während „US persons" seit dem 1. Januar 2001 US-Wertschriften nur noch halten dürfen, wenn sie bereit sind, ein sogenanntes Formular W-9 zu unterzeichnen. Die Angaben im Formular ermöglichen dem Qualified Intermediary (QI), die auf den Wertschriften erzielten Erträge gegenüber dem IRS zu melden und damit die Identität der „US person" offenzulegen. Der QI hat vom Kunden die Zustimmung zur Offenlegung seiner Identität oder dessen Einverständnis einzuholen, dass für ihn keine US-Wertschriften gehalten werden. Aufgrund des bestehenden Wahlrechts kommt der Bundesrat zum Schluss, dass das QIA das Bankgeheimnis nicht verletzt.

In Bezug auf die im Jahr 2000 erteilte Bewilligung gemäss Art. 271 Ziff. 1 StGB ist der Bundesrat aus heutiger Sicht der Auffassung, dass Bewilligungen mit solcher politischer Relevanz wie der konkrete Fall in seine Kompetenz fallen und eine generell-abstrakte Regelung einer Einzelbewilligung mit unbestimmtem Adressatenkreis vorzuziehen gewesen wäre.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Mario Tuor, Kommunikation Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-46272.html