Federal Council wants better regulation of OTC derivatives trading and financial market infrastructure

Bern, 29.08.2012 - At its meeting today, the Federal Council decided to introduce new legal provisions for OTC derivatives trading. At the same time, the regulations in the area of financial market infrastructure are to be amended. The Federal Department of Finance has been instructed to prepare a draft consultation paper by spring 2013.

The financial crisis highlighted that the lack of transparency on the markets for derivatives traded over the counter (so-called OTC derivatives markets) can threaten the stability of the entire financial system due to their strong international integration and the heavy trading volume and default risks. Since then, international efforts have been afoot, in particular undertaken by the G20 and the Financial Stability Board (FSB), to improve transparency and stability in the OTC derivatives market.

The existing Swiss regulation of financial market infrastructure is no longer appropriate given the developments on the financial markets. Furthermore, it also no longer satisfies the new standards developed by international bodies for important financial market infrastructure institutions such as trading platforms, central settlement offices, securities depositories or trade repositories.

International standards in the areas of OTC derivatives trading and financial market infrastructure are currently being implemented in national legislation in several countries. The EU and the United States in particular are relatively far advanced here.

To safeguard the competitiveness of the Swiss financial centre and to strengthen financial stability, it is necessary for Switzerland to implement the G20 obligations and the FSB recommendations on OTC derivatives trading as fully as possible and at the same time as other financial centres. In addition, regulation in the area of financial market infrastructure has to be adapted to international standards. In order to ensure the competitiveness of Swiss market players and market access in the EU, regulation equivalent to that of the EU is to be sought in both areas.

Remarks on the text:

In September 2009, the G20 countries committed themselves to the following by the end of 2012:
• to ensure that standardised OTC derivative transactions, if appropriate, will be traded via stock markets or other electronic platforms;
• to have standardised OTC derivative contracts cleared by central counterparties; and
• to ensure that all OTC derivative transactions are reported to trade repositories.
• In addition, bilaterally settled OTC derivative transactions should be subject to more stringent capital requirements.

The FSB has issued implementing recommendations and regularly examines these for its member states. Switzerland is a member of the FSB.

 


Address for enquiries

Roland Meier, FDF Media Spokesperson,
+41 31 322 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-45737.html

Bundesrat will ausserbörslichen Handel mit Derivaten und Finanzmarktinfrastruktur besser regeln

Bern, 29.08.2012 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung beschlossen, neue gesetzliche Regelungen für den ausserbörslichen Handel mit Derivaten einzuführen. Gleichzeitig soll die Regulierung im Bereich der Finanzmarktinfrastruktur angepasst werden. Das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement wurde beauftragt, bis im Frühjahr 2013 eine Vernehmlassungsvorlage auszuarbeiten.

Die Finanzkrise hat aufgezeigt, dass die mangelnde Transparenz auf den Märkten für ausserbörslich gehandelte Derivate (sog. OTC-Derivatemärkte) aufgrund ihrer starken internationalen Vernetzung sowie der grossen Handelsvolumen und Ausfallrisiken die Stabilität des ganzen Finanzsystems gefährden kann. Seither sind internationale Bemühungen im Gange, insbesondere seitens der G-20 und des Financial Stability Board (FSB), um die Transparenz und die Stabilität im OTC-Derivatemarkt zu verbessern.

Die bestehende schweizerische Regulierung der Finanzmarktinfrastruktur ist im Hinblick auf die Entwicklungen an den Finanzmärkten nicht mehr angemessen. Sie genügt im Übrigen auch nicht den von internationalen Gremien entwickelten neuen Standards für bedeutsame Einrichtungen der Finanzmarktinfrastruktur wie Handelsplattformen, zentrale Abrechnungsstellen, Wertschriftenverwahrer oder Transaktionsregister.

Die internationalen Standards in den Bereichen des ausserbörslichen Handels mit Derivaten und der Finanzmarktinfrastruktur werden derzeit in verschiedenen Staaten in die nationale Rechtsordnung umgesetzt. Insbesondere die EU und die USA sind dabei relativ weit vorangeschritten.

Zur Gewährleistung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des schweizerischen Finanzplatzes und zur Stärkung der Finanzstabilität ist es notwendig, dass die Schweiz die Verpflichtungen der G‑20 und die Empfehlungen des FSB zum Handel mit OTC-Derivaten möglichst vollständig und zeitnah mit anderen Finanzplätzen umsetzt. Zudem ist die Regulierung im Bereich der Finanzmarktstruktur an internationale Standards anzupassen. Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweizer Marktteilnehmer sowie den Marktzutritt zur EU sicherzustellen, ist in beiden Bereichen eine mit der EU gleichwertige Regulierung anzustreben.

 

Ausführungen zum Text:

Die G-20 Länder haben sich im September 2009 dazu verpflichtet, bis Ende 2012:

• sicherzustellen, dass standardisierte OTC-Derivatetransaktionen, falls geeignet, über Börsen oder andere elektronische Plattformen gehandelt werden;
• die Abrechnung (clearing) von standardisierten OTC-Derivatekontrakten durch zentrale Abrechnungsstellen (central counterparties) durchführen zu lassen; und
• sicherzustellen, dass sämtliche OTC-Derivatetransaktionen an Transaktionsregister (trade repositories) gemeldet werden.
• Zusätzlich sollen bilateral abgerechnete OTC-Derivatetransaktionen höheren Eigenkapitalanforderungen unterstellt werden.

Das FSB hat für die Umsetzung Empfehlungen erlassen und überprüft diese für seine Mitgliedstaaten regelmässig. Die Schweiz ist Mitglied des FSB.

 


Adresse für Rückfragen

Roland Meier, Mediensprecher EFD,
+41 31 322 60 86, roland.meier@gs-efd.admin.ch


Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-45737.html