Federal Council preparing overview of financial market policy

Bern, 27.06.2012 - During its meeting today, the Federal Council took note of the work under way on an overview of the financial market policy. In September 2012, the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) will submit a report to the Federal Council that provides information on both the implementation status of existing measures under the Federal Council's financial market policy as well as new measures to boost competitiveness and implement the financial centre strategy.

The outlook for the financial sector has become more difficult on the whole. Aside from the euro crisis, international developments in the regulatory and tax arena are threatening one of the traditional business fields, i.e. cross-border financial services. In light of this, an overview is to be prepared in the form of a report on the Confederation's financial market policy. The specification of the financial centre strategy envisaged in the discussion paper of 22 February 2012 will be one component of this overview. Consistent implementation of this strategy also includes compliance with international administrative assistance standards.

A basis for decision-making will be submitted to the Federal Council in September 2012. The report will provide information on the implementation status of the existing measures under the Federal Council's financial market policy of December 2009. The bulk of the report will consist of new measures to boost competitiveness and implement the financial integrity strategy. The Federal Council will be able to use this as a basis for deciding how the financial sector's framework conditions should be developed in the years ahead.


Address for enquiries

Mario Tuor, Head of Communications, State Secretariat for International Financial Matters (SIF)
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch


Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Finance
https://www.efd.admin.ch/efd/en/home.html

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-45153.html

Der Bundesrat bereitet Gesamtschau zur Finanzmarktpolitik vor

Bern, 27.06.2012 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner heutigen Sitzung Kenntnis genommen von den laufenden Arbeiten für eine Gesamtschau der Finanzmarktpolitik. Im September 2012 wird das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement (EFD) dem Bundesrat einen Bericht vorlegen, in dem sowohl über den Stand der Umsetzung bisheriger Massnahmen der bundesrätlichen Finanzmarktpolitik informiert wird als auch über neue Massnahmen zur Stärkung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und zur Umsetzung der Finanzplatzstrategie.

Die Aussichten für die Finanzbranche sind insgesamt schwieriger geworden. Neben der Eurokrise bedrohen die internationalen Entwicklungen im Regulierungs- und im Steuerbereich eines ihrer traditionellen Geschäftsfelder, nämlich die grenzüberschreitenden Finanzdienstleistungen. In Anbetracht dieser Ausgangslage soll eine Gesamtschau in Form eines Berichts zur Finanzmarktpolitik des Bundes gemacht werden. Die im Diskussionspapier vom 22. Februar 2012 in Aussicht gestellte Konkretisierung der Finanzplatzstrategie wird als ein Element dieser Gesamtschau enthalten sein. Zur konsequenten Umsetzung dieser Strategie gehört auch die Erfüllung der internationalen Amtshilfestandards.

 Im September 2012 wird dem Bundesrat eine Entscheidungsgrundlage vorgelegt werden. Der Bericht wird über den Stand der Umsetzung der bisherigen Massnahmen der bundesrätlichen Finanzmarktpolitik von Dezember 2009 informieren. Neue Massnahmen zur Stärkung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und zur Umsetzung der Finanzplatzstrategie werden den Hauptteil bilden. Gestützt darauf wird der Bundesrat entscheiden können, wie die Rahmenbedingungen der Finanzbranche in den nächsten Jahren weiterentwickelt werden sollen.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Mario Tuor, Leiter Kommunikation, Staatssekretariat für internationale Finanzfragen SIF
+41 31 322 46 16, mario.tuor@sif.admin.ch


Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Finanzdepartement
http://www.efd.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 20.04.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-45153.html