Switzerland provides mutual legal assistance in the Abacha case - To date, USD 645 million have been frozen in Switzerland

Bern, 21.01.2000 - Switzerland is supporting the criminal investigations of the Nigerian authorities into the embezzlement of government funds during the regime of the former head-of-state, Sani Abacha. The Federal Office for Police (FOP) has examined the formal request for mutual legal assistance from Nigeria and decided that such assistance is admissible in this case. Furthermore, the FOP has ordered the additionnal freeze of bank accounts and the production of bank documents.

The Nigerian request for mutual legal assistance involves the former head-of-state, Sani Abacha, and 14 other persons (including various family members and representatives of his regime). The Nigerian authorities suspect that they "systematically plundered" the Nigerian central bank for some years. They are accused of having committed a series of property crimes (including embezzlement, fraud, forgery and money laundering). The Nigerian authorities are asking that assets held in Switzerland be frozen, that bank documents be handed over and that the assets be returned.

The FOP itself is deciding on the execution of mutual legal assistance. The revised mutual legal assistance act authorizes the FOP to handle itself cases which are complex or particularly important. In the Abacha case, the FOP is working closely together with the Geneva investigating magistrate's office, which has already initiated criminal proceedings for money laundering and which has frozen some USD 645 million to date. This amount may increase, as Article 9 of the Federal Act on the Prevention of Money Laundering requires the banks and other financial intermediaries to report any cases where they have grounds to believe that assets deposited with them originate from criminal sources, are held by a criminal organization or could be connected with money laundering. In view of the sums involved, which Nigeria claims have been embezzled, the banks will probably investigate not only members of the Abacha family, but also third parties not directly mentioned in the Nigerian request for mutual legal assistance.

On 13 October 1999, the FOP extended the provisional freeze of accounts until the end of the mutual legal assistance proceedings. The USD 80 m in assets frozen as a result of these provisional measures are part of the assets also frozen in connection with the Swiss proceedings. Furthermore, the FOP ordered that additional accounts be frozen; this concerns three banks in Geneva and four in Zurich. The FOP further asked the Geneva investigating magistrate to obtain the relevant bank documents and to question officers of these banks as witnesses. The investigating magistrate was also requested to hand over to the FOP information from his criminal proceedings which could be useful in the further mutual legal assistance proceedings.


Address for enquiries

Federal Office of Justice, T +41 31 322 77 88


Publisher

Federal Office of Justice
http://www.bj.admin.ch

Last modification 03.10.2018

Top of page

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/en/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-22828.html

Fall Abacha: Schweiz leistet Rechtshilfe - Bisher sind in der Schweiz 645 Millionen USD gesperrt worden

Bern, 21.01.2000 - Die Schweiz unterstützt die Strafuntersuchung der nigerianischen Behörden über die Unterschlagung von Staatsgeldern während des Regimes des ehemaligen Staatschefs Sani Abacha. Das Bundesamt für Polizei (BAP) hat das formelle nigerianische Rechtshilfeersuchen geprüft und entschieden, dass die Rechtshilfe in diesem Fall zulässig ist. Zudem hat das BAP die Sperre von weiteren Konten und die Erhebung von Bankunterlagen angeordnet.

Das nigerianische Rechtshilfeersuchen richtet sich gegen den ehemaligen Staatschef Sani Abacha und 14 weitere Personen (darunter verschiedene Angehörige und Vertreter seines früheren Regimes). Die nigerianischen Behörden verdächtigen sie, die Nigerianische Zentralbank jahrelang "systematisch geplündert" zu haben. Sie werfen ihnen eine Reihe von Vermögensdelikten (u.a. Veruntreuung, Betrug, Urkundenfälschung und Geldwäscherei) vor. Die nigerianischen Behörden ersuchen die Schweiz, die in die Schweiz geflossenen Vermögenswerte zu sperren, die Bankunterlagen herauszugeben und die Vermögenswerte zurückzuerstatten.

Das BAP nimmt den Vollzug des Rechtshilfeersuchens selber an die Hand. Diese Möglichkeit räumt das revidierte Rechtshilfegesetz dem BAP bei komplexen oder besonders bedeutenden Fällen ein. Im Fall Abacha arbeitet das BAP eng mit dem Genfer Untersuchungsrichteramt zusammen, das im gleichen Fall bereits ein Strafverfahren wegen Geldwäscherei eröffnet und bisher rund 645 Mio. USD gesperrt hat. Dieser Betrag dürfte sich noch erhöhen, da gemäss Artikel 9 des Geldwäschereigesetzes die Banken und andere Finanzintermediäre jeden begründeten Verdacht melden müssen, dass bei ihnen angelegte Vermögenswerte aus einem Verbrechen herrühren, der Verfügungsmacht einer kriminellen Organisation unterliegen oder im Zusammenhang mit Geldwäscherei stehen könnten. Angesichts des durch Nigeria vorgebrachten Umfangs der Unterschlagung von Geldern dürften die Finanzintermediäre ihre Prüfung nicht nur auf die Mitglieder der Familie Abacha beschränken, sondern auch Dritte melden, die nicht im nigerianischen Rechtshilfeersuchen erwähnt sind.

Das BAP verlängerte die am 13. Oktober 1999 verfügte vorsorgliche Sperre von Konten bis zum Ende des Rechtshilfeverfahrens. Die aufgrund dieser vorsorglichen Massnahmen gesperrten Vermögenswerte in Höhe von rund 80 Mio. USD sind ein Teil der ebenfalls im schweizerischen Verfahren gesperrten Vermögenswerte. Das BAP ordnete ferner die Sperre von weiteren Konten an; betroffen sind drei Banken in Genf sowie vier Banken in Zürich. Das BAP beauftragte zudem den zuständigen Genfer Untersuchungsrichter, die entsprechenden Bankunterlagen zu erheben und Vertreter dieser Banken als Zeugen einzuvernehmen. Der Untersuchungsrichter wurde zudem beauftragt, Informationen aus seinem Strafverfahren, die für den Vollzug des Rechtshilfeersuchens nützlich sein könnten, dem BAP zu übergeben.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Bundesamt für Justiz, T +41 31 322 77 88


Herausgeber

Bundesamt für Justiz
http://www.bj.admin.ch

https://www.admin.ch/content/gov/de/start/dokumentation/medienmitteilungen.msg-id-22828.html