Full-text search

Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



The Federal Charter of 1291


The Federal Charter is in the Museum of the Swiss Charters of Confederation in Schwyz.

Commentary

The Federal Charter from early August 1291 is Switzerland's oldest constitutional document. In this ancient pact, the valley communities of Central Switzerland, Uri, Schwyz and Nidwalden pledged to help each other resist any threat of violence or injustice. Foreign judges were not to be tolerated, while the existing power balance remained intact. Procedures for criminal and civil cases and for disputes among the signatories were also laid down.

This Federal Charter has been officially regarded as the founding document of the Swiss Confederation only since the end of the 19th century. The Federal Council was primarily responsible for this, as, taking its lead from the charter itself, it organised national jubilee celebrations in 1891 and then in 1899 made 1 August the National Day of the Swiss Confederation.

Underlying this was the conviction that the democratic Federal State of 1848 represented a continuation of the Old Swiss Confederacy that existed before 1798, and that the historical nucleus of this Confederacy lay in the Alpine regions of Central Switzerland. This belief was linked to the legend that a group of freedom-loving men had sworn an oath of confederate alliance on the Rütli meadow above Lake Lucerne. This view of history has since been instilled in every Swiss schoolchild as a compulsory element of the curriculum.

Invoking the Federal Charter as the most venerable version of the Swiss Constitution and thus establishing a centuries-old, binding tradition of a society sworn to uphold freedom helped to cement national cohesion in the democratic Federal State. The pressure of political developments after 1930 led to the Federal Charter being regarded as more than simply the basis for a defensive alliance, but as a resolute response to the threat posed by foreign powers.

Thus, through the practical application of this lesson in history, the public came to perceive this ostensibly unprepossessing document with its symbolic character as a key element of Swiss historical and political culture in general. This also led to the Federal Charter Archive being established in Schwyz simply in order to house the Federal Charter. The Archive, in 1999 renamed the Museum of Swiss Charters, was opened as a national memorial in a ceremony in 1936.

The Old Swiss Confederacy, however, was far less significant in the late middle ages, and it was not unique either. It constituted a peaceful alliance of a type also found elsewhere at the time. The Charter certainly did not amount to a revolutionary act of self-determination by the peasantry, but rather secured the status quo in the interests of the local elites.

For centuries, this alliance of the valleys of Central Switzerland from 1291 received practically no mention, the document itself only being rediscovered in 1758 in the Schwyz archives. In the constitutional tradition of the Old Confederacy prior to 1798, the alliance of 1291, in contrast to the Federal Charter of 1315 (Pact of Brunnen), played no role. Nor is there any indication that it served as a model for subsequent federal alliances. Unanswerable questions relating to its historical provenance and interpretation also suggest that the contemporary importance of this document in more recent times has been considerably overestimated.

An appropriate assessment of the historical circumstances does not detract from the enormous cultural value of this prominent document, which is still referred to regularly in present day political debates.

Summary of the Latin text

For the common good and proper establishment of peace, the following rules are agreed :

1.    In view of the troubled circumstances of this time, the people and communities of Uri, Schwyz and Nidwalden promise to assist each other by every means possible against one and all who may inflict on them violence or injustice within their valleys and without.

2.    Each community shall help the other with every counsel and favour and at its own expense in the event of any assault on persons or goods within and without the valleys and to this end have sworn a solemn oath to uphold this agreement in confirmation and renewal of a more ancient accord.

3.    Every man shall continue to serve his overlord to the best of his abilities.

4.    The office of judge may not be obtained for any price and may only be exercised by those who are natives or resident with us.

5.    Any dispute amongst the Confederates shall be settled by the most prudent amongst us, whose decision shall be defended by all.

6.    Those who commit murder shall themselves be put to death. A murderer who flees may never return. Those who protect him shall themselves be banished from the valley until they are recalled by the Confederates.

7.    Those who maliciously injure others by fire shall lose their rights as fellow countrymen, and anyone who protects and defends such an evil-doer shall be held liable for the damage done.

8.    Any man who robs a Confederate or injures him in any way shall be held liable to the extent of his property in the valleys.

9.    The property of debtors or sureties may only be seized with the permission of a judge

10.  Every man shall obey his judge and must if need be indicate the judge in the valley before whom he must appear.

11.  Any man who rebels against a verdict and thereby injures a Confederate shall be compelled by all other Confederates to make good the damage done.

12.  War or discord amongst the Confederates shall be settled by an arbiter and if any party fails to accept the decision or fails to make good the damage, the Confederates are bound to defend the other party.

13.  These rules for the common good shall endure forever.

Done with the seals of the three aforementioned communities and valleys at the beginning of August 1291.


End Content Area



http://www.admin.ch/org/polit/00056/index.html?lang=en

Les autorités fédérales de la Confédération suisse

Début sélection langue



Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



Le Pacte fédéral du 1er août 1291


Le Pacte fédéral se trouve au Musée des Chartes fédérales à Schwyz.

Commentaire

Le Pacte fédéral d'août 1291 est considéré comme le plus ancien texte constitutionnel suisse. Par ce pacte, les communautés des vallées d'Uri, de Schwyz et de Nidwald, situées au cœur de la Suisse, se sont juré un soutien mutuel contre toute personne extérieure susceptible de les attaquer ou de leur causer du tort. Le texte prévoit également le maintien des liens de féodalité et l'impossibilité pour un étranger de prétendre à la fonction de juge. Il définit en outre des éléments de procédures pénale et civile, ainsi que des pratiques d'arbitrage entre vallées.

Le Pacte fédéral n'est considéré officiellement comme acte fondateur de la Confédération suisse que depuis la fin du XIX e siècle. Cette reconsidération est en grande partie due au Conseil fédéral, qui s'est appuyé sur ce document pour organiser une fête de jubilé en 1891, puis pour déclarer le 1er août fête nationale à partir de 1899.

Ce choix était motivé par la conviction que l'État fédéral démocratique de 1848 s'inscrivait dans la continuité de l'ancienne confédération, antérieure à 1798, dont le berceau était situé au cœur des Alpes. L'origine de la confédération suisse est également associée au légendaire serment du Grütli prononcé par des hommes libres au bord du lac d'Uri. À noter que, en Suisse, les enfants continuent d'apprendre ces récits fondateurs à l'école.

La consécration du Pacte fédéral comme plus ancienne constitution d'une alliance consentie dans la liberté et vieille de plusieurs siècles a été utilisé pour renforcer la cohésion de l'État fédéral démocratique. Sous l'effet des changements politiques survenus à partir de 1930, le Pacte est devenu un symbole d'union face aux menaces extérieures.

Dans les esprits, ce document en apparence anodin est devenu, en raison de son caractère symbolique, un élément central de l'histoire et de la politique suisses. Preuve en sont les Archives des chartes fédérales, construites spécialement à Schwyz pour le Pacte fédéral et inaugurées avec pompe en 1936 comme lieu de mémoire national (rebaptisé Musée des chartes fédérales en 1999).

À la fin du Moyen Âge, ce pacte, qui n'était d'ailleurs pas unique en son genre, n'avait toutefois pas l'importance qu'on lui accorde aujourd'hui. Il s'agissait d'une simple alliance de paix parmi d'autres. À ce titre, le texte n'a rien d'une déclaration d'indépendance paysanne à caractère révolutionnaire. En effet, il visait en premier lieu à réaffirmer l'autorité des élites locales.

De fait, il semblerait que le pacte conclu en 1291 entre les vallées suisses ait été oublié pendant des siècles avant d'être redécouvert en 1758 dans les archives du canton de Schwyz. Contrairement au Pacte fédéral de 1315 (Pacte de Brunnen), celui de 1291 n'a eu aucune incidence sur la politique de l'ancienne confédération. Selon toute vraisemblance, il n'a pas non plus servi de modèle à d'autres textes fédéraux plus tardifs. En outre, certains problèmes liés à sa transmission et à son interprétation suggèrent même que l'importance de ce texte pour son époque a été largement surestimée a posteriori.

Bien que ces dernières remarques soient fondées, le document ne perd rien de sa valeur culturelle et continue à être cité régulièrement à l'occasion de débats politiques.

Résumé du texte latin

Les règles suivantes ont été établies dans l'intérêt de garantir la paix et de veiller au bien commun :

1.      Au vu des temps difficiles, les gens et les communautés d'Uri, de Schwyz et de Nidwald s'engagent à se prêter mutuellement un soutien sans borne contre tous ceux qui, dans leurs vallées et au dehors, les attaqueraient ou leur causeraient du tort.

2.      Les communautés s'apportent conseil et soutien à leurs propres frais en cas d'attaques contres leurs membres ou leur biens dans leurs vallées et au dehors, et s'y engagent par serment en confirmant et renouvelant l'ancien pacte.

3.    Chacun, selon sa condition, reste dévoué à son seigneur.

4.    La fonction de juge dans les vallées ne peut être achetée. Elle ne peut en outre être exercée que par des confédérés.

5.    Les conflits entre confédérés doivent être apaisés par les plus sages. Leurs décisions doivent être défendues de tous.

6.    La personne coupable d'un meurtre est punie de la peine de mort. Si elle parvient à s'enfuir, il lui est à jamais interdit de revenir. Quiconque apporte son aide à un meurtrier sera expulsé jusqu'à ce que les confédérés autorisent son retour.

7.    La personne responsable d'un incendie perd le statut de confédéré. Quiconque aide ou protège un incendiaire répond du dommage causé.

8.    Quiconque dépouille un confédéré ou lui cause un dommage verra ses biens confisqués en vue de réparer la victime.

9.    Les biens d'un débiteur ou d'un garant ne peuvent être saisis qu'avec l'autorisation d'un juge.

10.  Chacun est tenu d'obéir à son juge et, si besoin est, doit indiquer le juge sous l'autorité duquel il est placé dans la vallée.

11.  Celui qui ne se soumet pas à la décision d'un juge et, de ce fait, porte préjudice à un confédéré sera contraint par tous les autres à réparation.

12.  Si une lutte ou un conflit entre confédérés est réglé par le juge et que l'une des parties ne se plie pas à la décision ou à son devoir de réparation, les confédérés prennent la défense de l'autre partie.

13.  Ces règles, établies dans l'intérêt du bien commun, sont à observer à jamais.

Pourvu des sceaux des trois communautés et vallées susdites, ce pacte a été conclu au début du mois d'août de l'an 1291.

 


Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte



Les autorités fédérales de la Confédération suisse
Contact | Informations juridiques
http://www.admin.ch/org/polit/00056/index.html?lang=fr