The Federal Authorities
of the Swiss Confederation

Title 3 : Confederation, Cantons and Communes
Chapter 2: Powers
Section 3: Education, Research and Culture
< Art. 69 Culture
> Art. 71 Cinema

Art. 70 Languages

1 The official languages of the Confederation are German, French and Italian. Romansh is also an official language of the Confederation when communicating with persons who speak Romansh.

2 The Cantons shall decide on their official languages. In order to preserve harmony between linguistic communities, the Cantons shall respect the traditional territorial distribution of languages and take account of indigenous linguistic minorities.

3 The Confederation and the Cantons shall encourage understanding and exchange between the linguistic communities.

4 The Confederation shall support the plurilingual Cantons in the fulfilment of their special duties.

5 The Confederation shall support measures by the Cantons of Graubünden and Ticino to preserve and promote the Romansh and the Italian languages.

English is not an official language of the Swiss Confederation. This translation is provided for information purposes only and has no legal force.

For suggestions and communications, please contact the Official Publications Centre